Post Reply

[Q]TWRP update boots only in TWRP

OP b3ava

7th February 2014, 03:10 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Hey I got a "system update" last night and once it was applied my gpad restarted in TWRP. It will not boot up into the OS.
I am running a rooted gpad with twerp and bone stock LG android(no custom rom of any sort)

I have looked into XDA and found similar threads but for the G2, to my understanding they are very similar in many ways but I would like to confirm that the solution I found is ok for the gpad or if there is another workaround:
If you have ADB access, plug in your phone and run this:

adb shell
dd if=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota of=/sdcard/fota-backup.img
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
Then you should be able to successfully reboot your phone via the TWRP menu option, or via a simple reboot command in adb.(<- what is the reboot command btw?:P)

It also gives a solution without ADB but it doesn't concern me. Does anyone know if this procedure can be followed for the Gpad as well? is there something that must be altered?

Thank you for your patience
7th February 2014, 05:57 PM   |  #2  
SnowPluralism's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Inside Your Mind
Thanks Meter: 1,391
 
1,677 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Will not hurt to try
The comand is:

Adb reboot

Enviado do meu GT-I9300 através de Tapatalk
7th February 2014, 07:58 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowPluralism

Will not hurt to try
The comand is:

Adb reboot

Enviado do meu GT-I9300 através de Tapatalk

guess so, thing is I have no idea what this code means and if its device specific to the G2. Just in case this makes more of a mess. Also wondering if flashing a custom rom on top would fix it
7th February 2014, 08:41 PM   |  #4  
SnowPluralism's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Inside Your Mind
Thanks Meter: 1,391
 
1,677 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Thats no code thats only adb comands
U can try it with zero to no hurt

And yes flashing custom or even just wiping data would do the trick

Enviado do meu GT-I9300 através de Tapatalk
8th February 2014, 01:59 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowPluralism

Thats no code thats only adb comands
U can try it with zero to no hurt

And yes flashing custom or even just wiping data would do the trick

Enviado do meu GT-I9300 através de Tapatalk

appreciate your help I'll give it a try in a couple of hours n report back bed time for me
8th February 2014, 04:20 PM   |  #6  
katsika's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 52
 
218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
if you ve got official rom with root or custom recovery OTAs wont work and they ll semibrick the gpad like in your case. The safe methods i know is either using lg mobile support tool to go back to full stock or flash a custom rom via the twrp.
8th February 2014, 08:01 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by katsika

if you ve got official rom with root or custom recovery OTAs wont work and they ll semibrick the gpad like in your case. The safe methods i know is either using lg mobile support tool to go back to full stock or flash a custom rom via the twrp.

Right cause I dont like the ADB method I have tried:
Factory reset-Didnt work
Full wipe (dalvic etc ) -Didnt work

Tried to install a stock based rom(forgot the name)-Did not work

I'll try 1 more rom and then if that doesnt work I'll try the ADB business and if that doesnt work try to revert back to bone stock
8th February 2014, 10:28 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
okay guys this is getting frustrating nothing works.

I downloaded the drivers for the gpad again, and I tried to use the lg software to flash stock recovery, but it wont find my device. has anyone experienced something similar or knows how to resolve this its getting really frustrating.
10th February 2014, 12:06 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by b3ava

okay guys this is getting frustrating nothing works.
I downloaded the drivers for the gpad again, and I tried to use the lg software to flash stock recovery, but it wont find my device. has anyone experienced something similar or knows how to resolve this its getting really frustrating.

I needed to be in download mode to be reconized by LG Mobile Support Tool (I downloaded and installed different versions of LG Mobile drivers too many times before to do the the right thing)

To enter download mode :
1. Turn off the tablet. (from TWRP menu )
2. Push vol+ and vol- same time. (both buttons + don't relase)
3. Insert usb cable (both buttons still pressed)
4. A small image DOWNLOAD MODE not so visible should appear on the tablet
5. Release both buttons.

LG Mobile Support Tool reconized my tablet and I could start the recovery (still waiting 1.5Gb to be downloaded)
18th April 2014, 01:22 AM   |  #10  
iruiz2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 114
 
239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by b3ava

Hey I got a "system update" last night and once it was applied my gpad restarted in TWRP. It will not boot up into the OS.
I am running a rooted gpad with twerp and bone stock LG android(no custom rom of any sort)

I have looked into XDA and found similar threads but for the G2, to my understanding they are very similar in many ways but I would like to confirm that the solution I found is ok for the gpad or if there is another workaround:
If you have ADB access, plug in your phone and run this:

adb shell
dd if=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota of=/sdcard/fota-backup.img
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
Then you should be able to successfully reboot your phone via the TWRP menu option, or via a simple reboot command in adb.(<- what is the reboot command btw?:P)

It also gives a solution without ADB but it doesn't concern me. Does anyone know if this procedure can be followed for the Gpad as well? is there something that must be altered?

Thank you for your patience

It does work in the solution given without adb, from TWRP itself. Just tried it, no data loss, no computer needed.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes