Android 5.0 Leaked for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Android Lollipop is still making its way to many new devices. Firmware updates have been … more

Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Frequent Mobile Data Drops on CM11 Nightly (Especially After Ending Phone Calls)

OP pravus87

9th April 2014, 06:58 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 6
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
I have been using Cyanogenmod 11 Nightlies for my device for about as long as they have been out, so I know it is still a work in progress, and most of the issues I have faced have gone away as newer nightly builds have been released, so I have not reported any issues as of yet.

Within the last month or so, I have noticed a new issue. The mobile data has been randomly cutting out, allowing only emergency phone calls. It only goes out for about a minute or two, but it is still a huge inconvenience. It seems to happen randomly, except after I finish a phone call -- it almost always cuts out immediately after (very frustrating for when calls are dropped, because I need to wait a minute or two before I can call back).

Has anyone else experienced this or know of a fix? I just tried re-flashing the latest radio and that did not seem to help. I have also tried full system/data wipes as well and none of the Nightly builds for the last month or so have been able to fix it.



Thanks, everyone.
9th April 2014, 08:29 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
You need to flash any touchwiz rom in order reset your nvram.
9th April 2014, 11:16 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 6
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corvetrims77

You need to flash any touchwiz rom in order reset your nvram.

Is that even possible? I thought there were issues with going from 4.4.x back to 4.3?

Also, how would I go about locating the latest stock firmware and flashing it? I haven't even thought about touching stock since flashing CM.
9th April 2014, 11:40 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pravus87

Is that even possible? I thought there were issues with going from 4.4.x back to 4.3?

Also, how would I go about locating the latest stock firmware and flashing it? I haven't even thought about touching stock since flashing CM.


I can't find the original post, I don't have time to look for it right now, it was discussed frequently in Quantumroms thread. I needed to do this as I was experiencing the same issue. I restored the stock firmware on my device via samsungKise ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2390147).
10th April 2014, 03:01 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 6
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corvetrims77

I can't find the original post, I don't have time to look for it right now, it was discussed frequently in Quantumroms thread. I needed to do this as I was experiencing the same issue. I restored the stock firmware on my device via samsungKise ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2390147).

I will take your word for it. But I have read elsewhere that the MJB bootloader makes it impossible to downgrade, which after checking, is the one that I have installed.

I have done the research on how to install stock firmware. I am just a little hesitant to do so. Any re-assurances would be great.
10th April 2014, 04:03 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pravus87

I will take your word for it. But I have read elsewhere that the MJB bootloader makes it impossible to downgrade, which after checking, is the one that I have installed.

I have done the research on how to install stock firmware. I am just a little hesitant to do so. Any re-assurances would be great.


From what I have read you are correct, but you just need to install any Touchwiz Rom, search through the quantum posts you will find your answers.
11th April 2014, 08:00 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 6
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corvetrims77

From what I have read you are correct, but you just need to install any Touchwiz Rom, search through the quantum posts you will find your answers.

Thanks for your help. I was able to flash stock 4.1.1 and then reinstall CM11. So far, looks like the mobile data issue has been resoled.
18th April 2014, 12:25 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by pravus87

Thanks for your help. I was able to flash stock 4.1.1 and then reinstall CM11. So far, looks like the mobile data issue has been resoled.

I'm having the same issue, would you mind giving a quick run through of what you did? I'm downloading the I747MVLUEMK5 firmware to flash in Odin right now. Don't want to do something I shouldn't.
The Following User Says Thank You to mreadshaw For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st April 2014, 12:37 AM   |  #9  
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 6
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mreadshaw

I'm having the same issue, would you mind giving a quick run through of what you did? I'm downloading the I747MVLUEMK5 firmware to flash in Odin right now. Don't want to do something I shouldn't.

I actually did not use Odin at all. I was able to find a thread that posted a 4.1.1 stock .zip, a .zip to keep root, and a .zip to keep custom recovery. (I have tried searching for the thread to share with you but am unable to find it). I was definitely over-thinking it. Just install the .zips from TWRP or CWM as you would any other custom ROM -- just make sure you do not have the 4.3 bootloader installed. That's it.

Sorry for the delayed response!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes