Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Camera: can't focus near objects. No macro mode?!

OP viniciusrsouza

12th April 2014, 08:36 PM   |  #1  
viniciusrsouza's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 146
 
954 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Guys, I didn't find the macro mode inside camera setting and the auto focus simply can't focus when I try to shoot an object near the camera, differently from Note I and Note II. Even on Galaxy S II the focus of near objects is better.

It's like impossible to take detailed near pictures, I always need a minimal distance of about 20 centimeters.

Any workaround except from installing a third-party camera app?


Edit: The minimum distance needed to focus to work is about 20 centimeters. Less than this the camera simply can't focus!
Last edited by viniciusrsouza; 12th April 2014 at 10:10 PM.
16th April 2014, 09:36 PM   |  #2  
carols's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
469 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by viniciusrsouza

Guys, I didn't find the macro mode inside camera setting and the auto focus simply can't focus when I try to shoot an object near the camera, differently from Note I and Note II. Even on Galaxy S II the focus of near objects is better.

It's like impossible to take detailed near pictures, I always need a minimal distance of about 20 centimeters.

Any workaround except from installing a third-party camera app?


Edit: The minimum distance needed to focus to work is about 20 centimeters. Less than this the camera simply can't focus!

i have the same problem
16th April 2014, 09:58 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
212 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
I just tried and I must admit, that you are probably right.
Also there is no macro setting in the advanced options.
Is this software or hardware related ?

Edit:
Looks like its only software related as these guys are reporting to use another camera app
19th April 2014, 09:46 PM   |  #4  
viniciusrsouza's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 146
 
954 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheeezy

I just tried and I must admit, that you are probably right.
Also there is no macro setting in the advanced options.
Is this software or hardware related ?

Edit:
Looks like its only software related as these guys are reporting to use another camera app

Yeah, I already heard before that this was a software related issue. It's shamefully incredible that a powerful device comes with a basic feature messed up like on this case!
20th April 2014, 07:28 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
I used to have the same problem. but i found solution which is downloading alternative application for macro mode

i am now using FV-5 camera application which has macro mode. and it works pretty good as note 2 which i used before note 3

i recommend this app for whomever has been suffering from this issue.

in my opinion there is no problem in terms of soft or hard ware. i dare assume that samsung didn't add this function for some reason.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes