Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,436 Members 45,065 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

GPS.Conf file

Tip us?
 
cdangerb
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default GPS.Conf file

I've been having constant problems with the gps on my phone. If I TOT back to 11a, gps is ok. Nothing stellar but seems to get a fix after a spell.
If I take the OTA 12b my GPS goes to hell. Fix takes 1 min + sometimes. Looking through the threads I've tried and attacked the gps issue with everything everyone had to offer.... In one fix found from the Samsung Galaxy SIII forum, by editing the gps.conf file to focus the search to only US and North America servers you can speed up the fix. Makes sense to me.

In reading the code for my stock GPS.conf I see ntp_servers for Korea, Europe, asia, Japan, and North america.
For each server there is a description enclosed in hashtags: #Asia# #Korea# #Europe#
For my limited coding experience I'd assume the hashtags prevent that content from being read, allowing the coder to leave a comment or descriptor within the hashtags.

That being said, why doesn't the north america title have a second hashtag?

Mine reads like this from OTA 12b:
#Test
# NTP_SERVER=time.gpsonextra.net
#Asia
# NTP_SERVER=asia.pool.ntp.org
#Europe
# NTP_SERVER=europe.pool.ntp.org
#North America
NTP_SERVER=north-america.pool.ntp.org
#Korea
# NTP_SERVER=0.kr.pool.ntp.org

What language is being used here? Does the hashtag matter or is it unneeded? Because if it does matter, then the correct north america server isn't being read. It's being obscured by the hashtags and being read wrong.
I went into the file using file explorer, "open in text editor", and added just a hashtag after the north america. I went from sitting and watching the gps status and toolbox endlessly look for a fix to grabbing satellites after a few seconds.

Am I crazy?
 
jrgilbert79
Old
(Last edited by jrgilbert79; 12th April 2014 at 04:27 PM.)
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 159
Posts: 530
Join Date: Mar 2012
Here is my VZN g2 GPS.conf. Much better lock time.

#Uncommenting these urls would only enable
#the power up auto injection and force injection(test case).
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra2.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra2.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra2.bin

# Error Estimate
# _SET = 1
# _CLEAR = 0
ERR_ESTIMATE=0

#NTP Server- This server chooses the closet geographical server in your region.
NTP_SERVER=time.nist.gov


# DEBUG LEVELS: 0 - none, 1 - Error, 2 - Warning, 3 - Info
# 4 - Debug, 5 - Verbose
#DEBUG_LEVEL = 3
DEBUG_LEVEL = 2

# Intermediate position report, 1=enable, 0=disable
INTERMEDIATE_POS=1

# supl version 1.0
#SUPL_VER=0x10000
# supl version 2.0
SUPL_VER=0x20000

# GPS Capabilities bit mask
# SCHEDULING = 0x01
# MSB = 0x02
# MSA = 0x04
# ON_DEMAND_TIME = 0x10
# GEOFENCE = 0x20
# default = ON_DEMAND_TIME | MSA | MSB | SCHEDULING | GEOFENCE
CAPABILITIES=0x31

# Accuracy threshold for intermediate positions
# less accurate positions are ignored, 0 for passing all positions
# ACCURACY_THRES=5000

################################
##### AGPS server settings #####
################################

# FOR SUPL SUPPORT, set the following
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
SUPL_SECURE_PORT=7278
SUPL_NO_SECURE_PORT=3425

# FOR C2K PDE SUPPORT, set the following
# C2K_HOST=c2k.pde.com or IP
# C2K_PORT=1234


####################################
# LTE Positioning Profile Settings
####################################
# 0: Enable RRLP on LTE(Default)
# 1: Enable LPP_User_Plane on LTE
# 2: Enable LPP_Control_Plane
# 3: Enable both LPP_User_Plane and LPP_Control_Plane
#LPP_PROFILE = 0
LPP_PROFILE = 3

################################
# EXTRA SETTINGS
################################
# NMEA provider (1=Modem Processor, 0=Application Processor)
#NMEA_PROVIDER=0
NMEA_PROVIDER=1

##################################################
# Select Positioning Protocol on A-GLONASS system
##################################################
# 0x1: RRC CPlane
# 0x2: RRLP UPlane
# 0x4: LLP Uplane
A_GLONASS_POS_PROTOCOL_SELECT = 0x1

################################
# LGE EXTRA SETTINGS
################################
VENDOR=VZW
LGE_TLS_MODE=1
LGE_GPS_POSITION_MODE=0


Sent from my VS980 4G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
jrgilbert79
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 159
Posts: 530
Join Date: Mar 2012
The # is used to cmment out the line which means it's not considered in the conf file.

Sent from my VS980 4G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
cdangerb
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrgilbert79 View Post
The # is used to cmment out the line which means it's not considered in the conf file.

Sent from my VS980 4G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
So as long as the beginning of the line has the #, whatever follows is ignored? No closing # is needed?
Not like C+ where a line would begin ( and then at the end have the closing )?
What language is this written in? Do you need a special app to modify?
It seems when I open the file in either the text editor of root explorer or notepad there are no returns at the end of the line. Just spaces.
 
reinaldistic
Old
(Last edited by reinaldistic; 14th April 2014 at 02:01 AM.)
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 171
Posts: 906
Join Date: May 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdangerb View Post
So as long as the beginning of the line has the #, whatever follows is ignored? No closing # is needed?
Not like C+ where a line would begin ( and then at the end have the closing )?
What language is this written in? Do you need a special app to modify?
It seems when I open the file in either the text editor of root explorer or notepad there are no returns at the end of the line. Just spaces.
no idea what language it is, but it's standard in config files throughout android and a lot of windows even. closing hashes aren't needed, however returns are. idk if its your editor not reading the returns but they're necessary. i wouldn't worry too much, its known that jellybean causes painfully slow gps locks on some g2s regardless of the gps config... hashes are usually used like this:

#title of the program
#explanation of the file
#explanation of the line bellow
actual code to be read
#explanation of the line bellow
#optional code that can be enabled by taking out the hash

so your gps conf is set up for north america which makes sense for a verizon phone, with the servers for all other continents commented out which arent necessary. there are apps out there though that can add better servers onto the file if you're rooted.

Sent from my LG-VS980 using xda app-developers app
 
bigsnack
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 658
Join Date: Feb 2011
Is there any way to make the gps config flashable/easy to install because I don't see some of the data in the config file.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...