Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more

Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more

Get Your XDA 2015 Custom Avatar and Signature Images Here

As stated in our motto, XDA Developer is for developers, by developers. The … more
Post Reply

Z1 vs Z1s ROM support

OP Kenchinito

16th April 2014, 03:56 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Hey whats up guys,

Im looking at getting a z1 and found a good deal on a Z1s. However, being exclusive to T-mobile, it won't be as common as the Z1. So I'm afraid that ROM variety won't be as great as the normal Z1 or anyone knows if the Z1 ROMs are compatible with the Z1s?

What do you guys think?
16th April 2014, 03:59 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Santo Domingo
Thanks Meter: 105
 
253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Nope, they're not, simply, different models.


Try to get the z1 and not the z1s,the updates on the z1 are more faster than the z1s,that phone have some disvantage.

Good luck.

Sent from my Kitkat'fied c6906.

Hit thanks of I helped you
The Following User Says Thank You to jancarlos1597 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th April 2014, 04:01 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
sounds like the smart thing to do. Thank you!
16th April 2014, 04:03 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Santo Domingo
Thanks Meter: 105
 
253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
No problem, I'm here to help, any question you can ask me via email or private message.


Have a good night, sir.

Sent from my Kitkat'fied c6906.

Hit thanks of I helped you
17th April 2014, 02:17 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Socal
Thanks Meter: 10
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Z1s has a locked BL too so I don't think it even has root at this point.
17th April 2014, 03:43 AM   |  #6  
mrcrusha829's Avatar
Member
Flag Hartford, CT
Thanks Meter: 10
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
If I remember correctly you would not get LTE service on Tmobile with the Z1.
17th April 2014, 04:35 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrcrusha829

If I remember correctly you would not get LTE service on Tmobile with the Z1.

There are several variants, and there is an international Z1 variant that was LTE that works with T-Mobile, I think it's the C6903.

The main issue with buying an international version I think is the lack of warranty in the U.S. since it's not sold directly by Sony in the states. The only way to get a warranty on the "Z1" is to buy the Z1S from T-Mobile The regular unlocked Xperia Z is sold in the U.S. by Sony however and has a warranty if you want to go that route... but you'd get the Qualcomm S4 instead of the 800.

EDIT - Here is the international version that works with T-Mo in the U.S., but as I said, no warranty.
http://www.amazon.com/Sony-Factory-U.../dp/B00ET7MWWO
Last edited by handisnacks; 17th April 2014 at 04:37 AM.
17th April 2014, 07:48 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Socal
Thanks Meter: 10
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by handisnacks

There are several variants, and there is an international Z1 variant that was LTE that works with T-Mobile, I think it's the C6903.

The main issue with buying an international version I think is the lack of warranty in the U.S. since it's not sold directly by Sony in the states. The only way to get a warranty on the "Z1" is to buy the Z1S from T-Mobile The regular unlocked Xperia Z is sold in the U.S. by Sony however and has a warranty if you want to go that route... but you'd get the Qualcomm S4 instead of the 800.

EDIT - Here is the international version that works with T-Mo in the U.S., but as I said, no warranty.
http://www.amazon.com/Sony-Factory-U.../dp/B00ET7MWWO

I don't think so. The Z1 is sold on sony's online store. I think you can get the 6902 and 6906 from Sony.com. The 6903/6906 will get LTE on tmo
17th April 2014, 09:34 AM   |  #9  
jbr05ki's Avatar
Senior Member
626 to 909
Thanks Meter: 67
 
373 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Locked or not it's still a damn good phone.

Sent from my C6916 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xperia Z1 General by ThreadRank