Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,583 Members 40,331 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] FXP314 phone switches between 2G and 3G mode ??

Tip us?
 
spp85
Old
#1  
spp85's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default [Q] FXP314 phone switches between 2G and 3G mode ??

Hello friends,

I recently installed CM11 FXP314 into my Xperia SP smartphone. The ROM is amazingly smooth and responsive to use. But with one problem is that even though I use preferred network type as 3G mode, the phone sometimes switches itself to 2G mode that results pretty slow internet speed. The stock Sony ROMs doesn't have this issue. Is there anything I can do?? Does the developer can fix this issue ???

Thanks in advance
 
joke19
Old
#2  
joke19's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 494
Join Date: Feb 2012
Force 3g under mobile setting

Gesendet von meinem Xperia SP
 
TechKiel
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 57
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Muntinlupa
Quote:
Originally Posted by spp85 View Post
Hello friends,

I recently installed CM11 FXP314 into my Xperia SP smartphone. The ROM is amazingly smooth and responsive to use. But with one problem is that even though I use preferred network type as 3G mode, the phone sometimes switches itself to 2G mode that results pretty slow internet speed. The stock Sony ROMs doesn't have this issue. Is there anything I can do?? Does the developer can fix this issue ???

Thanks in advance
On your dialer, tap *#*#4636*#*#

A menu will show up:


Phone Information > *scroll down* > Set preferred network type > Choose 3G Only > Done!
Phone: Sony Xperia SP
Model #: C5303 (PM-0350-BV)
Codename: Huashan
Board: Viskan
ROM: Paranoid Android v4.43 by neXus PRIME
Build Number:
Build #8
Kernel: Williams Kernel v5.1
Bootloader: UnLocked

Android Smartphones: Samsung Galaxy Y S5360 (Handed over) > Sony Ericsson Xperia Mini ST15i (Sold) >Sony Xperia V LT25i (Swapped) > HTC One X Endeavor (Sold) > Sony Xperia SP C5303 (Recovered-Current) + Xperia M2 D2303 (Concurrent)
 
spp85
Old
#4  
spp85's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default Nope.....its not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by joke19 View Post
Force 3g under mobile setting

Gesendet von meinem Xperia SP
On my CM11 there are basically 3 options under "Preferred network type" LTE, 3G and 2G. Since my phone is an C5302 model (No LTE support) me selected the 3G mode but the phone sometimes switches to 2G of its own, resulting poor internet speed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechKiel View Post
On your dialer, tap *#*#4636*#*#

A menu will show up:


Phone Information > *scroll down* > Set preferred network type > Choose 3G Only > Done!
That code shows me as "Your input code is invalid".
 
TechKiel
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 57
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Muntinlupa
Quote:
Originally Posted by spp85 View Post
On my CM11 there are basically 3 options under "Preferred network type" LTE, 3G and 2G. Since my phone is an C5302 model (No LTE support) me selected the 3G mode but the phone sometimes switches to 2G of its own, resulting poor internet speed.



That code shows me as "Your input code is invalid".
Oops. It should be: *#*#4636#*#*
Sorry for that. )
Phone: Sony Xperia SP
Model #: C5303 (PM-0350-BV)
Codename: Huashan
Board: Viskan
ROM: Paranoid Android v4.43 by neXus PRIME
Build Number:
Build #8
Kernel: Williams Kernel v5.1
Bootloader: UnLocked

Android Smartphones: Samsung Galaxy Y S5360 (Handed over) > Sony Ericsson Xperia Mini ST15i (Sold) >Sony Xperia V LT25i (Swapped) > HTC One X Endeavor (Sold) > Sony Xperia SP C5303 (Recovered-Current) + Xperia M2 D2303 (Concurrent)
 
spp85
Old
#6  
spp85's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default seems worked...But

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechKiel View Post
Oops. It should be: *#*#4636#*#*
Sorry for that. )
Yes the the number worked and I changed the settings you said. Also in case if there is a situation where there is poor 3G range will I able to change to 2G mode by selecting under the preferred network type to 2G, instead of going through this number you said ??

Thanks in advance
 
TechKiel
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 57
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Muntinlupa
Quote:
Originally Posted by spp85 View Post
Yes the the number worked and I changed the settings you said. Also in case if there is a situation where there is poor 3G range will I able to change to 2G mode by selecting under the preferred network type to 2G, instead of going through this number you said ??

Thanks in advance
You should be able to change it in Settings > More > Mobile Networks.

Hit thanks if you found my reply useful. :3
Phone: Sony Xperia SP
Model #: C5303 (PM-0350-BV)
Codename: Huashan
Board: Viskan
ROM: Paranoid Android v4.43 by neXus PRIME
Build Number:
Build #8
Kernel: Williams Kernel v5.1
Bootloader: UnLocked

Android Smartphones: Samsung Galaxy Y S5360 (Handed over) > Sony Ericsson Xperia Mini ST15i (Sold) >Sony Xperia V LT25i (Swapped) > HTC One X Endeavor (Sold) > Sony Xperia SP C5303 (Recovered-Current) + Xperia M2 D2303 (Concurrent)
The Following User Says Thank You to TechKiel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
spp85
Old
#8  
spp85's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default It worked

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechKiel View Post
You should be able to change it in Settings > More > Mobile Networks.

Hit thanks if you found my reply useful. :3
Yep here is my Thanks click

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more