5,596,128 Members 33,724 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Complete guide] to SIM unlock your HTC One Sprint for free

Tip us?
 
coc014
Old
#311  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 73
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Caen

 
DONATE TO ME
For the mms try changing the access point name. For some reason the default apn on mine was not working, and on my carrier website i've found a new apn to enter. The new apn type is used for both data and mms, instead of having 2 apn, one for mms and one for data.
 
iBowToAndroid
Old
#312  
iBowToAndroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 303
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Twin Cities MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by micbronto View Post
so.. u flashed a Tmobile RUU? I too have a sprint htc one ..it's also sim unlocked to Tmobile, and it's working pretty well.. even getting data in most places.. but i was considering flashing a tmo ruu.. wasn't sure if this was safe.

---------- Post added at 02:31 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:26 PM ----------

so.. u flashed a Tmobile RUU? I too have a sprint htc one ..it's also sim unlocked to Tmobile, and it's working pretty well.. even getting data in most places.. but i was considering flashing a tmo ruu.. wasn't sure if this was safe. I'm still s-on right now.. but i'll probably do revone's s-off tonight.. i'm still on hboot 1.44
Umm you probably don't wanna flash a TMo RUU. Bad idea. Hopefully it wouldn't even let you since they're not even the same device.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edde3d View Post
Thanks for this. I got everything working good but a few bugs possibly. I did the data drop fix but it still disconnects quite a bit. Even if I'm just at home it will just drop. And for some reason I can't send or receive mms. On T-Mobile, Badboyz 4.4 v1.2. Maybe in the settings somewhere but not sure. Any ideas?

Sent from my HTCONE using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Quote:
Originally Posted by coc014 View Post
For the mms try changing the access point name. For some reason the default apn on mine was not working, and on my carrier website i've found a new apn to enter. The new apn type is used for both data and mms, instead of having 2 apn, one for mms and one for data.
Yeah, no MMS is probably an APN thing
ghostvzwdev (stock rooted)
m7spr (stock rooted)
manta (stock rooted)
Follow me on Twitter
Email/Hangouts
Google+
 
Edde3d
Old
#313  
Edde3d's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 37
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wadsworth,OH
I have tried quite a few apn changes and still no luck. Made sure I had the right settings in the apn for T-Mobile. have data, text, calls the only thing messed up is mms. Maybe it's a problem on their end and not mine. No biggie I'll survive without mms but I'd rather have everything working lol

Sent from my HTCONE using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Genuwine1976
Old
#314  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 175
Join Date: Nov 2007
Cool 4.4.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by elvisypi View Post
After receiving many PM's I decided I should make a new thread to make the unlocking process clearer for noobs.

First:
Every Sprint HTC One can be unlocked, you just need a little patience and some basic knowledge. The unlock is PERMANENT, so you won't loose it if you flash another ROM, or even a ruu. The unlock works only on SENSE ROMs, so you can't unlock it on CM, AOSP or GPE ROMs. Even after you have unlocked you won't have network in non-sense ROMs.

Make sure your carrier frequencies are supported by the phone. Here you can find the HTC One's frequencies for Sprint.

Using US carriers will be a bit tricky, cause the frequencies the phone uses do not cover all the regions. You may loose network coverage often and may have problem with the roaming guards. Some users reported that the newest radios block domestic roaming, so you can try directly solution 3 which will downgrade your radio also, or downgrade it manually by flashing THIS radio in recovery. I also suggest you try BadBoyz ROM which has forced roaming.

The unlock works great outside the US though.

Background:
Before the release of 4.3 ROMs the process was very easy. If you still are on a SENSE 4.1.2 ROM with root access than all you have to do is follow this guide http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2386703 or use the "Sprint HTC One SIM Unlock Helper" from Play Store

Now with the release of 4.3 Sprint made it more difficult. The unlock uses a file called HtcOMADM_SPCS which was modified in 4.3, so the unlock no longer works.


Solution:
There are 3 possible solutions to this problem.

1. Use the modified HtcOMADM_SPCS made by @chas123 http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2534208 You have to flash this in recovery and than the process is the same as with the 4.1.2 ROM

2. Use a file manager to replace the HtcOMADM_SPCS in /system/app with THIS.Than the process is the same as with the 4.1.2 ROM. After unlocking you'll get vDM client crashes. It's not a problem, cause afterwards you can flash any other ROM and you'll remain unlocked.

3. This is the longest way. Do this only if the previous methods fail.

a)If you are already S-OFF than:
-Download Sprint_HTC_One_m7wls_1.29.651.10_RUU.zip
-extract zip to a folder on your pc
-boot into bootloader (various ways)
-using fastboot, type this cmd: fastboot oem lock this will relock the bootloader
-from pc, run setup.exe from the extracted folder. it will run the RUU utility & flash back to stock

Now you have to unlock your bootloader, install a custom recovery and root. There are tons of guides for that. You can use THIS


b)If you are S-ON.
You can get S-OFF pretty easily on hboot 1.55 with rumrunner. Instructions HERE
The latest version of rumrunner HERE
If you are on the latest 1.56 hboot you can get s-off with Firewater http://firewater-soff.com/instructions/
After gaining S-OFF the process is the same as explained in a)

After you have successfully downgraded your ROM and radio, gained root you can go ahead and use the unlock. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2386703


How do you check if the unlock was successful?
Pretty simple just insert a SIM card and if you don't get the "SIMLock enabled" message than the unlock is complete.
You may still have no bars and be unable to make calls though. Make sure you change the settings in mobile data, network mode to GSM/UMTS. If still no luck than probably the phone doesn't cover your carrier's frequencies.
If you have signal, but can't use the internet make sure the APN settings match your carrier.



Credits:
@thatotherguy.. for the unlock thread
@-viperboy- for the Sprint HTC One SIM Unlock Helper
@O.M.J for the ruu
@chas123 for the hacked file which makes unlock possible

If you find this guide useful you can press the "Thanks" button or buy me a coffee

THANX ALOT SOLUTION 1 WORKED GREAT WITH THE VIPER SENSE 6.0.1 ROM...
 
yelped
Old
#315  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 68
Join Date: Feb 2011
I'm glad to hear that. Some people seem to be convinced that you must downgrade to 4.1.2....

Sent from my HTCONE using xda app-developers app
Tags
htc one, sim, sprint, unlock
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes