5,814,863 Members 47,916 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Are there issues with using roms based on a different firmware?

Tip us?
 
Joeysface
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2013
Default [Q] Are there issues with using roms based on a different firmware?

I am running the stock rom and flashed the new firmware last night ( 1.55.605.2 ) and am interested in running a rom that is based off of an older firmware. Is there any problem in doing this? Will it roll my firmware back to the old one?
 
sparky_005
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 207
Join Date: Apr 2014
I'm currently running the old version of SkyFall (1.3) based on the old firmware, and I updated my firmware today with no problems. So it should be fine, though ymmv. But whatever ROM you want to run will probably be updated soon anyway.

Sent from my VZW HTC One M8
 
hgoldner
Old
#3  
hgoldner's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 540
Posts: 2,075
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeysface View Post
I am running the stock rom and flashed the new firmware last night ( 1.55.605.2 ) and am interested in running a rom that is based off of an older firmware. Is there any problem in doing this? Will it roll my firmware back to the old one?
I can't remember exactly where I read it but somewhere in the myriads of posts about this OTA it is pointed out that with different hboots, recoveries, kernels and modifications to system files, framework etc. etc. it is almost inevitable that something may go awry.

If you have taken the trouble and time to migrate to a custom ROM, it usually makes sense to let your dev sort things out. On the other hand, if you aren't experiencing any problems with the new firmware, why roll back?

Beamed from the holodeck of my Nexus 7 FHD.
Verizon Wireless HTC One M8 - Rooted/S-Off
Firmware/Recovery/ROM: 2.21.605.2, TWRP, Skyfall
Asus Transformer TF300T - Rooted/unlocked
Firmware/Recovery/ROM: 10.6.1.27.5; TWRP; CROMI-X
Nexus 7 FHD (2013) - Rooted/locked - KitKat KTU84P (v4.4.4)
Chromecast - Rooted
Firmware/ROM:: FlashCast; Eureka ROM
Retired devices: HTC Rezound; Nexus 7 (2012); HTC Droid Incredible; Arnova 10 G2
The Following User Says Thank You to hgoldner For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Joeysface
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hgoldner View Post
I can't remember exactly where I read it but somewhere in the myriads of posts about this OTA it is pointed out that with different hboots, recoveries, kernels and modifications to system files, framework etc. etc. it is almost inevitable that something may go awry.

If you have taken the trouble and time to migrate to a custom ROM, it usually makes sense to let your dev sort things out. On the other hand, if you aren't experiencing any problems with the new firmware, why roll back?

Beamed from the holodeck of my Nexus 7 FHD.
It's not so much that I am having issues as I am wanting to try a rom that is showing based on the older firmware and I don't want to cause any issues with that. On a related note, I am running the stock rom currently and flashed the firmware that Santod posted in RUU but my firmware shows that it is still the 1.12.605.11 even though hboot shows me on 1.55.605.2. Did I botch something?
 
santod040
Old
(Last edited by santod040; 20th April 2014 at 05:53 AM.)
#5  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8,422
Posts: 6,247
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NorCal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeysface View Post
It's not so much that I am having issues as I am wanting to try a rom that is showing based on the older firmware and I don't want to cause any issues with that. On a related note, I am running the stock rom currently and flashed the firmware that Santod posted in RUU but my firmware shows that it is still the 1.12.605.11 even though hboot shows me on 1.55.605.2. Did I botch something?
See if my post here answers your question/concern.
I urge you to read more of that thread if you have more questions or concerns, as most of them have been answered there.

And for reference:
Old software with new firmware is almost always fine.
Running new software with old firmware is when real issues usually arise.
Current Devices: HTC Thunderbolt | HTC Droid DNA | HTC One - m7 | HTC One - m8


Follow me on Twitter
ULTIMATE WALLS WVGA Wallpaper Collection
Donations always appreciated! Never required!


The Following User Says Thank You to santod040 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Joeysface
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040 View Post
See if my post here answers your question/concern.
I urge you to read more of that thread if you have more questions or concerns, as most of them have been answered there.

And for reference:
Old software with new firmware is almost always fine.
Running new software with old firmware is when real issues usually arise.
Hey thanks for replying man, I haven't messed too much with manually flashing firmware and didn't want to screw something up. So does the OTA have some software elements to it as well because I've noticed that people who took it are showing the updated firmware and an "Official" or "Unofficial" status in their settings? I've read through a lot of the forums and saw the post you linked to I just wasn't sure if what you were referring to in that post was the same thing as flashing a rom that shows a specific firmware.
 
santod040
Old
(Last edited by santod040; 20th April 2014 at 06:30 AM.)
#7  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8,422
Posts: 6,247
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NorCal

 
DONATE TO ME
G
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeysface View Post
Hey thanks for replying man, I haven't messed too much with manually flashing firmware and didn't want to screw something up. So does the OTA have some software elements to it as well because I've noticed that people who took it are showing the updated firmware and an "Official" or "Unofficial" status in their settings? I've read through a lot of the forums and saw the post you linked to I just wasn't sure if what you were referring to in that post was the same thing as flashing a rom that shows a specific firmware.
Firmware is just firmware.
It's not a Rom. It's something that gets updated with the ota that cannot be flashed in a custom Rom.
So before updating to a newer software version based on the update it's best to flash the firmware as well or you just get the software and no firmware by flashing just the Rom.
The firmware is at a lower level on the device and persists through Rom flashing unless you take an ota or flash an ruu.
When running custom roms it's general rule of thumb not to take otas.
Less issues that way.
So to update everything like you would had you taken the ota, you flash firmware and software to be up to date.

In other words, I've provided the firmware part of the OTA.
You just need someone to post a rooted version of the software update now.
Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
Current Devices: HTC Thunderbolt | HTC Droid DNA | HTC One - m7 | HTC One - m8


Follow me on Twitter
ULTIMATE WALLS WVGA Wallpaper Collection
Donations always appreciated! Never required!



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Change the Style of Your Notifications with HeadsUp

Head Up notifications is one of these upcoming features that Android developers hid deep … more

Google Play Store to Show Price Ranges for In-App Purchases

Google recently announced a change to Google Play Store policy that requires … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Shut Up Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

So many different applications want to send us notifications that … more

Add Some Power to First Generation Snapdragon CPUs

Some older devices still remain very popular. Phones like theHTC Desire, Sony Ericsson … more