Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,713 Members 39,175 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Cross flashing SGH-I337M with I9505 firmware?

Tip us?
 
adamh128
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default [Q] Cross flashing SGH-I337M with I9505 firmware?

I want to use my SGH-I337M in the UK - the phone is unlocked and I have a UK O2 4G SIM. GSM and UMTS seem to work ok, but I can't get LTE to work

Do I need to (and is it possible) to cross flash with a UK model (i.e. I9505) firmware?

Any help will be much appreciated.
 
DeadlySin9
Old
#2  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 620
Posts: 1,240
Join Date: Sep 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamh128 View Post
I want to use my SGH-I337M in the UK - the phone is unlocked and I have a UK O2 4G SIM. GSM and UMTS seem to work ok, but I can't get LTE to work

Do I need to (and is it possible) to cross flash with a UK model (i.e. I9505) firmware?

Any help will be much appreciated.
You can't flash their official firmware, you can flash their ROM. I'd say check your carrier's LTE APN first, it may be putting in one that doesn't connect to LTE. Otherwise, your phone may not have the LTE band in it's radio, or it just doesn't like you ;P
Current Device: ATT Samsung Galaxy S4 (i337)

Past Devices:
Droid Bionic (GSM Hacked)
HTC Inspire 4G (Desire HD)
Nexus One
Motorola Backflip
HTC Dev Phone 1 (Dream/G1)
 
adamh128
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9 View Post
You can't flash their official firmware, you can flash their ROM. I'd say check your carrier's LTE APN first, it may be putting in one that doesn't connect to LTE. Otherwise, your phone may not have the LTE band in it's radio, or it just doesn't like you ;P


The LTE configuration that O2 uses is:
800MHz, band 20, FDD
The phone was bought in Mexico, and Samsungs Mexican site says:
LTE (700 / 850 / AWS / 1,900 / 2,100 / 2,600 MHz)
However, the Canadian site says:
LTE Cat 3 (800 / 850 / 900 / 1800 / 2100 / 2600 MHz) * Dependent on market
So I suspect the hardware supports 800MHz no problem, but perhaps it's not configured for that out of the box - do you think I would need to flash another ROM or baseband to get this support?

Thanks.
 
Gage_Hero
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 190
Posts: 1,144
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamh128 View Post


The LTE configuration that O2 uses is:
800MHz, band 20, FDD
The phone was bought in Mexico, and Samsungs Mexican site says:
LTE (700 / 850 / AWS / 1,900 / 2,100 / 2,600 MHz)
However, the Canadian site says:
LTE Cat 3 (800 / 850 / 900 / 1800 / 2100 / 2600 MHz) * Dependent on market
So I suspect the hardware supports 800MHz no problem, but perhaps it's not configured for that out of the box - do you think I would need to flash another ROM or baseband to get this support?

Thanks.
If you can make calls but not get data, I would say you have something going on with the APN settings, do you see an APN for O2?
Telus Galaxy S4 - Stock 4.3 to
[ROM] Maple leaf iBASTiD if ya aint tried it.... you should... Go Canada... Go iBASTiD......
 
adamh128
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gage_Hero View Post
If you can make calls but not get data, I would say you have something going on with the APN settings, do you see an APN for O2?
I can get 2G and 3G data no problem, but I can never connect to a 4G network even for calls.
The APN I have set has the following settings:
APN mobile.o2.co.uk
Proxy 193.113.200.195
Port 8080
Username o2web
Server not set
MMSC proxy not set
MMS port not set
MCC 234
MNC 10
Authentication type PAP
APN type default,soul
Bearer LTE
Mobile virtual network operator type none
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes