Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,324 Members 42,736 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Disabling 4G after 4.3 udpate

Tip us?
 
escobar9300
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default Disabling 4G after 4.3 udpate

Hi all!

I apologize if this may have been asked elsewhere. I did perform a search but was unsuccessful in finding an answer. Since the 4.3 update in December on my stock Verizon Note 2 I am unable to use programs such as phoneinfo or 4g switch to get to the menu to switch to CDMA only. The apps instantly force close as soon as they're opened.

My 4G signal at work is terrible and switching to 3G made my phone useable, but since the 4.3 update this ability does not work.

Any help is greatly appreciated and again sorry if this may have been asked before.
The Following User Says Thank You to escobar9300 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chelper
Old
#2  
chelper's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 195
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta
Quote:
Originally Posted by escobar9300 View Post
Hi all!

I apologize if this may have been asked elsewhere. I did perform a search but was unsuccessful in finding an answer. Since the 4.3 update in December on my stock Verizon Note 2 I am unable to use programs such as phoneinfo or 4g switch to get to the menu to switch to CDMA only. The apps instantly force close as soon as they're opened.

My 4G signal at work is terrible and switching to 3G made my phone useable, but since the 4.3 update this ability does not work.

Any help is greatly appreciated and again sorry if this may have been asked before.
I would really like to know how to do this too. Have you had any luck?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
icedventimocha
Old
#3  
icedventimocha's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter 2982
Posts: 2,096
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Erie

 
DONATE TO ME
Try flashing an AOSP rom, use the toggle to turn off 4g, then install a Touchwiz rom.

Sent from my Galaxy Note II
 
danam
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 89
Join Date: May 2010
Haven't tried it on 4.3 yet, but I use Advanced Signal Status from the Play Store on 4.2. Can't hurt to try.
The Following User Says Thank You to danam For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
icedventimocha
Old
#5  
icedventimocha's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter 2982
Posts: 2,096
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Erie

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by danam View Post
Haven't tried it on 4.3 yet, but I use Advanced Signal Status from the Play Store on 4.2. Can't hurt to try.
I can confirm this works. Way better than my suggestion

Sent from my Galaxy Note II
The Following User Says Thank You to icedventimocha For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nh97103
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 87
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by danam View Post
Haven't tried it on 4.3 yet, but I use Advanced Signal Status from the Play Store on 4.2. Can't hurt to try.
THANK YOU! I have spent hours looking for an app capable of switching my network mode. I used to use Phone Info, but it just force closes upon opening ever since 4.3. Thanks again!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Google Play Store 4.9 Brings New, Image-Rich UI with a Hint of Material Design

It’s not Wednesday yet, but we’ve got a great … more

Remove Unnecessary WhatsApp Elements with Xposed

In modern life, you can’t underestimate the power ofthe dark sidemessaging … more

MaR-V-iN to Talk Google and Android APIs at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of September … more