FORUMS

Top Forum Discussions

[Q] Does anyone know where the GPS Radio file is?

338 posts
Thanks Meter: 64
 
By bobolinko, Senior Member on 19th April 2014, 06:42 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I had no problems with 4.2.2 using the updated t-modem.bin file with my phone, and it got super funky the other day, so I reverted to stock and rooted and proceeded to bring it to where I was before it went all goofy.

here is info on what is going now:
SGH-M919
T-MOBILE
BOOTLOADER - M918UVUAMDL
BASEBAND - M919UVUEMK2 (i flashed only the Modem.bin file) I get good all around data reception edge/4G/LTE.


However, Now, my GPS takes a hella long time to get enough of a signal to start the navigation, Sometimes i'm waiting over 10 minutes for a fix on location.

I tried using GPS Toolbox and reset and downloaded the gps file, but no joy there.... Sometimes even the GPS toolbox takes a while to "Find" all the satellites...

I thought if there is a GPS radio file I could reinstall, I'd rather do that than rebuilding the whole setup again. ALL the other stuff is absolutely perfect and I'd really prefer to keep things working like now, except for the GPS lock-on-time...

Thanks, I'll wait to see if anyone has input before I go re-inventing the wheel again...

Aloha!
 
 
19th April 2014, 10:55 PM |#2  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,711
 
Donate to Me
More
Use Faster GPS to change the satelites it uses.
The Following User Says Thank You to elesbb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th April 2014, 02:14 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Everett WA
Thanks Meter: 64
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb

Use Faster GPS to change the satelites it uses.

Thank You!

I never knew something like that existed, It seems to have made a difference already but I'll see how it performs over different destinations on a period of travel.

Thanks again!

Aloha Ke Akua !
20th April 2014, 03:16 AM |#4  
PanchoPlanet's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Crooklyn
Thanks Meter: 864
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb

Use Faster GPS to change the satelites it uses.

I experienced a similar scenario between 4.2 JB and 4.4 KK, my GPS was super on 4.2 , back in March I took a screen shot as you can see, and then today . Less sats and I have to turn it on and off to get to start up.
I'm running Fenny's almost stock rom al present.

Pp.

sent from my bluetooth controlled toaster.
Last edited by PanchoPlanet; 19th November 2014 at 03:33 PM.
20th April 2014, 11:35 AM |#5  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,711
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PanchoPlanet

I experienced a similar scenario between 4.2 JB and 4.4 KK, my GPS was super on 4.2 , back in March I took a screen shot as you can see, and then today . Less sats and I have to turn it on and off to get to start up.
I'm running Fenny's almost stock rom al present.

Pp.

sent from my bluetooth controlled toaster.

I haven't had any issues after using faster GPS. I even can get a lock in my basement.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
20th April 2014, 01:03 PM |#6  
PanchoPlanet's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Crooklyn
Thanks Meter: 864
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb

I haven't had any issues after using faster GPS. I even can get a lock in my basement.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

Where do you navigate to in your basement?
Do you live in a castle? ???

Anyways, I don't like using apps, would rather figure out what's wrong or go back to stock.

Pp.

sent from my bluetooth controlled toaster.
20th April 2014, 03:32 PM |#7  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,711
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PanchoPlanet

Where do you navigate to in your basement?
Do you live in a castle? ???

Anyways, I don't like using apps, would rather figure out what's wrong or go back to stock.

Pp.

sent from my bluetooth controlled toaster.

Lol my weather app tracks my location. But it's not that anything is wrong. It's just scanning for satellites that don't exist in your area so by using faster GPS you tell the GPS antenna to only look for satellites in your area.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
20th April 2014, 05:20 PM |#8  
PanchoPlanet's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Crooklyn
Thanks Meter: 864
 
Donate to Me
More
May try if no other option, looking at ktoonsez kernel options for now, maybe a kernel may give me the fix I'm looking for as far as gps, LTE network disappearing.

Pp.

sent from my bluetooth controlled toaster.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes