Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,629 Members 54,469 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unlocking bootloader

Tip us?
 
mushtafa
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 410
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Sussex, UK
Default Unlocking bootloader

I've just been doing some reading/research regarding the bootloader. I found this page on Sony website: http://unlockbootloader.sonymobile.com/instructions

I followed these instructions:
Quote:
First, you should confirm that it is possible to unlock the boot loader of your device by checking the service menu. In your device, open the dialler and enter *#*#7378423#*#* to access the service menu. If you have a tablet, click here to learn how access the service menu.
In your device, tap Service info > Configuration > Rooting Status. If Bootloader unlock allowed says Yes, then you can continue with the next step. If it says No, or if the status is missing, your device cannot be unlocked.
Mine says it cannot be unlocked. Why is this? Will it ever be able to unlock it?
 
RRSoftware
Old
(Last edited by RRSoftware; 20th April 2014 at 12:59 PM.)
#2  
RRSoftware's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 46
Join Date: Jun 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mushtafa View Post
I've just been doing some reading/research regarding the bootloader. I found this page on Sony website: http://unlockbootloader.sonymobile.com/instructions

I followed these instructions:


Mine says it cannot be unlocked. Why is this? Will it ever be able to unlock it?
These instructions are for the Xperia Z1, but they should also work on the Z2.

Is it a phone from a carrier, or direct from Sony?
Does it have a sim lock?
 
mushtafa
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 410
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Sussex, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by RRSoftware View Post
These instructions are for the Xperia Z1, but they should also work on the Z2.

Is it a phone from a carrier, or direct from Sony?
Does it have a sim lock?
From Vodafone UK, not sure about sim lock
 
numskull
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 186
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mushtafa View Post
From Vodafone UK, not sure about sim lock
you can find the sim lock status in service menu too, click service info, then sim lock....... you'll see a screen like the one attached, if there is an x inside the [] then that lock is active. by the way, mine is sim free with unlockable bootloader, purchased from phones4u on vodafone contract..... i have been told by vodafone customer services a couple years that they dont put network locks on there phones anymore
 
numskull
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 186
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by numskull View Post
you can find the sim lock status in service menu too, click service info, then sim lock....... you'll see a screen like the one attached, if there is an x inside the [] then that lock is active. by the way, mine is sim free with unlockable bootloader, purchased from phones4u on vodafone contract..... i have been told by vodafone customer services a couple years that they dont put network locks on there phones anymore
oooops helps if i attach pic lol
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20000101_152124[1].jpg
Views:	147
Size:	242.7 KB
ID:	2697791   Click image for larger version

Name:	20000101_152214[1].jpg
Views:	147
Size:	242.3 KB
ID:	2697792  
 
mushtafa
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 410
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Sussex, UK
Yep, sim locked too

From my experience with HTC, I would S-Off and super CID it. Is there something similar with Sony?
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1397998660082.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	17.9 KB
ID:	2697816

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
 
rehanraza
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 155
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London
yep i got same problem. locked bootloader and sim locked athough you can get it unlocked on ebay or amazon thats not a big deal the problem is bootloader locked. i hope anyone can help me wo get root without unlocking bootloader like Z1
 
Sathron
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: Oct 2013
Does unlocking the bootloader this official sony way still erases DRM keys? My Z2 is lock-free, but I don't wanna lose the TA partition, even though I'm dying to root it.
 
hillbicks
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 112
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sathron View Post
Does unlocking the bootloader this official sony way still erases DRM keys? My Z2 is lock-free, but I don't wanna lose the TA partition, even though I'm dying to root it.
Apparently it still does, yes. Although it remains unclear if you loose additional functionality as well. Look at this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2702001

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


WowWee Mip – Android Accessory Review – XDA Developer TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about … more

Stream Your Media Files with the New Version of Droid Sync Manager

Android is a Linux-based operating system, but this fact doesn’t put … more

Old but Gold Internet Browser is a Blast from the Past

A Web browser is one of these applications that we can’t live without. We useit … more

Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more