Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,479 Members 48,702 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to get busybox?

Tip us?
 
marcoxx626
Old
#1  
marcoxx626's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 869
Posts: 1,466
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Orlando
Default How to get busybox?

Hey guys I plan on staying on stock Rom for a while but I need busy box installed. There are apps that do it, but whenever I try to install it my device just reboots. I'm stock rooted with unlocked boot loader as of right now and unable ble to achieve s-off in case that helps. New to HTC so any help would be appreciated.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
 
SmiLey497
Old
#2  
SmiLey497's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 349
Posts: 894
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SF, CA - NYC
You need to make your system writable

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Past Cellphones:
Motorola: Timeport, Droid 1
Sharp: Z800
Nextel: i710, i860
Apple: iPhone 4
LG: Nexus 5, G2
Samsung: a950, SCH-i760, Galaxy Nexus, Galaxy S III, Galaxy Note II, Galaxy S 4
HTC: Libra, Droid Eris, Incredible, Thunderbolt, One XL, One M7


Currently owned: HTC One M8
 
marcoxx626
Old
#3  
marcoxx626's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 869
Posts: 1,466
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmiLey497 View Post
You need to make your system writable

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Would you be able to guide me on how to do that? Thought I had already done that but guess not :/

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
 
CyclingVinnie
Old
#4  
CyclingVinnie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 197
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Minneapolis
Im pretty sure you need to turn s-on to s-off. There are many threads on here how to do that. I think you need to root it too
 
shook187
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 808
Posts: 2,814
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Haverhill MA
Not trying to hijack this thread but I've always wonder what is busybox for?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
 
marcoxx626
Old
#6  
marcoxx626's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 869
Posts: 1,466
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyclingVinnie View Post
Im pretty sure you need to turn s-on to s-off. There are many threads on here how to do that. I think you need to root it too
Guess I'm out of luck. Tried to use the s off method but it said it wouldn't work on my device

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
 
andrewnelson
Old
#7  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 384
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dhaka
Doesn't work my device too.
 
One-M8-Master
Old
#8  
One-M8-Master's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2200
Posts: 6,309
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Germany :)
If you have unlocked bootloader you can try to flash or use a module or hacked/custom kernel which can turn system from read only to write...flar made this module/kernel...so read the thread and maybe give it a try...

Gesendet von meinem HTC One X mit Tapatalk
Its simple read before asking and use the search button and always be thankful its FREE!!!

Devices : HTC HD2 (Sold/broken), HTC One X (has my sister now), HTC One M8 (current) (changing roms always after few weeks of use and testing)


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Run, Jump, and Shoot in Tales of Ciaxia

There are certain types of games that have become paramount of the portable gaming world. As we have … more

Samsung Gear Live Stock Firmware Image Pulled, Temp Root

Just yesterday,XDA Recognized Developer and TV ProducerAdamOutlertore apart … more

Draw a Line and Let Your Device Do the Rest with LineitApp

Over the years, since evenbefore Android entered the scene, we have striven to … more