Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,110 Members 52,170 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Camera not connecting

Tip us?
 
krakora
Old
(Last edited by krakora; 20th April 2014 at 06:49 PM.) Reason: specific title
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2010
Default [Q] Camera not connecting

I've had my M7 as a back up device for a few months, now just getting to rooting and ROM'ing. The Sense is nice, but I hoping to get as close to a Nexus/clean android experience as possible. I flashed CM11 last night, happy with it except the camera is not working. So... a couple questions:

1) is there any ROMs that the camera actually works? (kitkat?)
2) do I need to find a Sense ROM to make the camera work again?

Thanks all!

R.
 
MurphysLaw0817
Old
#2  
MurphysLaw0817's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by krakora View Post
I've had my M7 as a back up device for a few months, now just getting to rooting and ROM'ing. The Sense is nice, but I hoping to get as close to a Nexus/clean android experience as possible. I flashed CM11 last night, happy with it except the camera is not working. So... a couple questions:

1) is there any ROMs that the camera actually works? (kitkat?)
2) do I need to find a Sense ROM to make the camera work again?

Thanks all!

R.
Hello, R.

I've been a regular user of the CM11 Nightlies (most recently "11-20140319-NIGHTLY-m7spr") as my daily driver and have had no problems with the camera myself.
What, specifically, is it doing or not doing? Is it force closing, freezing, etc., or not opening at all?
 
krakora
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MurphysLaw0817 View Post
Hello, R.

I've been a regular user of the CM11 Nightlies (most recently "11-20140319-NIGHTLY-m7spr") as my daily driver and have had no problems with the camera myself.
What, specifically, is it doing or not doing? Is it force closing, freezing, etc., or not opening at all?
Thanks for the response. It begins to open the application then gives a "Camera Error"... "Can't connect to the camera". I've tried force closing, clearing cache, rebooting. Nothing is working, everything else is perfect. So strange. Also, tried downloading other camera apps from the play store, no go. What else am I missing besides reflashing the whole ROM again??

Thanks again!

Rich
 
BD619
Old
#4  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 7734
Posts: 8,087
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Xda-Dev,NV

 
DONATE TO ME
Greetings,
Please post all questions in Q&A in the future.

Thank You,
BD619
\_(ツ)_/


Frequently Asked Questions - HTC One-M7-Sprint(m7wls) | HTC Evo 4G LTE(Jewel) | HTC One-M8-Sprint(m8_whl)
ROM Cleaner | AROMA | Remove Bloatware | Backup Apps | Install Apps/Mods
ROM Cleaner for HTC Evo 4G LTE or ROM Cleaner for HTC One
My DIY guides on how to root your HTC Evo 4G LTE | HTC One(M7)-Sprint | HTC One(M8)-Sprint


Forum Moderator
 
krakora
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BD619 View Post
Greetings,
Please post all questions in Q&A in the future.

Thank You,
BD619
Understood. Any ideas here guys? After additional searching, one comment was that it could be a conflict in kernals. ie: I flashed a CM ROM but kept a Sense kernal? I am S-On... so not sure if that was the issue.....
 
sauprankul
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 200
Posts: 966
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Jose, CA
If others aren't having this problem, I highly doubt it's a problem with the ROM itself. Would you mind doing a clean wipe and reflashing? And yes, don't flash anything except the CM ROM and the Gapps.
 
krakora
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sauprankul View Post
If others aren't having this problem, I highly doubt it's a problem with the ROM itself. Would you mind doing a clean wipe and reflashing? And yes, don't flash anything except the CM ROM and the Gapps.
Thanks sauprankul. Yes I ended up (re)flashing another ROM and all is working. I used Goo manager, which I'm sure is offensive to the purists out there. . Thanks again for everyone's input.

R.
 
sauprankul
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 200
Posts: 966
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Jose, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by krakora View Post
Thanks sauprankul. Yes I ended up (re)flashing another ROM and all is working. I used Goo manager, which I'm sure is offensive to the purists out there. . Thanks again for everyone's input.

R.
You're absolutely right. Any app that you get off the play store scares the crap out of me. But I'm glad everything is working now.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more

Add Bits and Pieces of Honami to Your Current ROM

In the last few months, we’ve talked about quite a few Sony Honami-related projects. … more

Always Enter the Correct Password with HideNoPasswords

If you’ve ever entered apassword on your mobile device, you’ve surely … more

Revert to Stock Recovery Effortless with Simple Recovery Switcher

Android updates released as OTA packages are very easy to apply,but they … more