Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,220 Members 45,560 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Kit Kat (Stock) Data issues

Tip us?
 
Hiya Buddy
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 53
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cambridge
Exclamation Kit Kat (Stock) Data issues

My phone seems to do this all too often on a daily basis. I check that I have no received emails, tweets, facebook notifications, etc. The problem is my data uplink arrow keeps flashing and it hangs there. This is usually remedied by putting my phone in Airplane mode and switching back it usually works but there have been times when I have empty bars with no data nothing, but it can be fixed by switching mobile network types from WCDA/GSM back to LTE. Anyway this can be fixed, or this actually a Kit Kat issue with the Note 3?

I'm on Stock Kit Kat Unrooted (unfortunately) because I updated before wanting to root and now I don't want to trip KNOX. I have also run a factory reset on my phone (through the bootloader) but it didn't fix the problem.

Is anybody else having this trouble with their Note 3?
 
dragonsamus
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 160
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: sacramento, ca
I have this issue too. I'm rooted on Darthstalker v6. It happens daily. I just toggle airplane mode on and off and wait ten seconds. I've reinstalled this rom twice and the issue is still there. Hopefully someone can help.
work hard, play harder
 
motog35
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 143
Join Date: Oct 2010
Same issue here! Stock, unrooted. Must be a kit kat issue, I don't remember having it on jelly bean.

Anyone else with the same issue? Chime in

Sent from my SM-N900T using xda app-developers app
 
louforgiveno
Old
(Last edited by louforgiveno; 12th April 2014 at 03:10 AM.)
#4  
louforgiveno's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 457
Posts: 1,415
Join Date: Jun 2010
Yup.....been noticing this happen too.....was hoping it was a tower issue soon to be resolved....starting to not sound that way....blah


P.S just started happening (or me noticing it) in the last 2 or so weeks
"I was looking back to see, If she was looking back to see, If I was looking back at her"
 
dobbs3x
Old
#5  
dobbs3x's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 142
Posts: 490
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

 
DONATE TO ME
It's a known bug in android 4.4.2. The new update 4.4.3 has a frequent data connection dropout fix in the change log. Hopefully we get some leak or something for it soon. Now that the s5 is out.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
 
dragonsamus
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 160
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: sacramento, ca
I didn't notice the data drop out until I tried a KitKat rom. When I restored back to the jellybean rom I was using the data drop out continued. So I ended up wiping and flashing the same jellybean rom and still notice the data drop outs.

Sent from my SM-N900T using xda app-developers app
work hard, play harder
 
satru
Old
(Last edited by satru; 20th April 2014 at 05:23 AM.)
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 301
Join Date: Apr 2008
I have the same issue from the last 4.4.2 update, when the phone is in standby for long time the data connection drop out, or time in time the phone scan the network and some time back to normal after some second or keep scanning and need reboot. when I check the network mode I found all option unselected, I select lte mode and the phone do not respond and have to reboot. I reinstalled 4.4.2 with kie and Odin but same issue . Samsung representative told me that the issue is from T-Mobile , that the phone is ok, and T-Mobile told me that the issue coming with the update from Samsung and affected to note 3 and s4. Who has the fault? my temporal free solution until the next update was replace the sim card in the T-Mobile store. I did yesterday and until now the phone have been ok with the data connection up all time. when it scan the network back to normal with not data drop out.
Last thing, go to wifi - advance option and I put disable (keep wifi on during sleep) and (always allow scanning) maybe these can avoid the scan the network time to time.
SGN2
Master Copy

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Forums Added for the Nvidia Shield Tablet and Sharp Aquos Crystal

Just a few days ago, wetook an in depth look at theNvidia Shield Tabletand … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.3 Lands on European HTC One M7

The secound release of the Android L Developer Previewmay be the new hotness for … more

Take a Perfectly Stable Shot with Open Camera

The camera app on our Android smartphones and tablets isn’t something we focus on all … more

Motorola Droid X Receives Almost Fully Functional KitKat Port

While we are all wondering when Google will decide to officially release … more