Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,384 Members 44,066 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unable to enable multiple languages in Samsung keyboard

Tip us?
 
wickdc
Old
#1  
wickdc's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 41
Join Date: Apr 2010
Default Unable to enable multiple languages in Samsung keyboard

Has anyone been able to enable a second language in the Samsung keyboard? I was able to add a second language by
going to "language and input"
Click the cog wheel next to the Samsung keyboard
Click "+ select input languages"
Select the check box next to an another language
Back

However, I do not see the arrows on the space bar to switch languages. This works fine on my wife's note 3.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk
 
wickdc
Old
#2  
wickdc's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 41
Join Date: Apr 2010
Bumping.

Is this working for everyone else? Can anyone try enabling a second language on the samsung keyboard and switching by swiping the space bar?


Thanks for trying.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk
 
TheDude1966
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 25
Join Date: May 2012
Same problem here on the international version. For some strange reason word prediction does show two languages even though spacebar says English. Anyway that works more or less although I prefer a single language. Hope Samsung fixes this.
 
Dovigoldberger
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 351
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Monsey
Works for me

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Dovigoldberger
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 351
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Monsey
Is this what you mean?

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1397371591819.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	47.3 KB
ID:	2683319  
 
TheDude1966
Old
(Last edited by TheDude1966; 13th April 2014 at 10:16 AM.)
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 25
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dovigoldberger View Post
Is this what you mean?

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Yup, I don't have the arrows on the specebar, while I did select both English and Dutch. Unfortunately resetting doesn't help and have yet to find the process to empty cache and clearing data.

Update: found the Keyboard process and emptied cache and cleared data...to no avail. I think it stores language settings somewhere else since Dutch appears back in the samsung keyboard language list immediately after opening the cockwheel button.
 
ecksor
Old
#7  
ecksor's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 84
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDude1966 View Post
Yup, I don't have the arrows on the specebar, while I did select both English and Dutch. Unfortunately resetting doesn't help and have yet to find the process to empty cache and clearing data.

Update: found the Keyboard process and emptied cache and cleared data...to no avail. I think it stores language settings somewhere else since Dutch appears back in the samsung keyboard language list immediately after opening the cockwheel button.
As a workaround, and if you want to keep Samsung keyboard, rather than adding a second language to it, try installing a completely new keyboard with Dutch as a default language (any stable keyboard app will do). The switch between keyboards will appear in the phone's notification area, instead of Samsung keyboard's space bar.

I actually prefer it this way: the space bar thingy is finicky, and the notification area's one is super clean and easy.
 
TheDude1966
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 25
Join Date: May 2012
Thanks, that's one way at least partially getting around the issue. There are plenty good alternative keyboards available, however I like the extra row with numerical keys Samsung offers. For me a real time saver.

Since the problem doesn't occur with all S5's I assume there is rogue app causing this problem in the first place.
 
mocsab
Old
#9  
mocsab's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 599
Posts: 2,252
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Milwaukee
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDude1966 View Post
Thanks, that's one way at least partially getting around the issue. There are plenty good alternative keyboards available, however I like the extra row with numerical keys Samsung offers. For me a real time saver.

Since the problem doesn't occur with all S5's I assume there is rogue app causing this problem in the first place.
while I had the keyboard open I pressed and held the key with the settings icon on it (lower left side) and then selected settings again - once I did this - I saw a screen saying new languages were avaiablle - I selected several - went back to the keyboard and saw "English" in the spacebar - when I pressed and held the space bar, I could scroll right or left to choose from any of the languages I had selected.

I think it allowed me to select up to 5 or so - but I may be wrong and there might not be a limit - I didn't go that far into it - I personally only need english - I was just trying to see if I could figure it out -

hope this helps.
My Phone Galaxy S5 G900T
My Rom: - X-Note TMT v.3.0 NE2
My Recovery: [klte][CWM Advanced Edition] PhilZ Touch
Kernel: KT-SGS5 - NE5 - KTweaker
My Carrier - ATT




Former Devices: ☆Galaxy Note 3☆HTC ONE☆Galaxy S IV☆Galaxy Note II☆Galaxy S3☆EVO 4g LTE☆Nexus☆Epic 4G☆Treo(W)☆Palm Treo☆(P)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Remove Unnecessary WhatsApp Elements with Xposed

In modern life, you can’t underestimate the power ofthe dark sidemessaging … more

MaR-V-iN to Talk Google and Android APIs at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of September … more