Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,216 Members 53,616 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] USER in Android Build

Tip us?
 
frigginawesomeimontv
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default [Q] USER in Android Build

Yesterday bought a brand new LG G2 (D802TA... Australian model). It's completely stock.

Running an app called Root Checker, I came across an interesting field in 'Build Info' called USER.

What's interesting is the value: prasanth.kumar. See attachment.

How does this field get populated? Why is it someone's name that's not my own? Does this suggest the phone has been used previously?

Is it just a dodgy app?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-04-11 17.04.29.jpg
Views:	464
Size:	96.3 KB
ID:	2679757  
 
Vaibhav Chauhan
Old
#2  
Vaibhav Chauhan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 757
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dahod, Gujarat
Quote:
Originally Posted by frigginawesomeimontv View Post
Yesterday bought a brand new LG G2 (D802TA... Australian model). It's completely stock.

Running an app called Root Checker, I came across an interesting field in 'Build Info' called USER.

What's interesting is the value: prasanth.kumar. See attachment.

How does this field get populated? Why is it someone's name that's not my own? Does this suggest the phone has been used previously?

Is it just a dodgy app?
this type of phones are come pre-rooted
i think it is the name of the developed
PHONE;- Samsung galaxy s duos gt-s7562
OS:- Android ICS 4.0.4
BASEBAND VERSION:- S7562DDBMJ1
BUILD NO:- IMM76I.S7562XXBMJ1

Guides by me

...PRESS THANKS IF I HELP YOU...
.
 
XperienceD
Old
#3  
XperienceD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,399
Posts: 7,295
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Here =)
Quote:
Originally Posted by frigginawesomeimontv View Post
Yesterday bought a brand new LG G2 (D802TA... Australian model). It's completely stock.
Give this a read - http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2247624
 
frigginawesomeimontv
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by XperienceD View Post
Yes, that's me asking the same question on Whirlpool.
 
frigginawesomeimontv
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaibhav Chauhan View Post
this type of phones are come pre-rooted
i think it is the name of the developed
It does not come 'pre-rooted', but as is mentioned in the Whirlpool thread, it is likely the name of the employee who's machine was used to compile the ROM.

If more than I have the same entry in our build, then it's unlikely it's a returned phone.
 
Vaibhav Chauhan
Old
#6  
Vaibhav Chauhan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 757
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dahod, Gujarat
Quote:
Originally Posted by frigginawesomeimontv View Post
It does not come 'pre-rooted', but as is mentioned in the Whirlpool thread, it is likely the name of the employee who's machine was used to compile the ROM.

If more than I have the same entry in our build, then it's unlikely it's a returned phone.
so it is not already used
your problem is solved
PHONE;- Samsung galaxy s duos gt-s7562
OS:- Android ICS 4.0.4
BASEBAND VERSION:- S7562DDBMJ1
BUILD NO:- IMM76I.S7562XXBMJ1

Guides by me

...PRESS THANKS IF I HELP YOU...
.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more

Sony PS4 Remote Play Ported to All Android Devices

Im pretty sure that every informed gamer out there perked their ears up when Sony came out … more

Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more