Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,424 Members 36,050 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Galaxy S5 Sprint Spark kills data + voice calls at the same time!

Tip us?
 
bryanu
Old
#71  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 149
Join Date: Dec 2010
When I first got my phone all bands show enabled.

I later did a data profile update because my 3g keeps dropping in and out.

I now look and LTE and Band 3 are disabled.

I re-enabled LTE (band 3 is not used in states so who cares) and rebooted phone, was fine.

Later I looked again and LTE (first one) is disabled/unchecked again.

What gives?

Anyone else notice similar?
 
eyecon82
Old
#72  
eyecon82's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,650
Posts: 2,239
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by longshot21771 View Post
I cannot get 4g where I live and only 3g is there any way to do voice and data at the same time with 3g?
Only with the s3, not s4 or s5

-Sent from Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to eyecon82 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dropzone9540
Old
#73  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 21
Join Date: Nov 2008
I only show band 3, 26,and 41 in the Chicago area. No band 25 at all. What gives?
 
bryanu
Old
(Last edited by bryanu; 20th April 2014 at 12:06 AM.)
#74  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 149
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dropzone9540 View Post
I only show band 3, 26,and 41 in the Chicago area. No band 25 at all. What gives?
Band 25 is the first one that doesn't list the band name, they left the band off given it's the default cover all band as is 1900MHz which is original/native band for Sprint.



I think our phones have Band 41 as priority though because I have a far off tower that has LTE (close 3 towers don't lol) and the far tower has both 25 and 41 but for whatever reason it rather grab the weaker 41 band vs. the stronger 25 band. It also death grips the band once it has it only dropping to 3g, not 25 after I make it weaker by blocking signal more. Only way I can make it grab the 25 is disable the 41.

Odd. Can't wait till the towers near me are upgraded though. My battery life is about 9 hours MAX without even touching the phone for web, text or data, because it spends so much time signal hoppin. I have 3 towers near me all non-lte and a 4th one that's just outside range with LTE. This is my second S5 so I know it's not a dud phone...
 
KennyG123
Old
#75  
KennyG123's Avatar
RC-RT Committee / Senior Moderator / Spider-Mod
Thanks Meter 26,167
Posts: 28,054
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Right behind you!

 
DONATE TO ME
Everyone should be aware before purchasing that there is no SVDO on this or the S4.
If you wish to discuss other Spark issues or observations please take it to this thread
Thanks
FNSM

Moderator Directory - - - FORUM RULES - - - Support Autism Awareness here
The Following User Says Thank You to KennyG123 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes