Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more

Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more

Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more
Post Reply

[Q] Am I screwed without a sim card?

OP joelshort

18th April 2014, 08:05 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I just bought a Verizon GS3 on craigslist, but it didn't come with a sim card and in my ignorance I didn't know it needed one. I don't have a verizon account and I want to use this phone on pageplus. So is a sim card necessary, or can I get a sim card somewhere without having a verizon account?
18th April 2014, 09:02 PM   |  #2  
dmginc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 28
 
156 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
It's an LTE sim card. Not a true sim card. It's still a CDMA phone.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
18th April 2014, 09:15 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmginc

It's an LTE sim card. Not a true sim card. It's still a CDMA phone.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Sorry for my ignorance, but I have no idea what this means. Can I use this phone without a sim card in it on pageplus?
18th April 2014, 09:20 PM   |  #4  
dmginc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 28
 
156 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joelshort

Sorry for my ignorance, but I have no idea what this means. Can I use this phone without a sim card in it on pageplus?

I'm not sure if pageplus uses sim card or CDMA phones. For example, at&t is all GSM (sim card), their phones won't work on Verizon (CDMA) and vice versa.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
18th April 2014, 09:22 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Pageplus is CDMA, it uses Verizon's network. Without a sim card in the phone it doesn't seem to be able to find a network...but what do I know
18th April 2014, 09:56 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 539
 
933 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmginc

I'm not sure if pageplus uses sim card or CDMA phones. For example, at&t is all GSM (sim card), their phones won't work on Verizon (CDMA) and vice versa.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

You can have this phone on gsm. If you put a normal sim into the lte sim slot you can use other networks. The downside is you will not get 4g or in some cases you wont even get 3g.
18th April 2014, 09:58 PM   |  #7  
dmginc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 28
 
156 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePagel

You can have this phone on gsm. If you put a normal sim into the lte sim slot you can use other networks. The downside is you will not get 4g or in some cases you wont even get 3g.

So you can 'technically' have it on gsm.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank