Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

(Q)Installing S3Rx (From the start)

OP Loo2495

14th April 2014, 11:13 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Well, first let me say this, I am a complete Noob flashing Roms and that stuff

I would like to install S3Rx (Dont want Cyanogenmod or any other roms, I just want a modified stock rom) as I am running UVUENC2 unrooted and that is the only rom with support for it. Could you please answer me this questions?

a) I have downloaded the rom already (The 4-5-14 build based on UVUENC2) how can I root and install CWM or TWRP? (Previously had an Ace S5830M)
b) Will I lose my network or something like that? Do I have to flash a modem or something like that?Do I have to make a backup of some files for having a smooth experience (I dont need to backup apps, got the phone yesterday)?
c) How can I install it correctly? Previously I just wiped cache, data and dalvik cache, do I have to make more wipes?

Well, thats it, thanks for your help
14th April 2014, 11:46 PM   |  #2  
Perseus's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 4,577
 
7,464 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
a. You Flash CWM or TWRP using Odin. Then Flash S3RX that you have downloaded. This process does not need Root. (Yeah Surprise!)
b. Don't think so. Make sure to follow all the instructions in the S3RX thread to the letter. Do make a Nandroid using CWM or TWRP you flashed. Do so before flashing S3Rx. Also make a backup of your NV Data. Search this forum for instructions to NVBACKUP.
c. You need to do Factory Reset then flash the Rom then wipe Dalvik and Cache.
15th April 2014, 12:02 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71

a. You Flash CWM or TWRP using Odin. Then Flash S3RX that you have downloaded. This process does not need Root. (Yeah Surprise!)
b. Don't think so. Make sure to follow all the instructions in the S3RX thread to the letter. Do make a Nandroid using CWM or TWRP you flashed. Do so before flashing S3Rx. Also make a backup of your NV Data. Search this forum for instructions to NVBACKUP.
c. You need to do Factory Reset then flash the Rom then wipe Dalvik and Cache.

Well it is way easier than I thought, thanks Perseus71! Only thing I dont like about this rom is that it is WAY too big but I can solve that in Aroma Installer. Could you please post a link for steps about how to backup NV Data or EFS Folder? The ones that I found are difficult and I want to get this done with as fast as I can.

EDIT: I found an easy tutorial made by member <:GeeK:> it is in the i747 section but it will work with the T999 right? Also, I have to restore it like he says AFTER I flash the Rom? Thanks for your help
Last edited by Loo2495; 15th April 2014 at 12:09 AM.
15th April 2014, 09:23 AM   |  #4  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,487
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Using Terminal Emulator enter this.

su
reboot nvbackup

Done!
15th April 2014, 04:54 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77

Using Terminal Emulator enter this.

su
reboot nvbackup

Done!

I don't have root Access, I only flashed the recovery as Perseus71 told me to. I tried that in my old man's International Galaxy Note (which is rooted) and it told me an error NVBACKUP not found
Last edited by Loo2495; 15th April 2014 at 05:00 PM.
15th April 2014, 07:45 PM   |  #6  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,487
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
The note is older and it may not be an available function. Only do this if you find confimation in a devices forum. It was tried on a Note3 and it hardbricked! Once you flash your rom you will be rooted. That's when I suggest you run this. Itll back up your nv data on-device, so don't expect to see any output to sd. But it will auto restore if corruption is ever detected.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes