Bump! Workaround for the LG G3 Locked Bootloader – XDA TV

The LG G3 is a power house device. It’s been a favorite of many people. … more

Enable Call Recording on Xperia Z2 and Z3

Call recording, while not legal in every part of the world, is quite handy in certain situations. … more

Google Play Store Payments Available in China

Google has taken a big step to make its services accessible globally. Since the introduction of … more

How to Set a Video as Your Boot Animation

If you wish to make your phone truly unique, you may want to consider adding a nice boot animation. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Help! Stock Nexus 7 (2013) bricked?

OP kenrothman

11th April 2014, 03:21 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Ok, so I have a 32gb 2013 Nexus 7 which is now bricked and i didn't do anything to brick it! Really!
It's stock, not even rooted... nothing. Never got around to doing anything to it... just left it alone.

So last night it was having trouble connecting to my home wifi so I rebooted it. When it came back up, it got stuck at the white "Google" logo, and ... nothing... no animation, no nothing.

I left it for the day and came back, and it's still doing that.

So - dug a little and decided I'd do a hard reset.... i can get into recovery (stock), i cleared the cache... but now when I try to wipe data/factory reset... it gets stuck there too.

I've got the Android guy with "Erasing..." below him. A blue progress bar that is NOT MOVING and text ...

-- Wiping data...
Formatting /data...


and that's it just sits there.

have tried it twice already and nothing.

Any suggestions?
11th April 2014, 03:23 PM   |  #2  
rap3rman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 76
 
229 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Download this: http://www.mediafire.com/download/2c...v1.8.2.sfx.exe
http://www.mediafire.com/download/xu...daNetA4150.exe


You can use it to restore to stock without using recovery mode. As you open it you have to download some packages(just accept).
I will attach an image below to show you what it should look like.

Secondly you need to enter bootloader mode as shown in this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VV1ffMCXRg4 (Skip to 2:30)
Basically you make sure the tab is off then press the volume up button then press the power button and hold both.

Back to the Nexus Root Toolkit. Click Flash Stock+ Unroot while having the Status as: Soft Bricked/Bootloop just like in the picture below.
Just accept all the request made by the program and you should be fine.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	79.0 KB
ID:	2680097  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rap3rman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th April 2014, 11:14 PM   |  #3  
tetakpatak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lucerne
Thanks Meter: 1,834
 
3,661 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
@kenrothman don't worry, your N7 will be fine. Our device has a bit "nervous" /data partition. The method from the post above should work.

Alternatively, you could also do some other methods with price of data lost but try this first.

tetakpatalked from my N7100
13th April 2014, 04:01 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
can't seem to do this because my bootloader is locked.
100% stock, this one is.
i tried to unlock the bootloader, because at this point it's ok if i have to wipe everything...
but it just hangs on the "yes" "no" page after i select "yes" and hit the power button.

ugh.
13th April 2014, 07:42 AM   |  #5  
tetakpatak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lucerne
Thanks Meter: 1,834
 
3,661 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenrothman

can't seem to do this because my bootloader is locked.
100% stock, this one is.
i tried to unlock the bootloader, because at this point it's ok if i have to wipe everything...
but it just hangs on the "yes" "no" page after i select "yes" and hit the power button.

ugh.

Did you ever use ADB / fastboot? I prefer to do such things manually as the tools might do something else than I want.

If you didn't use it yet, there is an excellent guide by comminus for N7 2012 how to flash factory image with fastboot.

Find it and in the beginning is the part with installing drivers, SDK etc. That part is identic for the N7, also bootloader unlocking.

tetakpatalked from Nexus 7
13th April 2014, 10:32 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Any updates yet? In the bootloader (if you can get to it) does the line "LOCK STATE" say locked or unlocked?
14th April 2014, 01:17 AM   |  #7  
LinearEquation's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Midwest
Thanks Meter: 423
 
1,739 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Localhost798

Any updates yet? In the bootloader (if you can get to it) does the line "LOCK STATE" say locked or unlocked?

fastboot oem unlock

Sent from my Nexus 7 Flo running Odex SinLess ROM 4.4.2 with ElementalX kernel using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
14th April 2014, 07:53 AM   |  #8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 4
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Try to ADB Sideload the files to the nexus If your pc can't detect a device or the drivers are not set up correctly.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
14th April 2014, 08:03 AM   |  #9  
Araan45's Avatar
Member
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 13
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Wugs Tool kit
Why not use it to fix your device.

Heres the link: http://www.wugfresh.com/
14th April 2014, 05:29 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
sorry, didn't have much time over the weekend.

i had previously tried to use 'fasboot oem unlock' on my mac, but that hangs as well.

i'm beginning to think this may be a hardware issue... i did a support chat session with google who basically told me i had done everything they could think of and they sent me to Asus. I haven't tried with them yet.

I'm willing to completely wipe the thing to bone stock at this point... i mean, i hadn't even rooted it... never felt the need to.

The "factory reset" from recovery really should just stomp on it, but that hangs too.

I will probably give Asus support a shot... esp if it's hardware and needs to be replaced or whatever.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes