5,600,984 Members 44,227 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[TUTORIAL] Complete and Comprehensive Guide for Creating 4.3 Themes

Tip us?
 
rambg2
Old
#51  
rambg2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 136
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Laguna
Quote:
Originally Posted by funky0308 View Post
When you editing 9.png files.you have to patch them through 9patch (eclipse tool)

The other way, the way I'm using often is PhotoShop editing.

First, open 9.png and add a layer or duplicate layer.
Then, if you, duplicated layer, delete all borders (every 9.png has borders/frame to "tell" system how to stretch and where to expand)

Edit your layer - don't mess with original layer if you haven't selected "safe area".

Save file (make sure it's saved in png extension and it has original 9.png name)

Now decompile and try

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
i've already done that. here's what i do. i just drag the png files to android.zip because i cont recompile it when i decompile the android.zip
I edit the png and 9.png using photoshop. i remove the black pixels using 9draw. everything works fine except for the textfield. even if i replace it with original one it still got the same problem.

Thanks in Advance!
 
funky0308
Old
#52  
funky0308's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 4226
Posts: 5,105
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Osijek

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rambg2 View Post
i've already done that. here's what i do. i just drag the png files to android.zip because i cont recompile it when i decompile the android.zip
I edit the png and 9.png using photoshop. i remove the black pixels using 9draw. everything works fine except for the textfield. even if i replace it with original one it still got the same problem.

Thanks in Advance!
I assure you - that's 100% what I said.

You have to decompile assets, it won't work if you just pull them out.
That's fine method with plain png files, but 9.png has to be decompiled.


Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
 
rambg2
Old
#53  
rambg2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 136
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Laguna
Quote:
Originally Posted by funky0308 View Post
I assure you - that's 100% what I said.

You have to decompile assets, it won't work if you just pull them out.
That's fine method with plain png files, but 9.png has to be decompiled.


Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
the problem is. everytime i decompile the android.apk i cannot recompile it. i really want to finish my theme. ( i just can't fix the textfields. (((

heres the log when i compile the android.apk

Code:
W: Could not find sources
C:\AdvancedApkTool\3-Out\android.apk\res\values\styles.xml:10: error: Error: Dimension types not allowed (at 'android:gestureOverlayViewStyle' with value '5.0dip').
Exception in thread "main" brut.androlib.AndrolibException: brut.androlib.AndrolibException: brut.common.BrutException: could not exec command: [C:\Users\DV7\AppData\Local\Temp\brut_util_Jar_5562839439465906539.tmp, p, --forced-package-id, 127, --version-code, 1, --version-name, 1.0, -F, C:\Users\DV7\AppData\Local\Temp\APKTOOL3739049765693515415.tmp, -0, arsc, -I, C:\AdvancedApkTool\1-BDFreak\Frameworks\1.apk, -I, C:\AdvancedApkTool\1-BDFreak\Frameworks\2.apk, -S, C:\AdvancedApkTool\3-Out\android.apk\res, -M, C:\AdvancedApkTool\3-Out\android.apk\AndroidManifest.xml]
	at brut.androlib.Androlib.buildResourcesFull(Androlib.java:435)
	at brut.androlib.Androlib.buildResources(Androlib.java:363)
	at brut.androlib.Androlib.build(Androlib.java:286)
	at brut.androlib.Androlib.build(Androlib.java:258)
	at brut.apktool.Main.cmdBuild(Main.java:236)
	at brut.apktool.Main.main(Main.java:88)
Caused by: brut.androlib.AndrolibException: brut.common.BrutException: could not exec command: [C:\Users\DV7\AppData\Local\Temp\brut_util_Jar_5562839439465906539.tmp, p, --forced-package-id, 127, --version-code, 1, --version-name, 1.0, -F, C:\Users\DV7\AppData\Local\Temp\APKTOOL3739049765693515415.tmp, -0, arsc, -I, C:\AdvancedApkTool\1-BDFreak\Frameworks\1.apk, -I, C:\AdvancedApkTool\1-BDFreak\Frameworks\2.apk, -S, C:\AdvancedApkTool\3-Out\android.apk\res, -M, C:\AdvancedApkTool\3-Out\android.apk\AndroidManifest.xml]
	at brut.androlib.res.AndrolibResources.aaptPackage(AndrolibResources.java:470)
	at brut.androlib.Androlib.buildResourcesFull(Androlib.java:416)
	... 5 more
Caused by: brut.common.BrutException: could not exec command: [C:\Users\DV7\AppData\Local\Temp\brut_util_Jar_5562839439465906539.tmp, p, --forced-package-id, 127, --version-code, 1, --version-name, 1.0, -F, C:\Users\DV7\AppData\Local\Temp\APKTOOL3739049765693515415.tmp, -0, arsc, -I, C:\AdvancedApkTool\1-BDFreak\Frameworks\1.apk, -I, C:\AdvancedApkTool\1-BDFreak\Frameworks\2.apk, -S, C:\AdvancedApkTool\3-Out\android.apk\res, -M, C:\AdvancedApkTool\3-Out\android.apk\AndroidManifest.xml]
	at brut.util.OS.exec(OS.java:89)
	at brut.androlib.res.AndrolibResources.aaptPackage(AndrolibResources.java:464)
	... 6 more
 
augustox
Old
#54  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 28
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayush Singh View Post
Yes I had tried this once

But the results arent good

It appeared like this for a second



and then again goes back to its normal state




I have exams at my school, will carry on this later, I will try to add kitkat like systemui gradient soon!
Man i need root to make themes like you?
 
XperienceD
Old
#55  
XperienceD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2260
Posts: 7,088
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Here =)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rambg2 View Post
now i know the problem. when i remove the style.xml in the value folder i can compile it already. but i need that file. im editing hexared theme.
I was reading through the thread to see if anyone had used layout.xmls and/or had issues but your comment seems to point out one limitation of Theme.apks.
 
funky0308
Old
#56  
funky0308's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 4226
Posts: 5,105
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Osijek

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by XperienceD View Post
I was reading through the thread to see if anyone had used layout.xmls and/or had issues but your comment seems to point out one limitation of Theme.apks.
Recompiling problem comes from two lines in xml code.

I already talked to Rambg2 and everything is O.K now.

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
 
XperienceD
Old
#57  
XperienceD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2260
Posts: 7,088
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Here =)
Quote:
Originally Posted by funky0308 View Post
Recompiling problem comes from two lines in xml code.
So can we use layout.xmls?
 
funky0308
Old
#58  
funky0308's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 4226
Posts: 5,105
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Osijek

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by XperienceD View Post
So can we use layout.xmls?
Could you upload whole values folder.
I'm not at home and I can't remember what you need to remove.

Upload it, I'll check and let you know...


Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
 
asanan1
Old
#59  
asanan1's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nakhon Ratchasima

 
DONATE TO ME
Thankyou :') )

The Following User Says Thank You to asanan1 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes