FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

[Q] WiFi tethering w/low data?

197 posts
Thanks Meter: 19
 
By Keekers, Senior Member on 16th April 2014, 03:06 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I think I know the answer but I'm hoping I'll be surprised...I screwed up and upgraded phones, complying with a 2GB data plan and downgrading from my grandfathered unlimited data plan. My bill went from 120/mo to 60/mo and I had lost my S3 so I was desperate. Is there a WiFi tether app that uses less data than the others? Also, I'm rooted but using stock ROM. I have read other threads about tethering and it seems like something different works for everyone. I can't get my phone to tether using stock ROM. Is this the problem?

Thanks so much
 
 
16th April 2014, 04:10 AM |#2  
Mistertac's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 2,681
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keekers

I think I know the answer but I'm hoping I'll be surprised...I screwed up and upgraded phones, complying with a 2GB data plan and downgrading from my grandfathered unlimited data plan. My bill went from 120/mo to 60/mo and I had lost my S3 so I was desperate. Is there a WiFi tether app that uses less data than the others? Also, I'm rooted but using stock ROM. I have read other threads about tethering and it seems like something different works for everyone. I can't get my phone to tether using stock ROM. Is this the problem?

Thanks so much

Not sure about how much data it uses and I'm sure it all depends like you've said but in case you haven't seen this thread here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2512981

Tethering for your phone. Fairly easy.
I also don't have unlimited data and am curious what some people say about this.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to Mistertac For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th April 2014, 04:29 AM |#3  
Keekers's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertac

Not sure about how much data it uses and I'm sure it all depends like you've said but in case you haven't seen this thread here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2512981

Tethering for your phone. Fairly easy.
I also don't have unlimited data and am curious what some people say about this.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2

I've been following this thread to figure out how to do this and have been trying the whole night but can't figure it out. I've downloaded all the files for MK2 and moved the file to the right location but am super stuck. I miss my S3. I think I would have rather stuck with the S3 instead of upgrading to the S4. Poor decision on my part.

Fairly easy as in you got it to work no problem?
16th April 2014, 10:50 AM |#4  
Mistertac's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 2,681
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keekers

I've been following this thread to figure out how to do this and have been trying the whole night but can't figure it out. I've downloaded all the files for MK2 and moved the file to the right location but am super stuck. I miss my S3. I think I would have rather stuck with the S3 instead of upgrading to the S4. Poor decision on my part.

Fairly easy as in you got it to work no problem?

No I haven't used this method but from reading the OP to that thread it looks like you'd just need SafeStrap installed and then youd flash that in recovery. Again that's how I took it. Do you have SafeStrap installed? If you're rooted it'd be like installing any app

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2

---------- Post added at 05:50 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:49 AM ----------

Once SafeStrap is installed, open it and chick install recovery.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
16th April 2014, 01:27 PM |#5  
Keekers's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertac

No I haven't used this method but from reading the OP to that thread it looks like you'd just need SafeStrap installed and then youd flash that in recovery. Again that's how I took it. Do you have SafeStrap installed? If you're rooted it'd be like installing any app

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2

---------- Post added at 05:50 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:49 AM ----------

Once SafeStrap is installed, open it and chick install recovery.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2

I'm dumb and can't figure out if I have SafeStrap installed, it is rooted though.
16th April 2014, 01:40 PM |#6  
Hashbang173's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,233
 
Donate to Me
More
I use foxfi doesn't require root or safetrap
16th April 2014, 01:49 PM |#7  
Mistertac's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 2,681
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keekers

I'm dumb and can't figure out if I have SafeStrap installed, it is rooted though.

Here take a look at the SafeStrap thread.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2441441

Just an option for you that's all

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
16th April 2014, 02:12 PM |#8  
Keekers's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertac

Here take a look at the SafeStrap thread.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2441441

Just an option for you that's all

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2

Ah I don't know why I've been struggling so much. Thanks...I'm going to try the download if I can get the MD5s to match. They don't seem to be lining up w/the download.
17th April 2014, 01:25 AM |#9  
Keekers's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshuabg

I use foxfi doesn't require root or safetrap

Thanks I'll check it out
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes