Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,846 Members 39,716 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Google Play Store Error Fix:Can't Edit Hosts File.HELP!?

Tip us?
 
xBenefits
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default [Q] Google Play Store Error Fix:Can't Edit Hosts File.HELP!?

So I wanna Know If anyone can help me with this issue I have.I know, from YouTube video's, that the hosts file isn't supposed to look like the screen shot I took.Does anyone know how to fix this? I think it's from The Adfree Apk, that I installed before I Factory reset My Samsung Galaxy S3.&that has me thinking because I reset it and its showing that in the hosts file.Help anyone? I dont want to reset my phone again
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-14-23-27-33.png
Views:	49
Size:	168.0 KB
ID:	2687372  
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#2  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5481
Posts: 8,091
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Copy one from stock rom. You need root to access it. Factory reset won't affect the hosts file as its on the /system partition.
 
xBenefits
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77 View Post
Copy one from stock rom. You need root to access it. Factory reset won't affect the hosts file as its on the /system partition.
Can you be more specific please? I don't know much about this
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#4  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5481
Posts: 8,091
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Download a stock rom. Unzip and copy its hosts file over your current one.
Or have you tried reinstalling the app? I'd expect it would be able to restore the original...

Factory reset only wipes the data partition. Hosts is in the system partition so factory resetting will have no effect.

---------- Post added at 04:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:24 PM ----------

If all else fails you can reflash your rom, or flash stock firmware via odin.
 
xBenefits
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77 View Post
Download a stock rom. Unzip and copy its hosts file over your current one.
Or have you tried reinstalling the app? I'd expect it would be able to restore the original...

Factory reset only wipes the data partition. Hosts is in the system partition so factory resetting will have no effect.

---------- Post added at 04:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:24 PM ----------

If all else fails you can reflash your rom, or flash stock firmware via odin.
Im sorry but can you give me a link to download The rom ? I have a T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S3
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#6  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5481
Posts: 8,091
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
StockMod is a good one to use. Usually on page 1 of development section.
 
xBenefits
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77 View Post
StockMod is a good one to use. Usually on page 1 of development section.
What do I do after the download finishes? Thanks for the help, hope you can keep helping me
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#8  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5481
Posts: 8,091
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Unzip it, copy the hosts file from inside over the one on your device.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add Timestamps to Xposed Installer Logs with… Xposed!

If talking about the most interesting projects in the last few years, we must … more

Secrecy Goes Open Source, Assures File Encryption

As some of you may remember, a while back we spoke about Secrecy, an effective file … more

[APK] Google News and Weather Gets Material Design Makeover, Minor Maps Updates

Although Google has somewhat gotten out of the habit of their … more

Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more