Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Back to factory settings

OP distorsion

18th April 2014, 10:05 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
I never liked cellphones and avoided them for years until I got a Galaxy Note as a gift. I gave it a try but after a year of minimum use I can safely say that it doesn't appeal to me.

So I want to sell it, but the problem is in my attempt to like it I rooted it and it seems like resetting to factory settings with a root may cause on a brick, so I'm wondering, what would be the exact procedure I have to follow in order to get it to be as it was on day 1?

Model: GT-N7000
Android version: 4.0.4
Root: SuperSU

I mention SuperSU because it seems like it has an unroot option on It's menu. Do I just use that and then search for the factory reset option and I'm done?

Thank you for reading.
19th April 2014, 03:38 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 235
 
701 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by distorsion

I never liked cellphones and avoided them for years until I got a Galaxy Note as a gift. I gave it a try but after a year of minimum use I can safely say that it doesn't appeal to me.

So I want to sell it, but the problem is in my attempt to like it I rooted it and it seems like resetting to factory settings with a root may cause on a brick, so I'm wondering, what would be the exact procedure I have to follow in order to get it to be as it was on day 1?

Model: GT-N7000
Android version: 4.0.4
Root: SuperSU

I mention SuperSU because it seems like it has an unroot option on It's menu. Do I just use that and then search for the factory reset option and I'm done?

Thank you for reading.

Yes, you can simply unroot using SuperSU or you can flash stock rom, whole procedure for that is mentioned in dr ketan's thread, look fot it and as you are on ICS dont do any wipes on stock recovery, use brick safe kernel.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to treacherous_hawk For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th April 2014, 11:11 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by treacherous_hawk

Yes, you can simply unroot using SuperSU or you can flash stock rom, whole procedure for that is mentioned in dr ketan's thread, look fot it

As far as I remember I never did anything like flashing a rom... to be honest, I don't even know what that means, but I'm almost sure I never did it (although I would like to know how to see what "rom" I'm currently running just to be sure).

I just unrooted through SuperSU menu and I'm wondering what's the next step. I thought just going to system options and looking for reset to factory settings would do it now that It's unrooted but
Quote:
Originally Posted by treacherous_hawk

as you are on ICS dont do any wipes on stock recovery, use brick safe kernel.

this quote made me wonder, are you talking about the flashing rom method to unroot or to the step I should do now? Do I update to Jelly Bean and then do reset to factory settings?

I'm a little confused.

Thanks!
20th April 2014, 05:10 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 235
 
701 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by distorsion

As far as I remember I never did anything like flashing a rom... to be honest, I don't even know what that means, but I'm almost sure I never did it (although I would like to know how to see what "rom" I'm currently running just to be sure).

I just unrooted through SuperSU menu and I'm wondering what's the next step. I thought just going to system options and looking for reset to factory settings would do it now that It's unrooted but

this quote made me wonder, are you talking about the flashing rom method to unroot or to the step I should do now? Do I update to Jelly Bean and then do reset to factory settings?

I'm a little confused.

Thanks!

Just go to settings and about and see firmware version, build number and Baseband version should tell you if you are stock rom or not( not sure though have been using custom rom for too long now). Wiping from Stock Recovery might brick it not the factory settings from menu. Yes, update to JB from system updates it should be available if you are on stock rom or using Kies from pc connecting USB.
Last edited by treacherous_hawk; 20th April 2014 at 05:14 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes