Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] default keyboard keeps replacing swiftkey

OP duckworth

14th April 2014, 01:18 PM   |  #1  
duckworth's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
I have installed Swiftkey from Google Play and select it as the input method but after a few hours or so the default keyboard is selected again. I can't seem to make Swiftkey the default keyboard permanently. Anyone else run into this?
14th April 2014, 01:48 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
474 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckworth

I have installed Swiftkey from Google Play and select it as the input method but after a few hours or so the default keyboard is selected again. I can't seem to make Swiftkey the default keyboard permanently. Anyone else run into this?

This might be your issue?

http://www.androidpolice.com/2014/03...ogle-keyboard/

Supposedly only on updates...but it wouldn't shock me if the behavior happens more often than that....it's called a bug for a reason.
14th April 2014, 03:34 PM   |  #3  
duckworth's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakemcbride21

This might be your issue?

http://www.androidpolice.com/2014/03...ogle-keyboard/

Supposedly only on updates...but it wouldn't shock me if the behavior happens more often than that....it's called a bug for a reason.

Interesting. I wonder if that is the issue. Is anyone else having this problem with other 3rd party keyboards on the M8?
I will have to see if there is a way to convert it to a system app.
14th April 2014, 10:56 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckworth

Interesting. I wonder if that is the issue. Is anyone else having this problem with other 3rd party keyboards on the M8?
I will have to see if there is a way to convert it to a system app.

I'm not having that problem with the Google Keyboard installed from the Play Store.
15th April 2014, 01:44 AM   |  #5  
P2o8wer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 70
 
559 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
No but i had Kii installed on my note 3 and it kept switching back to stock keyboard. For some reason the updated versions wouldn't work I had to stick with one build

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
16th April 2014, 02:09 PM   |  #6  
fizeke136's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York, PA
Thanks Meter: 14
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Same here.. I ended up resorting to freezing the stock keyboard w/ TiBu to get SwiftKey to permanently stick
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes