Post Reply

[Q] Cross flashing SGH-I337M with I9505 firmware?

OP adamh128

15th April 2014, 04:28 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
I want to use my SGH-I337M in the UK - the phone is unlocked and I have a UK O2 4G SIM. GSM and UMTS seem to work ok, but I can't get LTE to work

Do I need to (and is it possible) to cross flash with a UK model (i.e. I9505) firmware?

Any help will be much appreciated.
17th April 2014, 03:19 AM   |  #2  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 635
 
1,265 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamh128

I want to use my SGH-I337M in the UK - the phone is unlocked and I have a UK O2 4G SIM. GSM and UMTS seem to work ok, but I can't get LTE to work

Do I need to (and is it possible) to cross flash with a UK model (i.e. I9505) firmware?

Any help will be much appreciated.

You can't flash their official firmware, you can flash their ROM. I'd say check your carrier's LTE APN first, it may be putting in one that doesn't connect to LTE. Otherwise, your phone may not have the LTE band in it's radio, or it just doesn't like you ;P
17th April 2014, 09:57 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9

You can't flash their official firmware, you can flash their ROM. I'd say check your carrier's LTE APN first, it may be putting in one that doesn't connect to LTE. Otherwise, your phone may not have the LTE band in it's radio, or it just doesn't like you ;P



The LTE configuration that O2 uses is:
800MHz, band 20, FDD
The phone was bought in Mexico, and Samsungs Mexican site says:
LTE (700 / 850 / AWS / 1,900 / 2,100 / 2,600 MHz)
However, the Canadian site says:
LTE Cat 3 (800 / 850 / 900 / 1800 / 2100 / 2600 MHz) * Dependent on market
So I suspect the hardware supports 800MHz no problem, but perhaps it's not configured for that out of the box - do you think I would need to flash another ROM or baseband to get this support?

Thanks.
17th April 2014, 08:38 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 192
 
1,152 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamh128



The LTE configuration that O2 uses is:

800MHz, band 20, FDD
The phone was bought in Mexico, and Samsungs Mexican site says:
LTE (700 / 850 / AWS / 1,900 / 2,100 / 2,600 MHz)
However, the Canadian site says:
LTE Cat 3 (800 / 850 / 900 / 1800 / 2100 / 2600 MHz) * Dependent on market
So I suspect the hardware supports 800MHz no problem, but perhaps it's not configured for that out of the box - do you think I would need to flash another ROM or baseband to get this support?

Thanks.

If you can make calls but not get data, I would say you have something going on with the APN settings, do you see an APN for O2?
18th April 2014, 01:45 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gage_Hero

If you can make calls but not get data, I would say you have something going on with the APN settings, do you see an APN for O2?

I can get 2G and 3G data no problem, but I can never connect to a 4G network even for calls.
The APN I have set has the following settings:
APN mobile.o2.co.uk
Proxy 193.113.200.195
Port 8080
Username o2web
Server not set
MMSC proxy not set
MMS port not set
MCC 234
MNC 10
Authentication type PAP
APN type default,soul
Bearer LTE
Mobile virtual network operator type none
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes