Nova Launcher Update Brings Lollipop Functionality and Feel

One of the most popular third party launcher on Android, Nova Launcher, has just … more

Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more
Post Reply

Going back to stock help

OP scojosmac

18th April 2014, 01:28 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
I'm hoping someone / you guys can help me.

Ever since I did the 4.4.2 update, my phone has been brutally slow and killing the battery and overall just a POS. I looked for wakelocks, screen is extremely low etc. I'm just sick of it to be frank. So I'm hoping to wipe everything, format the sd card and completely fresh as if it were a brand new phone.

From spending the last 3 hours researching, I can't seem to find what I'm looking for. ( maybe I'm overlooking it with my lack of sleep since we have a 8 week old )

From my understanding, I can't downgrade to an older firmware cause of knox. ( I would love to do this, so then I can root it and put on knoxraid or some other rom so I don't have all this bloatware etc )


Now with that being said, since I can't downgrade, I also can't replace my phone since I can't find the 4.4.2 files to odin my phone. I can find the mj5 files, but not the NC2 ( I think those are it )


Can someone please help me here, my sanity is running thin ( again, lack of sleep )

Thank you in advance.
18th April 2014, 01:34 PM   |  #2  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 676
 
2,086 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scojosmac

I'm hoping someone / you guys can help me.

Ever since I did the 4.4.2 update, my phone has been brutally slow and killing the battery and overall just a POS. I looked for wakelocks, screen is extremely low etc. I'm just sick of it to be frank. So I'm hoping to wipe everything, format the sd card and completely fresh as if it were a brand new phone.

From spending the last 3 hours researching, I can't seem to find what I'm looking for. ( maybe I'm overlooking it with my lack of sleep since we have a 8 week old )

From my understanding, I can't downgrade to an older firmware cause of knox. ( I would love to do this, so then I can root it and put on knoxraid or some other rom so I don't have all this bloatware etc )


Now with that being said, since I can't downgrade, I also can't replace my phone since I can't find the 4.4.2 files to odin my phone. I can find the mj5 files, but not the NC2 ( I think those are it )


Can someone please help me here, my sanity is running thin ( again, lack of sleep )

Thank you in advance.

there are no oden files for 4.4.2 you have a couple of things you can try go to settings,general and backup and reset and do a factory reset or go to best buy or a att service center and have them reflash the 4.4.2 firmware
18th April 2014, 01:44 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrycoffman45

there are no oden files for 4.4.2 you have a couple of things you can try go to settings,general and backup and reset and do a factory reset or go to best buy or a att service center and have them reflash the 4.4.2 firmware

So to confirm, Best Buy or AT&T can flash it? I pretty much can just go in there and say " Hey can you reflash my phone?"
18th April 2014, 02:05 PM   |  #4  
147aaron's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 156
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scojosmac

So to confirm, Best Buy or AT&T can flash it? I pretty much can just go in there and say " Hey can you reflash my phone?"

From what I have heard the employees in the samsung experience shop inside of bestbuy have a tool that can reflash the phone. Make sure to call ahead before you go into the store. Explain to them whats going on and ask them if they are able to reflash the stock version on the phone.

If your phone says that its rooted they are not allowed to do the flash.

If they do not have the software my recommendation would be to contact ATT. Since it is a software issue the phone will be covered without that warranty that you pay monthly for. So they will ship you out a refurbished (like new) phone and then you will send yours to them.

EDIT :
And also the ATT service centers do not have the tool to reflash your phone. Only Samsung has access to that. ATT service center will just give you a number to call to have them ship you out a phone.
Last edited by 147aaron; 18th April 2014 at 02:07 PM.
18th April 2014, 02:19 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Thank you Aaron, I appreciate it

Quote:
Originally Posted by 147aaron

From what I have heard the employees in the samsung experience shop inside of bestbuy have a tool that can reflash the phone. Make sure to call ahead before you go into the store. Explain to them whats going on and ask them if they are able to reflash the stock version on the phone.

If your phone says that its rooted they are not allowed to do the flash.

If they do not have the software my recommendation would be to contact ATT. Since it is a software issue the phone will be covered without that warranty that you pay monthly for. So they will ship you out a refurbished (like new) phone and then you will send yours to them.

EDIT :
And also the ATT service centers do not have the tool to reflash your phone. Only Samsung has access to that. ATT service center will just give you a number to call to have them ship you out a phone.

18th April 2014, 02:20 PM   |  #6  
joe3681's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Laporte, IN
Thanks Meter: 539
 
2,505 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
I've been to Samsung smart station at Best Buy:

1. Being on MLG 442 it said that being up to date it couldn't flash
2. The rep "said" that since it was previously rooted it wouldn't allow the flash anyway

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
18th April 2014, 03:47 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
there is adb sideload of the ATT OTA update

device must have NB4 or NC2 otherwise update aborted due to expected fingerprint not seen by the OTA such as MLG or MJ5 MI9 MI1

if rooted or not will not matter it's the fingerprint = NB4 or NC2 to get stock 442 OTA
Last edited by mixilplic; 18th April 2014 at 04:00 PM.
18th April 2014, 09:02 PM   |  #8  
zacharyt86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Decatur, IL
Thanks Meter: 33
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mixilplic

there is adb sideload of the ATT OTA update

device must have NB4 or NC2 otherwise update aborted due to expected fingerprint not seen by the OTA such as MLG or MJ5 MI9 MI1

if rooted or not will not matter it's the fingerprint = NB4 or NC2 to get stock 442 OTA

I've been looking everywhere for this as well, do you have a link?
18th April 2014, 10:30 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by zacharyt86

I've been looking everywhere for this as well, do you have a link?

not certain what i can link ya to..but

for myself dwnlded

http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html

there are probably more appropriate versions on the forums to install adb to windows seen even one with a GUI being worked on

some youtube videos searched showed setting in DEV mode to turn on usb debugging & change security settings

booted the phone to recovery select adb & plugged in the usb

run adb.exe from a command prompt on windows

got the OTA from thread

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2686652

hope this helps

ya payz yer moniez an takes yer chanskiz
The Following User Says Thank You to mixilplic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2014, 02:10 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn, N.Y.
Thanks Meter: 298
 
618 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scojosmac

Can someone please help me here, my sanity is running thin ( again, lack of sleep )

Thank you in advance.

I was having problems also... Just do a factory reset and then do a wipe in recovery mode and you'll be good to go. I got a brand new phone from AT&T service center, came on MJ5 - I installed some apps and setup the phone before I could get on wifi, updated to kitkat when I got home and I had issues all over again. A simple reset works.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes