Google Play Newsstand 3.3 Brings Material Design Makeover

In a clear break from the previous practice of delivering nearly weekly Google … more

App Review: Calculating Your Android Calculator Options

Sure, everyone has a default Calculator and its something that you dont think about … more

MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more
Post Reply

LG G2 won't rotate. HELP

30th March 2014, 07:54 PM   |  #1  
Chuckleb0ne's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Renton, WA
Thanks Meter: 103
 
748 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
So for some reason my screen won't rotate into landscape mode. I have the rotation setting turned on but nothing happens. And when I try to calibrate my sensor, the settings app force closes. Any ideas?

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
30th March 2014, 08:08 PM   |  #2  
XxZombiePikachu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,461
 
2,536 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Any more information Rom, what did you come from etc

Sent from my LG-D800 running stock kk, rooted with philz using XDA app
30th March 2014, 08:12 PM   |  #3  
Chuckleb0ne's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Renton, WA
Thanks Meter: 103
 
748 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Just stock 12b. I'm beginning to think it might be the modem. Because I was lending a hand a experimenting with the 24a kitkat build for the VS980 and had to flash a kk modem to be able to boot into the build. Do you think the modem would screw with rotation settings?

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
30th March 2014, 08:16 PM   |  #4  
XxZombiePikachu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,461
 
2,536 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckleb0ne

Just stock 12b. I'm beginning to think it might be the modem. Because I was lending a hand a experimenting with the 24a kitkat build for the VS980 and had to flash a kk modem to be able to boot into the build. Do you think the modem would screw with rotation settings?

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Yes it's definitely the modem I've read some people tried the kk modem and in order for rotation to continue to work had to continue using the kk modem or downgrade via flashtool

Sent from my LG-D800 running stock kk, rooted with philz using XDA app
30th March 2014, 08:18 PM   |  #5  
Chuckleb0ne's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Renton, WA
Thanks Meter: 103
 
748 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
How do you downgrade via flashtool? I just went into recovery and flashed the 12b modem and rotation still doesn't work.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
30th March 2014, 08:29 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Notting Hill, London
Thanks Meter: 102
 
516 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Flashing back an old radio works fine for me, have you tried that? no need to use LG flash tools if you can simply just flash the modem via recovery.
30th March 2014, 08:34 PM   |  #7  
Chuckleb0ne's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Renton, WA
Thanks Meter: 103
 
748 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Going to try the kk modem I flashed yesterday.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
30th March 2014, 08:51 PM   |  #8  
Chuckleb0ne's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Renton, WA
Thanks Meter: 103
 
748 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxZombiePikachu

Yes it's definitely the modem I've read some people tried the kk modem and in order for rotation to continue to work had to continue using the kk modem or downgrade via flashtool

Sent from my LG-D800 running stock kk, rooted with philz using XDA app

So I tried all sorts of modems and nothing is working.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
31st March 2014, 01:00 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Better go back to latest rom that worked for u.
Use this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2432476

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
20th April 2014, 07:23 AM   |  #10  
frontlyna's Avatar
Senior Member
Gainesville,GA.
Thanks Meter: 55
 
352 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
I had an issue where I was on cm11 with rotation working completely fine and then decided to try a stock KitKat ROM. After reverting back to cm my rotation was broken. I tried everything you could imagine aside from going through the whole starting from scratch bs.. So I tried one last thing and it worked! I simply flashed my stock T-Mobile modem that's supposed to break rotation but funny enough it fixed it! Try that and see if it helps from now on.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank