Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,170 Members 49,358 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Am I screwed without a sim card?

Tip us?
 
joelshort
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 122
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default [Q] Am I screwed without a sim card?

I just bought a Verizon GS3 on craigslist, but it didn't come with a sim card and in my ignorance I didn't know it needed one. I don't have a verizon account and I want to use this phone on pageplus. So is a sim card necessary, or can I get a sim card somewhere without having a verizon account?
 
dmginc
Old
#2  
dmginc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 136
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago
It's an LTE sim card. Not a true sim card. It's still a CDMA phone.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Devices:
iPhone 3GS (AT&T) - unlocked & sold.
Motorola Atrix 4G (AT&T) - sold.
iPhone 4S (AT&T) - unlocked & sold.
Galaxy S3 (VZW) - rooted & running CyanogenMod.
Nexus 7 (2013 WiFi) - running stock.
 
joelshort
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 122
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmginc View Post
It's an LTE sim card. Not a true sim card. It's still a CDMA phone.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Sorry for my ignorance, but I have no idea what this means. Can I use this phone without a sim card in it on pageplus?
 
dmginc
Old
#4  
dmginc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 136
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by joelshort View Post
Sorry for my ignorance, but I have no idea what this means. Can I use this phone without a sim card in it on pageplus?
I'm not sure if pageplus uses sim card or CDMA phones. For example, at&t is all GSM (sim card), their phones won't work on Verizon (CDMA) and vice versa.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Devices:
iPhone 3GS (AT&T) - unlocked & sold.
Motorola Atrix 4G (AT&T) - sold.
iPhone 4S (AT&T) - unlocked & sold.
Galaxy S3 (VZW) - rooted & running CyanogenMod.
Nexus 7 (2013 WiFi) - running stock.
 
joelshort
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 122
Join Date: Aug 2010
Pageplus is CDMA, it uses Verizon's network. Without a sim card in the phone it doesn't seem to be able to find a network...but what do I know
 
ThePagel
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 331
Posts: 597
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Minneapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmginc View Post
I'm not sure if pageplus uses sim card or CDMA phones. For example, at&t is all GSM (sim card), their phones won't work on Verizon (CDMA) and vice versa.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
You can have this phone on gsm. If you put a normal sim into the lte sim slot you can use other networks. The downside is you will not get 4g or in some cases you wont even get 3g.
ADB Only (Windows)
ADB Only (Linux) <-- Plus instructions
 
dmginc
Old
#7  
dmginc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 136
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePagel View Post
You can have this phone on gsm. If you put a normal sim into the lte sim slot you can use other networks. The downside is you will not get 4g or in some cases you wont even get 3g.
So you can 'technically' have it on gsm.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Devices:
iPhone 3GS (AT&T) - unlocked & sold.
Motorola Atrix 4G (AT&T) - sold.
iPhone 4S (AT&T) - unlocked & sold.
Galaxy S3 (VZW) - rooted & running CyanogenMod.
Nexus 7 (2013 WiFi) - running stock.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Blast Those Flags with Knock the Flags

Lately, we have seen a rather drastic shift in the world of mobile device gaming. The infamous Angry … more

Hide Numbers on Your SMS and Call Logs with Reflection

How many times have you given your device to someone else in order to show them a … more

Implement Split View in Your LG G2 KitKat Rom with Automated Installer

Some of you may have remembered a story on the Portal a few weeks back … more