Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,943 Members 51,736 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

anyone know why myverizon app now requests root access?

Tip us?
 
viper31573
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 508
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: port st lucie
Default anyone know why myverizon app now requests root access?

do you all allow it or decline? at 1st i declined then i changed it, now ive rescinded it. does it matter one way or the other?
 
lacoursiere18
Old
#2  
lacoursiere18's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 3690
Posts: 2,723
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boca Raton

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper31573 View Post
do you all allow it or decline? at 1st i declined then i changed it, now ive rescinded it. does it matter one way or the other?
Not sure why it would.. I have it on my phone and it has never requested it.. that is weird??
But answer is no, it should not require or ask for root access

Sent from my SCH-I605 using xda app-developers app
 
fkfmfz
Old
#3  
fkfmfz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1566
Posts: 941
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New York NYC

 
DONATE TO ME
I asked Verizon on twitter 2 times and still no reply from them. I would denie access because they don't support rooting your device. More ways to take your personal data.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
 
viper31573
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 508
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: port st lucie
Quote:
Originally Posted by fkfmfz View Post
I asked Verizon on twitter 2 times and still no reply from them. I would denie access because they don't support rooting your device. More ways to take your personal data.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
Thx.ive now denied it

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
 
viper31573
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 508
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: port st lucie
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacoursiere18 View Post
Not sure why it would.. I have it on my phone and it has never requested it.. that is weird??
But answer is no, it should not require or ask for root access

Sent from my SCH-I605 using xda app-developers app
It started after the update that offered 3 different widgets

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes