Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,970 Members 49,241 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Note II international version slow US internet speed

Tip us?
 
doc2142
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 67
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default [Q] Note II international version slow US internet speed

My wife bought her note II overseas in Saudi Arabia. However, when she uses it here with US network a subset of T-mobile she has very slow speed. Everything loads very slow for her. I tried adding APN settings but still no luck.

Is this a known issue? or anyone has any idea?
 
Coug76
Old
#2  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 593
Posts: 1,741
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: East of Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by doc2142 View Post
My wife bought her note II overseas in Saudi Arabia. However, when she uses it here with US network a subset of T-mobile she has very slow speed. Everything loads very slow for her. I tried adding APN settings but still no luck.

Is this a known issue? or anyone has any idea?
Which model is it? If it is running stock touchwiz you can find out in settings -> about device. You can also check the model number under the battery. There are two main international GN2 models (N7100 and N7105) and variants thereof (TMo us is SGH-T889).

Some devices don't have the correct T-mo frequencies enabled (AWS for instance).

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
The Following User Says Thank You to Coug76 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
doc2142
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 67
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug76 View Post
Which model is it? If it is running stock touchwiz you can find out in settings -> about device. You can also check the model number under the battery. There are two main international GN2 models (N7100 and N7105) and variants thereof (TMo us is SGH-T889).

Some devices don't have the correct T-mo frequencies enabled (AWS for instance).

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
GT-N7100

It is running 4.3.

Any idea how to fix this. If you do please I would be forever grateful.
 
Coug76
Old
(Last edited by Coug76; 17th April 2014 at 05:00 AM.)
#4  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 593
Posts: 1,741
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: East of Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by doc2142 View Post
GT-N7100

It is running 4.3.

Any idea how to fix this. If you do please I would be forever grateful.
That device is a non-LTE phone. It will not be able to utilize the LTE network. 3G is as good as you will get. Don't try to flash roms or modems from our forum as they will not work well with her device.

When you are on cellular signal go to the dialer and type in *#0011# and look at the Service Mode display. If it says PCS 1900 you are running on a 2G signal and can expect slow data.

Take a screen shot (horizontal swipe of the edge of your hand across the screen when the correct settings are active) of that and post it if you are uncertain what you're seeing. We can see what is going on from there. You might check the N7100 forum for more and better advice.


3G/H:



2G/EDGE:




Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
The Following User Says Thank You to Coug76 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes