Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] LTE not working

OP cascius

14th April 2014, 08:49 PM   |  #11  
eyecon82's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,652
 
2,242 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilbeef54

unrooted, factory restore, updated everything...
no luck
i can cycle airplane mode on and off and LTE will be up a few seconds then goes away again, so yeah sounds like definitely a sprint issue, not cool

i would go to a sprint store and try their floor model

if that doesn't work, its an issue with the network in your area

this article explains the hiccups being caused with LTE with spark updates

http://s4gru.com/index.php?/topic/50...issues-thread/
14th April 2014, 10:51 PM   |  #12  
evilbeef54's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
301 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyecon82

i would go to a sprint store and try their floor model

if that doesn't work, its an issue with the network in your area

this article explains the hiccups being caused with LTE with spark updates

http://s4gru.com/index.php?/topic/50...issues-thread/

Just checked out the floor model in the Sprint store.... same thing I cycled airplane mode it saw 4g then lost it, do yeah I guess we just have to sit and wait, surprising that I'm in the San Fran bay area and can't get 4g. Any details on when this will be fixed?
14th April 2014, 10:55 PM   |  #13  
eyecon82's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,652
 
2,242 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilbeef54

Just checked out the floor model in the Sprint store.... same thing I cycled airplane mode it saw 4g then lost it, do yeah I guess we just have to sit and wait, surprising that I'm in the San Fran bay area and can't get 4g. Any details on when this will be fixed?

no clue

at least you know its not your phone, and rather it is a network issue
14th April 2014, 11:00 PM   |  #14  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Alright here's an update on my end: I get LTE in some areas, but not others (even though my S3 did)
- San Francisco: No luck in any neighborhood i tried... (PS I live in SF so this really isn't good)
- Napa (and highway 80 on the way there): LTE signal most of the way. (only 2-3 bars most of the time, but still, LTE!)
- Mountain View (where i work): LTE with full bars.

My take so far: the problem doesn't come from our phones but rather from the status of those towers. The fact that Napa's network would be better than SF is extremely surprising and disappointing to me to say the least.

Now here are a couple questions:
On my S3, doing update PRL or Profile would have a confirmation/successful popup. On the S5, it just shows a quick "Initializing application" and nothing happens. Are you guys also having the same issue?

Anyway, those are my findings so far. I've been a loyal Sprint customer since 1999, and at this point I might return the phone and cancel my contract in favor for Tmobile or ATT...

Oh well...
14th April 2014, 11:33 PM   |  #15  
evilbeef54's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
301 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cascius

Alright here's an update on my end: I get LTE in some areas, but not others (even though my S3 did)
- San Francisco: No luck in any neighborhood i tried... (PS I live in SF so this really isn't good)
- Napa (and highway 80 on the way there): LTE signal most of the way. (only 2-3 bars most of the time, but still, LTE!)
- Mountain View (where i work): LTE with full bars.

My take so far: the problem doesn't come from our phones but rather from the status of those towers. The fact that Napa's network would be better than SF is extremely surprising and disappointing to me to say the least.

Now here are a couple questions:
On my S3, doing update PRL or Profile would have a confirmation/successful popup. On the S5, it just shows a quick "Initializing application" and nothing happens. Are you guys also having the same issue?

Anyway, those are my findings so far. I've been a loyal Sprint customer since 1999, and at this point I might return the phone and cancel my contract in favor for Tmobile or ATT...

Oh well...

yeah i am getting really upset with sprint too, been with them since 2001, i like my plan, but i have the same results as you in the same areas, no luck in San Fran, oakland, or dublin, tempted to go to verizon but i dunno, i like the unlimited data... but if i am gonna be stuck in 3G then there is no use

and the prl update should still have the conformation screen, i get it on mine
15th April 2014, 12:24 AM   |  #16  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilbeef54

yeah i am getting really upset with sprint too, been with them since 2001, i like my plan, but i have the same results as you in the same areas, no luck in San Fran, oakland, or dublin, tempted to go to verizon but i dunno, i like the unlimited data... but if i am gonna be stuck in 3G then there is no use

and the prl update should still have the conformation screen, i get it on mine

Oooooh, thanks for the PRL information. I think a recovery is indeed needed. I also forgot to mention that I keep getting a notification that there is a software update. When I click nothing happens... Then i go to settings, system update, and i get a message saying I'm up to date... Pfff... LOL

Regarding switching to Verizon: don't! With work I had an iPhone 5 on Verizon and it was actually worse than Sprint. (At least in the Bay Area)
We now have upgraded to iPhone 5S on ATT and it's definitely better. I've read that TMobile is pretty good too, but have no experience of my own.

Anyway, on a positive note: my S5 is much more responsive than my S3 and the screen brightness is awesome! I was just outside in the sun and could read emails with no problems. The camera is also a nice upgrade as the S3's camera was horrible. Aside from that it really feels like a nice incremental upgrade, but nothing more.

I'll post an update tonight after recovering etc...

- Cascius
15th April 2014, 05:17 PM   |  #17  
evilbeef54's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
301 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Ok, I have been in Oakland for a few hours now, 3g the whole time, I cycled airplane mode, and now am on LTE for the last 10 min, so it seems like it isn't trying to search for lte after the initial time?
15th April 2014, 05:36 PM   |  #18  
Senior Member
Flag Glendale, CA
Thanks Meter: 45
 
375 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I have the same situation here. LTE only stays for a few minutes and then goes to sleep until it decides to wake up (whenever it feels like). I don't think speaking to Sprint will solve anything. It will be a while before we can see Spark in action, I think.
15th April 2014, 07:37 PM   |  #19  
The problems lie with Sprint Spark. My S4 & Note 3 have great reception. All spark devices i activate barely get 1 bar. Its horrible. But its because of the bands they have the devices default on. They are trying to take less strain off of the current LTE single band and equal it out to all 3. Or just the 2 depending on your location.
15th April 2014, 11:15 PM   |  #20  
eyecon82's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,652
 
2,242 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
This isn't a phone issue, rather a Network issue

-Sent from Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes