OnePlus DR-1 Quadcopter Drone Available for Purchase

OnePlus has been teasing a new product for a while now, hailing it as a … more

KDZ of Android 5.0.1 Captured for T-Mobile LG G3

T-Mobile US is yet to release the 20B Lollipop build for the LG G3. Luckily enough, you … more

Build Custom Stock Kernel with Linaro GCC 4.9.1

With this guide for Sony devices, you will learn how to build a kernel using the Linaro … more

What’s Your Biggest Reason for Not Owning an iPhone?

With XDA being a community of Android enthusiasts, it is not uncommon to see … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] default keyboard keeps replacing swiftkey

14th April 2014, 12:18 PM |#1  
duckworth's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
I have installed Swiftkey from Google Play and select it as the input method but after a few hours or so the default keyboard is selected again. I can't seem to make Swiftkey the default keyboard permanently. Anyone else run into this?
14th April 2014, 12:48 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 127
 
520 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckworth

I have installed Swiftkey from Google Play and select it as the input method but after a few hours or so the default keyboard is selected again. I can't seem to make Swiftkey the default keyboard permanently. Anyone else run into this?

This might be your issue?

http://www.androidpolice.com/2014/03...ogle-keyboard/

Supposedly only on updates...but it wouldn't shock me if the behavior happens more often than that....it's called a bug for a reason.
14th April 2014, 02:34 PM |#3  
duckworth's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakemcbride21

This might be your issue?

http://www.androidpolice.com/2014/03...ogle-keyboard/

Supposedly only on updates...but it wouldn't shock me if the behavior happens more often than that....it's called a bug for a reason.

Interesting. I wonder if that is the issue. Is anyone else having this problem with other 3rd party keyboards on the M8?
I will have to see if there is a way to convert it to a system app.
14th April 2014, 09:56 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckworth

Interesting. I wonder if that is the issue. Is anyone else having this problem with other 3rd party keyboards on the M8?
I will have to see if there is a way to convert it to a system app.

I'm not having that problem with the Google Keyboard installed from the Play Store.
15th April 2014, 12:44 AM |#5  
P2o8wer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 70
 
558 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
No but i had Kii installed on my note 3 and it kept switching back to stock keyboard. For some reason the updated versions wouldn't work I had to stick with one build

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
16th April 2014, 01:09 PM |#6  
fizeke136's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York, PA
Thanks Meter: 16
 
143 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Same here.. I ended up resorting to freezing the stock keyboard w/ TiBu to get SwiftKey to permanently stick
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes