Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,915 Members 37,119 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] third party roms wont install

Tip us?
 
surround hacker
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: May 2011
Location: edmonton
Default [Q] third party roms wont install

does anyone know what could cause the fact that i cant flash any kernels or roms onto my wildfire s. It is rooted and unlocked flashed with clockwork recovery. I just need something to speed it up a bit its too laggy.
 
aWFSuser
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 112
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Howrah
Quote:
Originally Posted by surround hacker View Post
does anyone know what could cause the fact that i cant flash any kernels or roms onto my wildfire s. It is rooted and unlocked flashed with clockwork recovery. I just need something to speed it up a bit its too laggy.
Could you be a bit elaborate.......like what ROM you tried to install and exactly how you tried to install it. It would help.
 
surround hacker
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: May 2011
Location: edmonton
Quote:
Originally Posted by aWFSuser View Post
Could you be a bit elaborate.......like what ROM you tried to install and exactly how you tried to install it. It would help.
i used clockwork and rom manager to try to install, as well as made sure all the caches were cleaned

dust kernel 8.8 to 9.0

coolglass v.1

superior sence v4 deodex
 
aWFSuser
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 112
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Howrah
Quote:
Originally Posted by surround hacker View Post
i used clockwork and rom manager to try to install, as well as made sure all the caches were cleaned

dust kernel 8.8 to 9.0

coolglass v.1

superior sence v4 deodex
you may try to install it through the recovery. Download the zip file, go into recovery, wipe data & cache, install the zip and reboot. See if it works.
By the way your device is not CDMA right because the rom you tried will not work there. Also by not installing what exactly happens?
 
surround hacker
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: May 2011
Location: edmonton
Quote:
Originally Posted by aWFSuser View Post
you may try to install it through the recovery. Download the zip file, go into recovery, wipe data & cache, install the zip and reboot. See if it works.
By the way your device is not CDMA right because the rom you tried will not work there. Also by not installing what exactly happens?
i used both and i dont believe its cdma it is a sim phone unlocked and im useing it on a another provider.( it was on bell but im useing on telus up here in canada)
 
aWFSuser
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 112
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Howrah
Quote:
Originally Posted by surround hacker View Post
i used both and i dont believe its cdma it is a sim phone unlocked and im useing it on a another provider.( it was on bell but im useing on telus up here in canada)

So by not installing what happens? When you install it it shows some error? Or it installs but would not boot? Also if it shows some error in recovery please mention it. And another way is to try another recovery like TWRP.
 
surround hacker
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: May 2011
Location: edmonton
Quote:
Originally Posted by aWFSuser View Post
So by not installing what happens? When you install it it shows some error? Or it installs but would not boot? Also if it shows some error in recovery please mention it. And another way is to try another recovery like TWRP.
it installs as far as i can tell and when the device reboots it stays on the htc boot screen and says nothing more then htc. No errors pop up no bricking nothing
 
aWFSuser
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 112
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Howrah
Quote:
Originally Posted by surround hacker View Post
it installs as far as i can tell and when the device reboots it stays on the htc boot screen and says nothing more then htc. No errors pop up no bricking nothing
It is bricking but just soft bricking. At first it should take some time during first boot but not more than 5-10 minutes. Are you sure you gave that time. and another alternative would to try with a different ROM. For gingerbread you may try sense 3.5 or any other rom.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Quick Control Panel Updated, Adds Notification Support

As some of you may remember, earlier this year we spoke about Quick Control Panel by … more

Narrate Makes Note Taking Efficient and Beautiful

Technology has put life on the fast track. Whether its travelling to multiple places or … more

Android App Review: How to Speed Up Your Android Phone – XDA Developer TV

Is your Android device running slow? Is your Android device … more

Make a Pre-Rooted Stock Sony ROMs in Just Few Clicks

Many usersdon’t see any particular reason to change out the stock firmware … more