Would The LG G4 Fare Well With The Snapdragon 808?

The LG G4 has a lot to prove, given that last year’s LG G3 was among the best … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Android One

Android One devices once again got a pretty stable release of Android 5.1. XDA Recognized … more

DexPatcher: Patch Android APKs Using Java

You’ve probably seen or installed modified applications, be it a patched dialer for your … more

Is Cloud Storage Ready to Replace External Storage?

With more and more OEMs ditching SD cards on their flagships, cloud storage is … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Google Play Store Error Fix:Can't Edit Hosts File.HELP!?

15th April 2014, 07:35 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
So I wanna Know If anyone can help me with this issue I have.I know, from YouTube video's, that the hosts file isn't supposed to look like the screen shot I took.Does anyone know how to fix this? I think it's from The Adfree Apk, that I installed before I Factory reset My Samsung Galaxy S3.&that has me thinking because I reset it and its showing that in the hosts file.Help anyone? I dont want to reset my phone again
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-14-23-27-33.png
Views:	127
Size:	168.0 KB
ID:	2687372  
15th April 2014, 08:39 AM |#2  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,561
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Copy one from stock rom. You need root to access it. Factory reset won't affect the hosts file as its on the /system partition.
15th April 2014, 07:26 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77

Copy one from stock rom. You need root to access it. Factory reset won't affect the hosts file as its on the /system partition.

Can you be more specific please? I don't know much about this
15th April 2014, 10:25 PM |#4  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,561
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Download a stock rom. Unzip and copy its hosts file over your current one.
Or have you tried reinstalling the app? I'd expect it would be able to restore the original...

Factory reset only wipes the data partition. Hosts is in the system partition so factory resetting will have no effect.

---------- Post added at 04:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:24 PM ----------

If all else fails you can reflash your rom, or flash stock firmware via odin.
16th April 2014, 02:06 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77

Download a stock rom. Unzip and copy its hosts file over your current one.
Or have you tried reinstalling the app? I'd expect it would be able to restore the original...

Factory reset only wipes the data partition. Hosts is in the system partition so factory resetting will have no effect.

---------- Post added at 04:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:24 PM ----------

If all else fails you can reflash your rom, or flash stock firmware via odin.

Im sorry but can you give me a link to download The rom ? I have a T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S3
16th April 2014, 05:08 AM |#6  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,561
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
StockMod is a good one to use. Usually on page 1 of development section.
18th April 2014, 07:52 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77

StockMod is a good one to use. Usually on page 1 of development section.

What do I do after the download finishes? Thanks for the help, hope you can keep helping me
18th April 2014, 07:55 AM |#8  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,561
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Unzip it, copy the hosts file from inside over the one on your device.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes