FORUMS

Beats Music No Longer Accepting New Accounts

Whenever Apple launches a new product or service, it definitely manages to grab the … more

Do You Do Self-Repairs on Your Devices?

As smartphone designs become more and more complex, self-repairs on devices are also becoming … more

Sony Z4 Slips Out of Top 5 Smartphones in Japan

In a bid to streamline its flagship series which had been losing credibility over the … more

Sprint’s New Unlimited Plan with Ridiculous Capped Speeds

The carrier game in the United States is perpetually rushing forward at … more

[Q] Camera not connecting

12 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By krakora, Junior Member on 20th April 2014, 12:44 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I've had my M7 as a back up device for a few months, now just getting to rooting and ROM'ing. The Sense is nice, but I hoping to get as close to a Nexus/clean android experience as possible. I flashed CM11 last night, happy with it except the camera is not working. So... a couple questions:

1) is there any ROMs that the camera actually works? (kitkat?)
2) do I need to find a Sense ROM to make the camera work again?

Thanks all!

R.
Last edited by krakora; 20th April 2014 at 06:49 PM. Reason: specific title
 
 
20th April 2014, 02:47 AM |#2  
MurphysLaw0817's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Southwest Florida
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by krakora

I've had my M7 as a back up device for a few months, now just getting to rooting and ROM'ing. The Sense is nice, but I hoping to get as close to a Nexus/clean android experience as possible. I flashed CM11 last night, happy with it except the camera is not working. So... a couple questions:

1) is there any ROMs that the camera actually works? (kitkat?)
2) do I need to find a Sense ROM to make the camera work again?

Thanks all!

R.

Hello, R.

I've been a regular user of the CM11 Nightlies (most recently "11-20140319-NIGHTLY-m7spr") as my daily driver and have had no problems with the camera myself.
What, specifically, is it doing or not doing? Is it force closing, freezing, etc., or not opening at all?
20th April 2014, 02:54 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MurphysLaw0817

Hello, R.

I've been a regular user of the CM11 Nightlies (most recently "11-20140319-NIGHTLY-m7spr") as my daily driver and have had no problems with the camera myself.
What, specifically, is it doing or not doing? Is it force closing, freezing, etc., or not opening at all?

Thanks for the response. It begins to open the application then gives a "Camera Error"... "Can't connect to the camera". I've tried force closing, clearing cache, rebooting. Nothing is working, everything else is perfect. So strange. Also, tried downloading other camera apps from the play store, no go. What else am I missing besides reflashing the whole ROM again??

Thanks again!

Rich
20th April 2014, 04:14 AM |#4  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Xda-Dev,NV
Thanks Meter: 9,225
 
Donate to Me
More
Greetings,
Please post all questions in Q&A in the future.

Thank You,
BD619
20th April 2014, 06:52 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BD619

Greetings,
Please post all questions in Q&A in the future.

Thank You,
BD619

Understood. Any ideas here guys? After additional searching, one comment was that it could be a conflict in kernals. ie: I flashed a CM ROM but kept a Sense kernal? I am S-On... so not sure if that was the issue.....
20th April 2014, 10:16 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 266
 
More
If others aren't having this problem, I highly doubt it's a problem with the ROM itself. Would you mind doing a clean wipe and reflashing? And yes, don't flash anything except the CM ROM and the Gapps.
21st April 2014, 05:56 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by sauprankul

If others aren't having this problem, I highly doubt it's a problem with the ROM itself. Would you mind doing a clean wipe and reflashing? And yes, don't flash anything except the CM ROM and the Gapps.

Thanks sauprankul. Yes I ended up (re)flashing another ROM and all is working. I used Goo manager, which I'm sure is offensive to the purists out there. . Thanks again for everyone's input.

R.
21st April 2014, 07:33 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 266
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by krakora

Thanks sauprankul. Yes I ended up (re)flashing another ROM and all is working. I used Goo manager, which I'm sure is offensive to the purists out there. . Thanks again for everyone's input.

R.

You're absolutely right. Any app that you get off the play store scares the crap out of me. But I'm glad everything is working now.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes