Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,397 Members 47,670 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Can't register rooted phone to Sprint's network

Tip us?
 
DriftingJesus
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default [Q] Can't register rooted phone to Sprint's network

Hi all,


So I've been S=off for a year or two and have jumped around between ROMs with no issues as far as sprints network is concerned.
I recently switched to T-Mobile (One M8!!) and decided to give my phone to my sis since she lost hers recently. She's on Sprint.

We've been able to register or "activate" the phone online and through the phone. The problem is that calls don't come through. We get getting the "we're sorry you're account couldn't be validated" message. Could it be that my prl is out of date? Do I need to unroot?? Any help is greatly welcomed.

Model: EVO
Android verison: 4.4.2
Baseband version: 1.12.11.0809
Kernal version: 3.4.82-g15c16ed build01@cyanogenmod #1 Fri Mar 28 23:45:5 PDT 2014
CyanogenMod version: 11-20140329-NIGHTLY-jewel
Build number: cm_jewel_userdebug 4.4. KVT29L d5e6ae85e4

PRL version: 25017

Thanks in advance for your help!
 
Captain_Throwback
Old
#2  
Captain_Throwback's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8639
Posts: 10,058
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bensalem, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
You have to be on a stock ROM to activate the device.
Device 1: HTC One (M8)/831C | Hardware Version: 0005

Baseband: 1.08.20.0612_4 | PRI: 2.62_003 | PRL: 56019
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0

Device 2: HTC Jewel/PJ75100 (EVO 4G LTE) | Hardware Version: 0003

Baseband: 1.13.11.1105 | PRI: 3.02_003 | PRL: 56018
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0b

Device 3: HTC Shooter/PG86100 (EVO 3D) | Hardware Version: 0002
Baseband: 1.09.00.0108 | PRI: 1.55_003 | PRL: 22100
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.0

Device 4: HTC Supersonic/PC36100 (EVO 4G) | Hardware Version: 0004
Baseband: 2.15.00.01.15 | PRI: 2.33_003 | PRL: 40460
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Captain_Throwback For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Evolution_Freak
Old
(Last edited by Evolution_Freak; 18th April 2014 at 01:06 AM.)
#3  
Evolution_Freak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 322
Posts: 590
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: East Stroudsburg
Quote:
Originally Posted by DriftingJesus View Post
Hi all,


So I've been S=off for a year or two and have jumped around between ROMs with no issues as far as sprints network is concerned.
I recently switched to T-Mobile (One M8!!) and decided to give my phone to my sis since she lost hers recently. She's on Sprint.

We've been able to register or "activate" the phone online and through the phone. The problem is that calls don't come through. We get getting the "we're sorry you're account couldn't be validated" message. Could it be that my prl is out of date? Do I need to unroot?? Any help is greatly welcomed.

Model: EVO
Android verison: 4.4.2
Baseband version: 1.12.11.0809
Kernal version: 3.4.82-g15c16ed build01@cyanogenmod #1 Fri Mar 28 23:45:5 PDT 2014
CyanogenMod version: 11-20140329-NIGHTLY-jewel
Build number: cm_jewel_userdebug 4.4. KVT29L d5e6ae85e4

PRL version: 25017

Thanks in advance for your help!
You probably need to flash a stock, sense based ROM to complete activation.


Edit: I see Captain answered just as I did.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
In the age of information, ignorance is a choice.
 
DriftingJesus
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thanks for your help!

Are the stock ROMs available here?
 
Magnum_Enforcer
Old
#5  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1796
Posts: 3,362
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Birmingham, AL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by DriftingJesus View Post
Thanks for your help!

Are the stock ROMs available here?
Practically any Sense ROM will work. Just take a look in the development thread and find one to flash. It's highly advised to keep a Sense ROM backup handy in case of future issues. There are things you can do on a Sense ROM that you cannot do on a AOSP ROM like CM.

If you're on the old partition setup you can flash the ROM from this thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2468418

Sent from my HTC device
The Following User Says Thank You to Magnum_Enforcer For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes