How Open Source Can Help Your Project w/ Ethan Yonker – BABBQ2014

People have finally recovered from this years Big Android BBQ … more

Add Frequency Bands to Your Qualcomm Device

Those of you who travel quite a bit undoubtedly own more than one device due to frequency band … more

More Android 5.0 Details Revealed, Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker – XDA TV

Google talks more about Android 5.0 Lollipop! That and much … more

Google Allows Search Queries To Interact With Apps

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings lots of new features that are quite useful for end users and … more
Post Reply

[Q] Are there issues with using roms based on a different firmware?

OP Joeysface

20th April 2014, 04:11 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
I am running the stock rom and flashed the new firmware last night ( 1.55.605.2 ) and am interested in running a rom that is based off of an older firmware. Is there any problem in doing this? Will it roll my firmware back to the old one?
20th April 2014, 05:06 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
I'm currently running the old version of SkyFall (1.3) based on the old firmware, and I updated my firmware today with no problems. So it should be fine, though ymmv. But whatever ROM you want to run will probably be updated soon anyway.

Sent from my VZW HTC One M8
20th April 2014, 05:37 AM   |  #3  
hgoldner's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southeastern Pennsylvania
Thanks Meter: 559
 
2,145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeysface

I am running the stock rom and flashed the new firmware last night ( 1.55.605.2 ) and am interested in running a rom that is based off of an older firmware. Is there any problem in doing this? Will it roll my firmware back to the old one?

I can't remember exactly where I read it but somewhere in the myriads of posts about this OTA it is pointed out that with different hboots, recoveries, kernels and modifications to system files, framework etc. etc. it is almost inevitable that something may go awry.

If you have taken the trouble and time to migrate to a custom ROM, it usually makes sense to let your dev sort things out. On the other hand, if you aren't experiencing any problems with the new firmware, why roll back?

Beamed from the holodeck of my Nexus 7 FHD.
The Following User Says Thank You to hgoldner For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th April 2014, 05:45 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hgoldner

I can't remember exactly where I read it but somewhere in the myriads of posts about this OTA it is pointed out that with different hboots, recoveries, kernels and modifications to system files, framework etc. etc. it is almost inevitable that something may go awry.

If you have taken the trouble and time to migrate to a custom ROM, it usually makes sense to let your dev sort things out. On the other hand, if you aren't experiencing any problems with the new firmware, why roll back?

Beamed from the holodeck of my Nexus 7 FHD.

It's not so much that I am having issues as I am wanting to try a rom that is showing based on the older firmware and I don't want to cause any issues with that. On a related note, I am running the stock rom currently and flashed the firmware that Santod posted in RUU but my firmware shows that it is still the 1.12.605.11 even though hboot shows me on 1.55.605.2. Did I botch something?
20th April 2014, 05:50 AM   |  #5  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 9,420
 
6,747 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeysface

It's not so much that I am having issues as I am wanting to try a rom that is showing based on the older firmware and I don't want to cause any issues with that. On a related note, I am running the stock rom currently and flashed the firmware that Santod posted in RUU but my firmware shows that it is still the 1.12.605.11 even though hboot shows me on 1.55.605.2. Did I botch something?

See if my post here answers your question/concern.
I urge you to read more of that thread if you have more questions or concerns, as most of them have been answered there.

And for reference:
Old software with new firmware is almost always fine.
Running new software with old firmware is when real issues usually arise.
Last edited by santod040; 20th April 2014 at 05:53 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to santod040 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th April 2014, 06:05 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040

See if my post here answers your question/concern.
I urge you to read more of that thread if you have more questions or concerns, as most of them have been answered there.

And for reference:
Old software with new firmware is almost always fine.
Running new software with old firmware is when real issues usually arise.

Hey thanks for replying man, I haven't messed too much with manually flashing firmware and didn't want to screw something up. So does the OTA have some software elements to it as well because I've noticed that people who took it are showing the updated firmware and an "Official" or "Unofficial" status in their settings? I've read through a lot of the forums and saw the post you linked to I just wasn't sure if what you were referring to in that post was the same thing as flashing a rom that shows a specific firmware.
20th April 2014, 06:26 AM   |  #7  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 9,420
 
6,747 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
G
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeysface

Hey thanks for replying man, I haven't messed too much with manually flashing firmware and didn't want to screw something up. So does the OTA have some software elements to it as well because I've noticed that people who took it are showing the updated firmware and an "Official" or "Unofficial" status in their settings? I've read through a lot of the forums and saw the post you linked to I just wasn't sure if what you were referring to in that post was the same thing as flashing a rom that shows a specific firmware.

Firmware is just firmware.
It's not a Rom. It's something that gets updated with the ota that cannot be flashed in a custom Rom.
So before updating to a newer software version based on the update it's best to flash the firmware as well or you just get the software and no firmware by flashing just the Rom.
The firmware is at a lower level on the device and persists through Rom flashing unless you take an ota or flash an ruu.
When running custom roms it's general rule of thumb not to take otas.
Less issues that way.
So to update everything like you would had you taken the ota, you flash firmware and software to be up to date.

In other words, I've provided the firmware part of the OTA.
You just need someone to post a rooted version of the software update now.
Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
Last edited by santod040; 20th April 2014 at 06:30 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes