Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,761 Members 41,865 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Can't SIM unlock on CM9 & Can't boot into stock rom backup

Tip us?
 
Silico1991
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Phone [Q] Can't SIM unlock on CM9 & Can't boot into stock rom backup

I really need help with my HTC Sensation guys, here is where I am at;

I got a new phone and I wanted to give my HTC sensation to my dear old mum () but she is on 02 (UK). So when I put her sim in it asks for the network unlock code, thats fine.

So I got the code online and put it in, says sucessful but then does nothing, which according to THIS THREAD is because I am running Cyanogenmod 9 which is a non Sense rom.

I booted into recovery (4EXT), Factory reset + Wipe Cache + dalvik, then restored my backup from before I installed Cyanogen (Stock ROM).

However, and this is where I run out of ideas, it just hangs on the "HTC Quietly brilliant" screen...

I read in THIS THREAD that it could be a kernel issue, so I also tried with the 3.32 kernel from THIS THREAD but no dice.

On a side note, I tried a few other roms, including the stock rom from step 2 in THIS THREAD, they all freeze up at the boot animation as well. The stock rom one makes a sound like it is trying to play the startup noise but then changes its mind.

So as a last resort I tried to find the RUU for my firmware and carrier which should be 3.32.771, but of course it doesn't exist. All I can find is 1.34.771 which would just throw an error...

Any help would be very much appreciated.

My phone details;

HTC Sensation
Bootloader UNLOCKED
S-ON
Recovery: 4EXT
Running: CM9

I also attached a fastboot getvar all output.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	10
Size:	12.1 KB
ID:	2693894  
 
rzr86
Old
#2  
rzr86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1957
Posts: 6,596
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Nafpaktos
what recovery do you have?
use 4ext recovery(if you don't have it already) and enable smartflash from it before flashing any rom or restore any backup

DEVICE: HTC Sensation Z710e
PREVIOUS ROM:Rooted Stock Rom ICS Sence 3.6 Revelation 1.0.3 JB Sense 4+ ViperS 3.1.4 JB Sense 4+
CURRENT ROM:ViperS 5.2.1 JB Sense 5 | Sense 6 Blinkfeed
FIRMWARE:3.32.401.5
PREVIOUS KERNEL:Overclocked kernel v1.5.2 by SebastianFM
CURRENT KERNEL:kernel 3.4.10 by SebastianFM
BOOTLOADER:unlocked
HBOOT VERSION:1.27.0000
RECOVERY:4EXT recovery touch v.1.0.0.6 RC3 testing build: 8
S-OFF
The Following User Says Thank You to rzr86 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Silico1991
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by rzr86 View Post
what recovery do you have?
use 4ext recovery(if you don't have it already) and enable smartflash from it before flashing any rom or restore any backup
+1 Internet's to you sir.

I wiped the cache, dalvik and data. Then turned smartflash on in ext4 tools before I restored the stock ROM and it works! It even unlocks and works with o2 now.

Thank you very much.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes