Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,490 Members 40,366 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Help! Stock Nexus 7 (2013) bricked?

Tip us?
 
kenrothman
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jan 2008
Unhappy [Q] Help! Stock Nexus 7 (2013) bricked?

Ok, so I have a 32gb 2013 Nexus 7 which is now bricked and i didn't do anything to brick it! Really!
It's stock, not even rooted... nothing. Never got around to doing anything to it... just left it alone.

So last night it was having trouble connecting to my home wifi so I rebooted it. When it came back up, it got stuck at the white "Google" logo, and ... nothing... no animation, no nothing.

I left it for the day and came back, and it's still doing that.

So - dug a little and decided I'd do a hard reset.... i can get into recovery (stock), i cleared the cache... but now when I try to wipe data/factory reset... it gets stuck there too.

I've got the Android guy with "Erasing..." below him. A blue progress bar that is NOT MOVING and text ...

-- Wiping data...
Formatting /data...


and that's it just sits there.

have tried it twice already and nothing.

Any suggestions?
 
rap3rman
Old
#2  
rap3rman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 218
Join Date: Feb 2013
Download this: http://www.mediafire.com/download/2c...v1.8.2.sfx.exe
http://www.mediafire.com/download/xu...daNetA4150.exe


You can use it to restore to stock without using recovery mode. As you open it you have to download some packages(just accept).
I will attach an image below to show you what it should look like.

Secondly you need to enter bootloader mode as shown in this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VV1ffMCXRg4 (Skip to 2:30)
Basically you make sure the tab is off then press the volume up button then press the power button and hold both.

Back to the Nexus Root Toolkit. Click Flash Stock+ Unroot while having the Status as: Soft Bricked/Bootloop just like in the picture below.
Just accept all the request made by the program and you should be fine.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	79.0 KB
ID:	2680097  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rap3rman For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tetakpatak
Old
#3  
tetakpatak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1484
Posts: 2,941
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lucerne
@kenrothman don't worry, your N7 will be fine. Our device has a bit "nervous" /data partition. The method from the post above should work.

Alternatively, you could also do some other methods with price of data lost but try this first.

tetakpatalked from my N7100
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * my threads on XDA forum: * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
i9000 full guide, N7100 / t0lte dual-boot FAQ thread, S8000 JÚt dual-boot full guide, ADB & fastboot install guide for Ubuntu
 
kenrothman
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jan 2008
can't seem to do this because my bootloader is locked.
100% stock, this one is.
i tried to unlock the bootloader, because at this point it's ok if i have to wipe everything...
but it just hangs on the "yes" "no" page after i select "yes" and hit the power button.

ugh.
 
tetakpatak
Old
#5  
tetakpatak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1484
Posts: 2,941
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lucerne
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenrothman View Post
can't seem to do this because my bootloader is locked.
100% stock, this one is.
i tried to unlock the bootloader, because at this point it's ok if i have to wipe everything...
but it just hangs on the "yes" "no" page after i select "yes" and hit the power button.

ugh.
Did you ever use ADB / fastboot? I prefer to do such things manually as the tools might do something else than I want.

If you didn't use it yet, there is an excellent guide by comminus for N7 2012 how to flash factory image with fastboot.

Find it and in the beginning is the part with installing drivers, SDK etc. That part is identic for the N7, also bootloader unlocking.

tetakpatalked from Nexus 7
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * my threads on XDA forum: * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
i9000 full guide, N7100 / t0lte dual-boot FAQ thread, S8000 JÚt dual-boot full guide, ADB & fastboot install guide for Ubuntu
 
Localhost798
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jul 2013
Any updates yet? In the bootloader (if you can get to it) does the line "LOCK STATE" say locked or unlocked?
 
LinearEquation
Old
#7  
LinearEquation's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 399
Posts: 1,672
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Midwest

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Localhost798 View Post
Any updates yet? In the bootloader (if you can get to it) does the line "LOCK STATE" say locked or unlocked?
fastboot oem unlock

Sent from my Nexus 7 Flo running Odex SinLess ROM 4.4.2 with ElementalX kernel using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
[ROOT] 2013 KFHD7 Soho firmware 11.x.x.x (no camera)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...44736&page=101 If needed contact @GranPC for an updated Firerooter.
[Root] 2012 KFHD7 Tate http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1886460
2nd [Bootloader]/[TWRP] KFHD7 Tate
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2128848
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2271909
KFHD7 Tate System Restore Tool http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1951254
 
pepsitank
Old
#8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 21
Join Date: Apr 2014
Try to ADB Sideload the files to the nexus If your pc can't detect a device or the drivers are not set up correctly.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Araan45
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 25
Join Date: Jul 2013
Default Wugs Tool kit

Why not use it to fix your device.

Heres the link: http://www.wugfresh.com/
 
kenrothman
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jan 2008
sorry, didn't have much time over the weekend.

i had previously tried to use 'fasboot oem unlock' on my mac, but that hangs as well.

i'm beginning to think this may be a hardware issue... i did a support chat session with google who basically told me i had done everything they could think of and they sent me to Asus. I haven't tried with them yet.

I'm willing to completely wipe the thing to bone stock at this point... i mean, i hadn't even rooted it... never felt the need to.

The "factory reset" from recovery really should just stomp on it, but that hangs too.

I will probably give Asus support a shot... esp if it's hardware and needs to be replaced or whatever.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Hide Numbers on Your SMS and Call Logs with Reflection

How many times have you given your device to someone else in order to show them a … more

Implement Split View in Your LG G2 KitKat Rom with Automated Installer

Some of you may have remembered a story on the Portal a few weeks back … more

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more