Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,300 Members 53,350 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Does anyone know where the GPS Radio file is?

Tip us?
 
bobolinko
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 329
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Everett WA
Cool [Q] Does anyone know where the GPS Radio file is?

I had no problems with 4.2.2 using the updated t-modem.bin file with my phone, and it got super funky the other day, so I reverted to stock and rooted and proceeded to bring it to where I was before it went all goofy.

here is info on what is going now:
SGH-M919
T-MOBILE
BOOTLOADER - M918UVUAMDL
BASEBAND - M919UVUEMK2 (i flashed only the Modem.bin file) I get good all around data reception edge/4G/LTE.


However, Now, my GPS takes a hella long time to get enough of a signal to start the navigation, Sometimes i'm waiting over 10 minutes for a fix on location.

I tried using GPS Toolbox and reset and downloaded the gps file, but no joy there.... Sometimes even the GPS toolbox takes a while to "Find" all the satellites...

I thought if there is a GPS radio file I could reinstall, I'd rather do that than rebuilding the whole setup again. ALL the other stuff is absolutely perfect and I'd really prefer to keep things working like now, except for the GPS lock-on-time...

Thanks, I'll wait to see if anyone has input before I go re-inventing the wheel again...

Aloha!
 
elesbb
Old
#2  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4237
Posts: 6,642
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Use Faster GPS to change the satelites it uses.
The Following User Says Thank You to elesbb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bobolinko
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 329
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Everett WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb View Post
Use Faster GPS to change the satelites it uses.
Thank You!

I never knew something like that existed, It seems to have made a difference already but I'll see how it performs over different destinations on a period of travel.

Thanks again!

Aloha Ke Akua !
 
PanchoPlanet
Old
#4  
PanchoPlanet's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 625
Posts: 2,358
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Crooklyn

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb View Post
Use Faster GPS to change the satelites it uses.
I experienced a similar scenario between 4.2 JB and 4.4 KK, my GPS was super on 4.2 , back in March I took a screen shot as you can see, and then today . Less sats and I have to turn it on and off to get to start up.
I'm running Fenny's almost stock rom al present.

Pp.

sent from my bluetooth controlled toaster.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1397960143652.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	68.2 KB
ID:	2697209   Click image for larger version

Name:	1397960163427.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	63.6 KB
ID:	2697210  
Sent from my Ginger infused Asus G73.
 
elesbb
Old
#5  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4237
Posts: 6,642
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by PanchoPlanet View Post
I experienced a similar scenario between 4.2 JB and 4.4 KK, my GPS was super on 4.2 , back in March I took a screen shot as you can see, and then today . Less sats and I have to turn it on and off to get to start up.
I'm running Fenny's almost stock rom al present.

Pp.

sent from my bluetooth controlled toaster.
I haven't had any issues after using faster GPS. I even can get a lock in my basement.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
 
PanchoPlanet
Old
#6  
PanchoPlanet's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 625
Posts: 2,358
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Crooklyn

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb View Post
I haven't had any issues after using faster GPS. I even can get a lock in my basement.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
Where do you navigate to in your basement?
Do you live in a castle? ???

Anyways, I don't like using apps, would rather figure out what's wrong or go back to stock.

Pp.

sent from my bluetooth controlled toaster.
Sent from my Ginger infused Asus G73.
 
elesbb
Old
#7  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4237
Posts: 6,642
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by PanchoPlanet View Post
Where do you navigate to in your basement?
Do you live in a castle? ???

Anyways, I don't like using apps, would rather figure out what's wrong or go back to stock.

Pp.

sent from my bluetooth controlled toaster.
Lol my weather app tracks my location. But it's not that anything is wrong. It's just scanning for satellites that don't exist in your area so by using faster GPS you tell the GPS antenna to only look for satellites in your area.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
 
PanchoPlanet
Old
#8  
PanchoPlanet's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 625
Posts: 2,358
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Crooklyn

 
DONATE TO ME
May try if no other option, looking at ktoonsez kernel options for now, maybe a kernel may give me the fix I'm looking for as far as gps, LTE network disappearing.

Pp.

sent from my bluetooth controlled toaster.
Sent from my Ginger infused Asus G73.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android Wear App Review: EchoWear Song Search – XDA Developer TV

Yesterday on XDA Developer TV, Producer AdamOutler tore down a Samsung … more

Blast Those Flags with Knock the Flags

Lately, we have seen a rather drastic shift in the world of mobile device gaming. The infamous Angry … more

Hide Numbers on Your SMS and Call Logs with Reflection

How many times have you given your device to someone else in order to show them a … more