5,595,196 Members 46,084 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Does anyone have this touchscreen issue?

Tip us?
 
UberMario
Old
#1  
UberMario's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 1,125
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Columbus,GA,U.S.A
Default [Q] Does anyone have this touchscreen issue?

There seems to be a dead spot on the touchscreen near the top. It's there on the stock ROM and on custom roms (both AOSP and ROMs based on LG's UI). Do you guys have the same issue?

http://i.imgur.com/4fKjQmG.jpg
T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S4 - SGH-M919
Recovery: Philz
ROM: SlimKat
Kernel: Alucard's
 
jerverg
Old
#2  
jerverg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 174
Join Date: Sep 2012
Tried that on quick memo. I dont have it luckily.

Sent from my LG-D802 using xda premium
A bunch of Nokias>Moto Krazr K1>Nokia N95 8G>iPhone>Samsung Omnia i900>iPhone 3G>
SE Xperia X1>Samsung Omnia HD i8910>Samsung Jet>Samsung Pixon 12>
SE Xperia X10>SE X10 mini pro>SE Xperia Arc>HTC Sensation>HTC One X>

Current:

device: Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.7 P6800

device: Samsung Galaxy Note 2 LTE N7105

device Samsung Galaxy S4 LTE I9505

Hit "THANKS" if I helped you in any way
 
mrm43
Old
#3  
mrm43's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 203
Posts: 615
Join Date: May 2012
Tried it also. No problem for me too.

Sent from my LG-D802 using Tapatalk
 
ZigZagJoe
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 34
Join Date: Aug 2012
My first one developed that after some time, same place too. Went to verizon, showed them that, and they replaced it with a "certified like-new" which thankfully seems to be new as far as i could tell.
 
PAGOT
Old
#5  
PAGOT's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 321
Posts: 1,444
Join Date: Dec 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberMario View Post
There seems to be a dead spot on the touchscreen near the top. It's there on the stock ROM and on custom roms (both AOSP and ROMs based on LG's UI). Do you guys have the same issue?

http://i.imgur.com/4fKjQmG.jpg
Saw it already reported here before. But I do not have it.

^ don't have that phone anymore, too lazy to change the picture...

LG G2
Stock 4.2.2 with G2 Xposed variant 0
echo 0 > /sys/class/leds/button-backlight/brightness
chmod 444 /sys/class/leds/button-backlight/brightness
echo "who cares, always changes with the kernel..." > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/UV_mV_table


Quadrant score never matters!
 
robogo1982
Old
#6  
robogo1982's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 366
Posts: 1,189
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Osijek
It's been reported several times here, in 99% of the time an update fixed that.

Which version do you have?
| LG G2 | D802 | stock | 72 hrs on a single charge
| Samsung Galaxy S4 I9505 | custom ROM | [sold]
| Sony Xperia Z | stock | [sold]
| Samsung Galaxy S3 GT-I9300 | custom ROM | [sold]
| Samsung Galaxy S2 GT-I9100 | stock | [sold]
| Samsung Galaxy S GT-I9000 | custom ROM | [sold]
| HTC Desire | stock | [sold]
| HTC Hero | stock | [sold]
:: i'm a lazy mug who doesn't update his signature that often ::

 
UberMario
Old
(Last edited by UberMario; 26th January 2014 at 08:49 PM.)
#7  
UberMario's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 1,125
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Columbus,GA,U.S.A
Quote:
Originally Posted by robogo1982 View Post
It's been reported several times here, in 99% of the time an update fixed that.

Which version do you have?
I have the LG-D801 aka T-Mobile US version. The software version on it is D80110C_00. I used the LG flashing tool and flashed a .kdz file named "T-Mobile USA D80110C_00.kdz" since I bought it from craigslist and wanted it back to 100% stock (guy sold it for $80 since he rooted it and then did the OTA which caused him to go into that recovery boot loop issue and only way to fix it was to flash that .kdz file)

I'm not rooted and I am not using a custom recovery. I guess I'll do the OTA update the phone was bugging me to do.

EDIT; Installed the latest OTA. The issue is still there but it did decrease the dead zone. The biggest problem is that I can't press "install" for apps in the play store since the button is right in the dead zone.
T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S4 - SGH-M919
Recovery: Philz
ROM: SlimKat
Kernel: Alucard's
 
EllGuapo
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 29
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Getting the same problem here on my device, suddenly. I updated to the new Kit Kat update (I'm on Sprint) but didn't seem to make a difference. How annoying this suddenly happened and my phone was not dropped or damaged or anything. My other friend with a G2 had the issue and it went away on its own over time somehow. i'm noticing the bar where I have trouble is aligned exactly with the power button on the back, so I wonder if that has something to do with it, in the hardware.
Device history: LS980 (Sprint LGG2) > Samsung Galaxy Nexus > Samsung Galaxy S2 Epic 4G Touch > HTC Evo 4G > HTC Hero > Motorola Q9C (Win Phone 5.1) > Motorola Q (Win Phone 5.0) > Sony Palm Pilot

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android App Review: Lock it Down with Lockdown Pro – XDA Developer TV

Our smartphones are our lives. They store our contacts, emails, … more

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more