Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,490 Members 40,342 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Force Roaming on M8

Tip us?
 
aprwx
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 48
Join Date: Jan 2011
Phone Force Roaming on M8

I have a Sprint HTC One M8. I used to use 'Roam Ctl' to force into roaming when inside a building like Target where the signal may be weak, but stronger if you roamed.

I installed it on the new M8 and it doesn't roam. I'm wondering if this is due to the new Tri-Band Spark frequencies and how this phone doesn't support simultaneous voice & data.

Any ideas? Is this a problem with the way this phone is different, or simply an application bug?
 
uh60james
Old
#2  
uh60james's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 371
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Birmingham, AL
Quote:
Originally Posted by aprwx View Post
I have a Sprint HTC One M8. I used to use 'Roam Ctl' to force into roaming when inside a building like Target where the signal may be weak, but stronger if you roamed.

I installed it on the new M8 and it doesn't roam. I'm wondering if this is due to the new Tri-Band Spark frequencies and how this phone doesn't support simultaneous voice & data.

Any ideas? Is this a problem with the way this phone is different, or simply an application bug?
See here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2717326
The Following User Says Thank You to uh60james For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
aprwx
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 48
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by uh60james View Post

Thanks!
 
aprwx
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 48
Join Date: Jan 2011
This actually didn't work for me. I can enter the code in the dialer to get in to change the PRL, but there are no menu items showing up that let me select roam only. Oh well, it was worth a try. I'm using VenomOneM8 ROM which is probably why it isn't working on my M8.
 
Ph33zy
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 181
Posts: 728
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Orange County, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by aprwx View Post
This actually didn't work for me. I can enter the code in the dialer to get in to change the PRL, but there are no menu items showing up that let me select roam only. Oh well, it was worth a try. I'm using VenomOneM8 ROM which is probably why it isn't working on my M8.
It's under settings, mobile data, roaming
 
aprwx
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 48
Join Date: Jan 2011
Yeah it's not showing up for me there.

Under Settings --> Mobile Data I have:
4G Settings
Network Mode
Automatic Connections
then two greyed out options: Access point names & Available GSM networks

I am pretty sure the flash worked properly because if I dial ##3282# as stated in the original thread by another ViperOne user it says "Bad Boyz EPST", and I'm not running anything Bad Boyz.

So I think it's a conflict between running a Bad Boyz Mod on a ViperOne ROM.
 
Downtown taco
Old
#7  
Downtown taco's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 33
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by aprwx View Post
Yeah it's not showing up for me there.

Under Settings --> Mobile Data I have:
4G Settings
Network Mode
Automatic Connections
then two greyed out options: Access point names & Available GSM networks

I am pretty sure the flash worked properly because if I dial ##3282# as stated in the original thread by another ViperOne user it says "Bad Boyz EPST", and I'm not running anything Bad Boyz.

So I think it's a conflict between running a Bad Boyz Mod on a ViperOne ROM.
Same issue on stock as well. No roaming options where others would see it. Also my M8 can't roam for some odd reason. Keep in mind I'm 100% stock.

Sent from some box in the Bahamas, or Mexico, or wherever that guy with the eye patch took me.
 
aprwx
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 48
Join Date: Jan 2011
And you tried this mod too? Otherwise it probably isn't a feature in stock. Thus the need for the mod.

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Hide Numbers on Your SMS and Call Logs with Reflection

How many times have you given your device to someone else in order to show them a … more

Implement Split View in Your LG G2 KitKat Rom with Automated Installer

Some of you may have remembered a story on the Portal a few weeks back … more

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more