Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,650 Members 40,223 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] WiFi tethering w/low data?

Tip us?
 
Keekers
Old
#1  
Keekers's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 155
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default [Q] WiFi tethering w/low data?

I think I know the answer but I'm hoping I'll be surprised...I screwed up and upgraded phones, complying with a 2GB data plan and downgrading from my grandfathered unlimited data plan. My bill went from 120/mo to 60/mo and I had lost my S3 so I was desperate. Is there a WiFi tether app that uses less data than the others? Also, I'm rooted but using stock ROM. I have read other threads about tethering and it seems like something different works for everyone. I can't get my phone to tether using stock ROM. Is this the problem?

Thanks so much
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4
Android version: 4.4
 
Mistertac
Old
#2  
Mistertac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1304
Posts: 3,030
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Springfield, Ma

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keekers View Post
I think I know the answer but I'm hoping I'll be surprised...I screwed up and upgraded phones, complying with a 2GB data plan and downgrading from my grandfathered unlimited data plan. My bill went from 120/mo to 60/mo and I had lost my S3 so I was desperate. Is there a WiFi tether app that uses less data than the others? Also, I'm rooted but using stock ROM. I have read other threads about tethering and it seems like something different works for everyone. I can't get my phone to tether using stock ROM. Is this the problem?

Thanks so much
Not sure about how much data it uses and I'm sure it all depends like you've said but in case you haven't seen this thread here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2512981

Tethering for your phone. Fairly easy.
I also don't have unlimited data and am curious what some people say about this.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to Mistertac For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Keekers
Old
#3  
Keekers's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 155
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertac View Post
Not sure about how much data it uses and I'm sure it all depends like you've said but in case you haven't seen this thread here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2512981

Tethering for your phone. Fairly easy.
I also don't have unlimited data and am curious what some people say about this.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
I've been following this thread to figure out how to do this and have been trying the whole night but can't figure it out. I've downloaded all the files for MK2 and moved the file to the right location but am super stuck. I miss my S3. I think I would have rather stuck with the S3 instead of upgrading to the S4. Poor decision on my part.

Fairly easy as in you got it to work no problem?
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4
Android version: 4.4
 
Mistertac
Old
#4  
Mistertac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1304
Posts: 3,030
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Springfield, Ma

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keekers View Post
I've been following this thread to figure out how to do this and have been trying the whole night but can't figure it out. I've downloaded all the files for MK2 and moved the file to the right location but am super stuck. I miss my S3. I think I would have rather stuck with the S3 instead of upgrading to the S4. Poor decision on my part.

Fairly easy as in you got it to work no problem?
No I haven't used this method but from reading the OP to that thread it looks like you'd just need SafeStrap installed and then youd flash that in recovery. Again that's how I took it. Do you have SafeStrap installed? If you're rooted it'd be like installing any app

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2

---------- Post added at 05:50 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:49 AM ----------

Once SafeStrap is installed, open it and chick install recovery.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
 
Keekers
Old
#5  
Keekers's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 155
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertac View Post
No I haven't used this method but from reading the OP to that thread it looks like you'd just need SafeStrap installed and then youd flash that in recovery. Again that's how I took it. Do you have SafeStrap installed? If you're rooted it'd be like installing any app

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2

---------- Post added at 05:50 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:49 AM ----------

Once SafeStrap is installed, open it and chick install recovery.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
I'm dumb and can't figure out if I have SafeStrap installed, it is rooted though.
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4
Android version: 4.4
 
joshuabg
Old
#6  
joshuabg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 273
Posts: 820
Join Date: May 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
I use foxfi doesn't require root or safetrap
If you find this post helful, Click the "Thanks" button, Or if you really like what I have done you can click the "Donate to Me" button.

My works
 
 
Mistertac
Old
#7  
Mistertac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1304
Posts: 3,030
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Springfield, Ma

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keekers View Post
I'm dumb and can't figure out if I have SafeStrap installed, it is rooted though.
Here take a look at the SafeStrap thread.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2441441

Just an option for you that's all

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
 
Keekers
Old
#8  
Keekers's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 155
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertac View Post
Here take a look at the SafeStrap thread.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2441441

Just an option for you that's all

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
Ah I don't know why I've been struggling so much. Thanks...I'm going to try the download if I can get the MD5s to match. They don't seem to be lining up w/the download.
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4
Android version: 4.4
 
Keekers
Old
#9  
Keekers's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 155
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshuabg View Post
I use foxfi doesn't require root or safetrap
Thanks I'll check it out
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4
Android version: 4.4

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Slide Dial Replacement Dialer Lets You Make Calls from Anywhere

If you frequently make phone calls, your dialer (aka phone app)is one of the … more

Navigate with Your Samsung Gear 2 Using DMA Navi Watch

Whether you’re travelling to a new destination or exploring some previously … more

Xperia Z1 Stereo Speaker Mod, Cell Phone Unlocking Legal Again! – XDA Developer TV

Cell Phone Unlocking is legal again!! That and much … more

[OTA Captured] Verizon LG G Pad 8.3 Finally Gets Official KitKat Update

It’s been almost nine months since the LG G Pad … more