Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,603 Members 41,356 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q]TWRP update boots only in TWRP

Tip us?
 
b3ava
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 55
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default [Q]TWRP update boots only in TWRP

Hey I got a "system update" last night and once it was applied my gpad restarted in TWRP. It will not boot up into the OS.
I am running a rooted gpad with twerp and bone stock LG android(no custom rom of any sort)

I have looked into XDA and found similar threads but for the G2, to my understanding they are very similar in many ways but I would like to confirm that the solution I found is ok for the gpad or if there is another workaround:
If you have ADB access, plug in your phone and run this:

adb shell
dd if=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota of=/sdcard/fota-backup.img
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
Then you should be able to successfully reboot your phone via the TWRP menu option, or via a simple reboot command in adb.(<- what is the reboot command btw?:P)

It also gives a solution without ADB but it doesn't concern me. Does anyone know if this procedure can be followed for the Gpad as well? is there something that must be altered?

Thank you for your patience
 
SnowPluralism
Old
#2  
SnowPluralism's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1383
Posts: 1,677
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Inside Your Mind
Will not hurt to try
The comand is:

Adb reboot

Enviado do meu GT-I9300 através de Tapatalk
XDA Developers Recognized Contributor

-XDA ASSIST PROUD MEMBER-
 
b3ava
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 55
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowPluralism View Post
Will not hurt to try
The comand is:

Adb reboot

Enviado do meu GT-I9300 através de Tapatalk
guess so, thing is I have no idea what this code means and if its device specific to the G2. Just in case this makes more of a mess. Also wondering if flashing a custom rom on top would fix it
 
SnowPluralism
Old
#4  
SnowPluralism's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1383
Posts: 1,677
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Inside Your Mind
Thats no code thats only adb comands
U can try it with zero to no hurt

And yes flashing custom or even just wiping data would do the trick

Enviado do meu GT-I9300 através de Tapatalk
XDA Developers Recognized Contributor

-XDA ASSIST PROUD MEMBER-
 
b3ava
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 55
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowPluralism View Post
Thats no code thats only adb comands
U can try it with zero to no hurt

And yes flashing custom or even just wiping data would do the trick

Enviado do meu GT-I9300 através de Tapatalk
appreciate your help I'll give it a try in a couple of hours n report back bed time for me
 
katsika
Old
#6  
katsika's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 200
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Athens
if you ve got official rom with root or custom recovery OTAs wont work and they ll semibrick the gpad like in your case. The safe methods i know is either using lg mobile support tool to go back to full stock or flash a custom rom via the twrp.
 
b3ava
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 55
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by katsika View Post
if you ve got official rom with root or custom recovery OTAs wont work and they ll semibrick the gpad like in your case. The safe methods i know is either using lg mobile support tool to go back to full stock or flash a custom rom via the twrp.
Right cause I dont like the ADB method I have tried:
Factory reset-Didnt work
Full wipe (dalvic etc ) -Didnt work

Tried to install a stock based rom(forgot the name)-Did not work

I'll try 1 more rom and then if that doesnt work I'll try the ADB business and if that doesnt work try to revert back to bone stock
 
b3ava
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 55
Join Date: Jul 2011
okay guys this is getting frustrating nothing works.

I downloaded the drivers for the gpad again, and I tried to use the lg software to flash stock recovery, but it wont find my device. has anyone experienced something similar or knows how to resolve this its getting really frustrating.
 
Fbien
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by b3ava View Post
okay guys this is getting frustrating nothing works.
I downloaded the drivers for the gpad again, and I tried to use the lg software to flash stock recovery, but it wont find my device. has anyone experienced something similar or knows how to resolve this its getting really frustrating.
I needed to be in download mode to be reconized by LG Mobile Support Tool (I downloaded and installed different versions of LG Mobile drivers too many times before to do the the right thing)

To enter download mode :
1. Turn off the tablet. (from TWRP menu )
2. Push vol+ and vol- same time. (both buttons + don't relase)
3. Insert usb cable (both buttons still pressed)
4. A small image DOWNLOAD MODE not so visible should appear on the tablet
5. Release both buttons.

LG Mobile Support Tool reconized my tablet and I could start the recovery (still waiting 1.5Gb to be downloaded)
 
iruiz2
Old
#10  
iruiz2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 113
Posts: 228
Join Date: Jun 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by b3ava View Post
Hey I got a "system update" last night and once it was applied my gpad restarted in TWRP. It will not boot up into the OS.
I am running a rooted gpad with twerp and bone stock LG android(no custom rom of any sort)

I have looked into XDA and found similar threads but for the G2, to my understanding they are very similar in many ways but I would like to confirm that the solution I found is ok for the gpad or if there is another workaround:
If you have ADB access, plug in your phone and run this:

adb shell
dd if=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota of=/sdcard/fota-backup.img
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
Then you should be able to successfully reboot your phone via the TWRP menu option, or via a simple reboot command in adb.(<- what is the reboot command btw?:P)

It also gives a solution without ADB but it doesn't concern me. Does anyone know if this procedure can be followed for the Gpad as well? is there something that must be altered?

Thank you for your patience
It does work in the solution given without adb, from TWRP itself. Just tried it, no data loss, no computer needed.
Phone:HTC Desire
ROM: CyanogenMod 9.1.0-ESP_ICS-bravo FINAL by djMesias
HBOOT: DATA++
Recovery: 4Ext Touch v1.0.0.4 RC3
Radio: 32.56.00.32U_5.17.05.23
--------------------------------------------
Tab: Motorola Xoom MZ6004 32gb
ROM: Team EOS 3 latest Nightly + Personalized GApps
Mod: Bigrushdog's Development Overlay 4 + BT5
Recovery: CWM Rogue Touch Recovery v1.5.0

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more

Organize Your Cloud Storage Files with Unclouded

Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive have grown in popularity dramatically … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Blur Your System Notification Panel – XDA Developer TV

Listen, we love innovative applications and modules that … more

Android 4.4.3 Begins Rolling Out to European HTC One M8

Shortly after the USA Unlocked and Developer Editions of the HTC One M8 received the … more