Bump! Workaround for the LG G3 Locked Bootloader – XDA TV

The LG G3 is a power house device. It’s been a favorite of many people. … more

Enable Call Recording on Xperia Z2 and Z3

Call recording, while not legal in every part of the world, is quite handy in certain situations. … more

Google Play Store Payments Available in China

Google has taken a big step to make its services accessible globally. Since the introduction of … more

How to Set a Video as Your Boot Animation

If you wish to make your phone truly unique, you may want to consider adding a nice boot animation. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Uninstalling stock Sprint apps?

OP thenags

14th April 2014, 03:09 AM   |  #1  
thenags's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag S. Florida
Thanks Meter: 25
 
634 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I've used Titanium to uninstall a ton of the Sprint crap. But as soon as I reboot it redownloads everything.... How do we get around this?
14th April 2014, 03:38 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
296 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thenags

I've used Titanium to uninstall a ton of the Sprint crap. But as soon as I reboot it redownloads everything.... How do we get around this?

Educated guess because it happens to me too, I would uncheck restore apps in the backup settings. Believe that the system thinks that the apps need to be reinstalled because they were backed up prior to you removing them.
14th April 2014, 06:47 AM   |  #3  
Rangerbry's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag san jose
Thanks Meter: 217
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
If you still have SprintID installed you can go in there and delete the Sprint pack it removes most of the Sprint bloat

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
14th April 2014, 07:10 AM   |  #4  
Sim-X's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis, MN
Thanks Meter: 128
 
556 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thenags

I've used Titanium to uninstall a ton of the Sprint crap. But as soon as I reboot it redownloads everything.... How do we get around this?

I did the same thing first night I got the phone. I would uninstall tons of crap apps and they all come back. The stock rom is secured and has system write protection enabled. The easiest way around this is to first s-off which you should anyway if your going to root. Next flash a custom rom or if you wanna stick with stock (I actually am staying stock for now to give the custom roms time to mature) then flash Captain Throw backs version over at themikmik. It's comes rooted out of the box and if you s-off you won't have any issues getting rid of bloat apps. Mine is squeaky clean. I couldn't believe how much crap they loaded it with. No issues with them coming back. If you stay s-on you need to flash a kernel patch which I did before s-off was available but I wouldn't recommend doing that.

Sent from my HTC One M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
14th April 2014, 08:11 AM   |  #5  
thenags's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag S. Florida
Thanks Meter: 25
 
634 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I am s-off and rooted. I used titanium to remove everything that's coming back. Captain has a ROM out?

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
14th April 2014, 08:18 AM   |  #6  
thenags's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag S. Florida
Thanks Meter: 25
 
634 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Found it. Downloading now

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
14th April 2014, 01:03 PM   |  #7  
thenags's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag S. Florida
Thanks Meter: 25
 
634 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Damn. That didn't do it. Did a 100% clean install. Used Titanium to remove a ton of apps. Rebooted and they all reinstalled. Can't wait for someone to get GPE on this thing

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
14th April 2014, 01:35 PM   |  #8  
Sim-X's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis, MN
Thanks Meter: 128
 
556 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thenags

Damn. That didn't do it. Did a 100% clean install. Used Titanium to remove a ton of apps. Rebooted and they all reinstalled. Can't wait for someone to get GPE on this thing

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk

Did you apply the latest firmware before flashing? Here is the version I am using

http://themikmik.com/showthread.php?...ase-1-54-651-8

Firmware
http://themikmik.com/showthread.php?...1-54-651-8-OTA

I applied my firmware via OTA update but it shouldn't matter. Something is up because it should work just fine.

Sent from my HTC One M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
14th April 2014, 01:39 PM   |  #9  
thenags's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag S. Florida
Thanks Meter: 25
 
634 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I did. Took the phone out of the box. Did every update available. Rooted. Then realized I couldn't uninstall the stuff. Then flashed Captains. Then tried again. And no I'm here lol

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes