Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more

Updated Android Lollipop Preview Images – XDA TV

The Android Lollipop Preview Images are now available! That and much more news is … more
Post Reply

Unlocking bootloader

OP mushtafa

20th April 2014, 11:02 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag West Sussex, UK
Thanks Meter: 55
 
418 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
I've just been doing some reading/research regarding the bootloader. I found this page on Sony website: http://unlockbootloader.sonymobile.com/instructions

I followed these instructions:
Quote:

First, you should confirm that it is possible to unlock the boot loader of your device by checking the service menu. In your device, open the dialler and enter *#*#7378423#*#* to access the service menu. If you have a tablet, click here to learn how access the service menu.
In your device, tap Service info > Configuration > Rooting Status. If Bootloader unlock allowed says Yes, then you can continue with the next step. If it says No, or if the status is missing, your device cannot be unlocked.

Mine says it cannot be unlocked. Why is this? Will it ever be able to unlock it?
20th April 2014, 12:47 PM   |  #2  
RRSoftware's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mushtafa

I've just been doing some reading/research regarding the bootloader. I found this page on Sony website: http://unlockbootloader.sonymobile.com/instructions

I followed these instructions:


Mine says it cannot be unlocked. Why is this? Will it ever be able to unlock it?

These instructions are for the Xperia Z1, but they should also work on the Z2.

Is it a phone from a carrier, or direct from Sony?
Does it have a sim lock?
Last edited by RRSoftware; 20th April 2014 at 12:59 PM.
20th April 2014, 01:21 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag West Sussex, UK
Thanks Meter: 55
 
418 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RRSoftware

These instructions are for the Xperia Z1, but they should also work on the Z2.

Is it a phone from a carrier, or direct from Sony?
Does it have a sim lock?

From Vodafone UK, not sure about sim lock
20th April 2014, 01:44 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mushtafa

From Vodafone UK, not sure about sim lock

you can find the sim lock status in service menu too, click service info, then sim lock....... you'll see a screen like the one attached, if there is an x inside the [] then that lock is active. by the way, mine is sim free with unlockable bootloader, purchased from phones4u on vodafone contract..... i have been told by vodafone customer services a couple years that they dont put network locks on there phones anymore
20th April 2014, 01:48 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by numskull

you can find the sim lock status in service menu too, click service info, then sim lock....... you'll see a screen like the one attached, if there is an x inside the [] then that lock is active. by the way, mine is sim free with unlockable bootloader, purchased from phones4u on vodafone contract..... i have been told by vodafone customer services a couple years that they dont put network locks on there phones anymore

oooops helps if i attach pic lol
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20000101_152124[1].jpg
Views:	147
Size:	242.7 KB
ID:	2697791   Click image for larger version

Name:	20000101_152214[1].jpg
Views:	147
Size:	242.3 KB
ID:	2697792  
20th April 2014, 01:57 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag West Sussex, UK
Thanks Meter: 55
 
418 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Yep, sim locked too

From my experience with HTC, I would S-Off and super CID it. Is there something similar with Sony?
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1397998660082.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	17.9 KB
ID:	2697816

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
20th April 2014, 02:14 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 34
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
yep i got same problem. locked bootloader and sim locked athough you can get it unlocked on ebay or amazon thats not a big deal the problem is bootloader locked. i hope anyone can help me wo get root without unlocking bootloader like Z1
20th April 2014, 08:55 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Does unlocking the bootloader this official sony way still erases DRM keys? My Z2 is lock-free, but I don't wanna lose the TA partition, even though I'm dying to root it.
20th April 2014, 09:49 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
117 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sathron

Does unlocking the bootloader this official sony way still erases DRM keys? My Z2 is lock-free, but I don't wanna lose the TA partition, even though I'm dying to root it.

Apparently it still does, yes. Although it remains unclear if you loose additional functionality as well. Look at this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2702001

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xperia Z2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank