Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,386 Members 52,010 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to get busybox?

Tip us?
 
marcoxx626
Old
#1  
marcoxx626's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 869
Posts: 1,466
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Orlando
Default How to get busybox?

Hey guys I plan on staying on stock Rom for a while but I need busy box installed. There are apps that do it, but whenever I try to install it my device just reboots. I'm stock rooted with unlocked boot loader as of right now and unable ble to achieve s-off in case that helps. New to HTC so any help would be appreciated.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
 
SmiLey497
Old
#2  
SmiLey497's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 353
Posts: 896
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SF, CA - NYC
You need to make your system writable

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Past Cellphones:
Motorola: Timeport, Droid 1
Sharp: Z800
Nextel: i710, i860
Apple: iPhone 4
LG: Nexus 5, G2
Samsung: a950, SCH-i760, Galaxy Nexus, Galaxy S III, Galaxy Note II, Galaxy S 4
HTC: Libra, Droid Eris, Incredible, Thunderbolt, One XL, One M7


Currently owned: HTC One M8
 
marcoxx626
Old
#3  
marcoxx626's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 869
Posts: 1,466
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmiLey497 View Post
You need to make your system writable

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Would you be able to guide me on how to do that? Thought I had already done that but guess not :/

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
 
CyclingVinnie
Old
#4  
CyclingVinnie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 197
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Minneapolis
Im pretty sure you need to turn s-on to s-off. There are many threads on here how to do that. I think you need to root it too
 
shook187
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 822
Posts: 2,860
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Haverhill MA
Not trying to hijack this thread but I've always wonder what is busybox for?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
 
marcoxx626
Old
#6  
marcoxx626's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 869
Posts: 1,466
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyclingVinnie View Post
Im pretty sure you need to turn s-on to s-off. There are many threads on here how to do that. I think you need to root it too
Guess I'm out of luck. Tried to use the s off method but it said it wouldn't work on my device

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
 
andrewnelson
Old
#7  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 384
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dhaka
Doesn't work my device too.
 
One-M8-Master
Old
#8  
One-M8-Master's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2284
Posts: 6,575
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Germany :)
If you have unlocked bootloader you can try to flash or use a module or hacked/custom kernel which can turn system from read only to write...flar made this module/kernel...so read the thread and maybe give it a try...

Gesendet von meinem HTC One X mit Tapatalk
Its simple read before asking and use the search button and always be thankful its FREE!!!

Devices : HTC HD2 (Sold/broken), HTC One X (has my sister now), HTC One M8 (current) (changing roms always after few weeks of use and testing)

Renovate 4.x + elementalx kernel

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Droid X Receives KitKat Port, Upcoming Google Glass Firmware Improvements – XDA Developer TV

Android 4.4.3 lands on the European HTC … more

Calc+ is a Smart and Beautiful Android Calculator

As we’ve said inthe past, there are quite a few calculators available on Android. … more

Get Better Debug Data with Crash Report SDK

Developing an application is a hard and often times ungratifying task. It also requires quite a … more

Navigate to Your Favorite Places with LocationDetector

If you’re enjoying an active way of life, you probablytravel a lot, go fishing, … more