FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

restoring a back-up will lose root?

70 posts
Thanks Meter: 14
 
By ikkeeuu, Member on 12th April 2014, 10:03 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
hi,

When i make a back-up using Sony Bridge and then root my phone. Will i lose root restoring the back-up from sony bridge?

thanks in advance
 
 
14th April 2014, 06:32 PM |#2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
does someone have an answer to my noob question?
14th April 2014, 06:42 PM |#3  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,229
 
Donate to Me
More
did you have root when you made the backup?

Yes you did

So if you restore back to that point, guess what...You will have root.
The Following User Says Thank You to gregbradley For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th April 2014, 10:22 AM |#4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

did you have root when you made the backup?

Yes you did

So if you restore back to that point, guess what...You will have root.

The back-up that i have is one without root. So when i root my device after the back-up, and restore my back-up. I will loose root. Correct?
15th April 2014, 10:27 AM |#5  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,229
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikkeeuu

The back-up that i have is one without root.

Are you sure, then how did you do the backup? What kind of backup is it?
Quote:

So when i root my device after the back-up, and restore my back-up. I will loose root. Correct?

Again, you cannot do a backup without root, you must mean you have backed up some app data. That will not get rid of root either as it is not a full system backup, you need root in order to do that.
The Following User Says Thank You to gregbradley For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th April 2014, 10:45 AM |#6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

Are you sure, then how did you do the backup? What kind of backup is it?Again, you cannot do a backup without root, you must mean you have backed up some app data. That will not get rid of root either as it is not a full system backup, you need root in order to do that.

I used sony bridge to back-up my contacts, messages and pictures and such. I don't care that much about app data.
15th April 2014, 10:52 AM |#7  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,229
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikkeeuu

I used sony bridge to back-up my contacts, messages and pictures and such. I don't care that much about app data.

OK, That's not a "Backup" of your system, its just some files, it will not replace your system files, hence will not touch root.

It will just replace your contacts, messages, pictures and such
The Following User Says Thank You to gregbradley For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th April 2014, 10:58 AM |#8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

OK, That's not a "Backup" of your system, its just some files, it will not replace your system files, hence will not touch root.

It will just replace your contacts, messages, pictures and such

Ok, thanks for your help! I am going to root my device using the methode you said 100 times to people but i just wanted to make a 'back-up' before i do it so i don't lose anything after i rooted.
Maybe a last question if you dont't mind? am i using the best methode so i won't lose anything?
15th April 2014, 11:03 AM |#9  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,229
 
Donate to Me
More
Your contacts are auto backed upto your google account anyway
Then I would just copy and paste all my pictures onto my PC
You can use smartSMS bacup to backup your messages to your google account as well.

That's all I ever do.
The Following User Says Thank You to gregbradley For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes