Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Problems calling with multiple ROMs

OP evilwoodchuck

18th April 2014, 12:01 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Hi Guys,

I have a Samsung Galaxy S3 SGH-T999 (Tmobile). When I had the stock ROM the phone worked fine, but now I am having the same issue with multiple ROMs.

Whenever I make or receive a phone call, the screen turns black (LED off and everything) and it will not come back on until the other person has hung up (I can't, because I have no buttons). I have tried Cyanogenmod 10.2.1 stable, Cyanogen mod 11 nightly (newest), and Paranoid Android 4.4.2 BETA 3.

I read on another forum that this may have something to do with the proximity sensor, and I went to settings>devices>more and under "Sensors and Motors" there is only vibrator intensity. I also checked the call app settings and there are not any options relating to proximity sensor. I also tried several USSD codes to check that which I found online but have been unsuccessful in getting any of those to work.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

EvilWoodchuck
18th April 2014, 03:32 PM   |  #2  
Perseus's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 4,717
 
7,723 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Try a CM 11 Stable (Don't go for latest nightly but the last stable) and recalibrate your Sensors. Make a CLEAN install no restoring apps or data. Also do you happen to have any Kernel tweaks of any sort ?

Last but not least, try a single light tap on Power button. That will bring the screen back.
18th April 2014, 06:42 PM   |  #3  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,497
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
If that fails, odin full stock firmware to see if it helps. If not its likely a faulty sensor. Easy and cheap to fix surprisingly.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
18th April 2014, 08:26 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71

Try a CM 11 Stable (Don't go for latest nightly but the last stable) and recalibrate your Sensors. Make a CLEAN install no restoring apps or data. Also do you happen to have any Kernel tweaks of any sort ?

Last but not least, try a single light tap on Power button. That will bring the screen back.

Got it working, had to manually recalibrate the proximity sensor with terminal emulator. Thanks for the help guys

Edit:

I am not able to post links yet, but here is the method used for recalibration if anyone needs it (credit to Viraj Kshatriya of androidlegend.com):

Prerequisites:
1. Enable USB Debugging
2. Root Access
3. Terminal Emulator

All commands will be done in terminal emulator as Root:

1. Enter superuser mode
su <enter>
2. Obtain offset value
cat /sys/devices/virtual/sensors/proximity_sensor/prox_cal <enter>
This will return a few numbers, the first one is your offset value
3. Obtain normal value
cat /sys/devices/virtual/sensors/proximity_sensor/state <enter>
This will return one number, this is your normal value
4. Modify /efs/prox_cal
Take your offset value, and add it with your normal value
Convert sum of these to hexadecimal
echo -en $ '\x**' > /efs/prox_cal (** being your hexadecimal number from above step) <enter>
chown system:system /efs/prox_cal <enter>
chmod 644 /efs/prox_cal <enter>
sync <enter>
reboot <enter>
5. Wait for phone to reboot and you should be good to go!!!


EvilWoodchuck
Last edited by evilwoodchuck; 18th April 2014 at 08:41 PM. Reason: Add info for other users who may need fix method
18th April 2014, 08:36 PM   |  #5  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,497
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Care to share how you did that exactly? Good job getting it to work!
I am curious and im sure itll help others in the future though.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
18th April 2014, 08:52 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
See edit

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to evilwoodchuck For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes