FORUMS

Samsung Galaxy Alpha (SM-G850) Gets Android 5.0

An Android 5.0 Lollipop update is finally available to download for the Samsung Galaxy … more

Do You Use 4:3 or 16:9 in the Camera App?

Every person has their own method of taking the best photos on their devices, but which aspect … more

LG G4 XDA Forum Opened

LG’s latest & greatest is just a few hours away from launching, and with so many power users that are … more

Android Wear Close to Running on Samsung Gear 2

Android is an OS that can sometimes be ported to run on devices not designed to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Am I screwed without a sim card?

18th April 2014, 08:05 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I just bought a Verizon GS3 on craigslist, but it didn't come with a sim card and in my ignorance I didn't know it needed one. I don't have a verizon account and I want to use this phone on pageplus. So is a sim card necessary, or can I get a sim card somewhere without having a verizon account?
 
 
18th April 2014, 09:02 PM |#2  
dmginc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
It's an LTE sim card. Not a true sim card. It's still a CDMA phone.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
18th April 2014, 09:15 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmginc

It's an LTE sim card. Not a true sim card. It's still a CDMA phone.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Sorry for my ignorance, but I have no idea what this means. Can I use this phone without a sim card in it on pageplus?
18th April 2014, 09:20 PM |#4  
dmginc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joelshort

Sorry for my ignorance, but I have no idea what this means. Can I use this phone without a sim card in it on pageplus?

I'm not sure if pageplus uses sim card or CDMA phones. For example, at&t is all GSM (sim card), their phones won't work on Verizon (CDMA) and vice versa.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
18th April 2014, 09:22 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Pageplus is CDMA, it uses Verizon's network. Without a sim card in the phone it doesn't seem to be able to find a network...but what do I know
18th April 2014, 09:56 PM |#6  
ThePagel's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 666
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmginc

I'm not sure if pageplus uses sim card or CDMA phones. For example, at&t is all GSM (sim card), their phones won't work on Verizon (CDMA) and vice versa.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

You can have this phone on gsm. If you put a normal sim into the lte sim slot you can use other networks. The downside is you will not get 4g or in some cases you wont even get 3g.
18th April 2014, 09:58 PM |#7  
dmginc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePagel

You can have this phone on gsm. If you put a normal sim into the lte sim slot you can use other networks. The downside is you will not get 4g or in some cases you wont even get 3g.

So you can 'technically' have it on gsm.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes