Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,424 Members 36,050 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Which Firmware to go with ViperOne 5.8 on Sprint HTC One

Tip us?
 
coctostan
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2013
Default Which Firmware to go with ViperOne 5.8 on Sprint HTC One

I've recently upgraded to ViperOne 5.8 from 3.5 (and prior to that 1.0) on a Sprint HTC One running TWRP 2.7.0.1. I've never updated the firmware, done an S-Off or an Hboot update. Does anyone have recommendations regarding firmware version, hboot version and s-off software that work well with my setup. Thanks in advance.
 
slickrick54
Old
(Last edited by slickrick54; 14th April 2014 at 05:19 PM.)
#2  
slickrick54's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 114
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tampa
Quote:
Originally Posted by coctostan View Post
I've recently upgraded to ViperOne 5.8 from 3.5 (and prior to that 1.0) on a Sprint HTC One running TWRP 2.7.0.1. I've never updated the firmware, done an S-Off or an Hboot update. Does anyone have recommendations regarding firmware version, hboot version and s-off software that work well with my setup. Thanks in advance.
I believe i understood you were s-off already. If so you could update your recovery to the latest 2.7.0.4b and i would update your firmware to the latest as well. As for hboot i flashed roots aroma hboot and worked perfectly.
 
coctostan
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by slickrick54 View Post
I believe i understood you were s-off already. If so you need to update your recovery to at least 2.6.3 and i would update your firmware to the latest. As for hboot i flashed roots aroma hboot and worked perfectly.
No, it is not s-off presently. I originally rooted it a year ago when new and installed ViperOne 1.0.

Do you know where I can find the latest firmware? Are you suggesting I downgrade TWRP from 2.7.0.1 to 2.6.3.0?
 
slickrick54
Old
#4  
slickrick54's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 114
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tampa
Quote:
Originally Posted by coctostan View Post
No, it is not s-off presently. I originally rooted it a year ago when new and installed ViperOne 1.0.

Do you know where I can find the latest firmware? Are you suggesting I downgrade TWRP from 2.7.0.1 to 2.6.3.0?
No dont downgrade your recovery you will be ok there but you can update it if you want. Here is the link to the newest firmware bud http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2687690. I would definitely recommend getting s-off though if i were you
 
coctostan
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by slickrick54 View Post
No dont downgrade your recovery you will be ok there but you can update it if you want. Here is the link to the newest firmware bud http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2687690. I would definitely recommend getting s-off though if i were you
Anybody else have actual experience with a specific Firmware version that works nicely with ViperOne 5.8? My phone works well as it is but it I wouldn't mind getting more up to date performance.
 
slickrick54
Old
#6  
slickrick54's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 114
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tampa
Quote:
Originally Posted by coctostan View Post
Anybody else have actual experience with a specific Firmware version that works nicely with ViperOne 5.8? My phone works well as it is but it I wouldn't mind getting more up to date performance.
Dude i've flashed every firmware update there was. The newest one would be the best for you but if not why not try them all then and find out which one works best for your phone. Here's the link to the newest one if you want http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2687690. Also searching really helps out.
 
coctostan
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by slickrick54 View Post
Dude i've flashed every firmware update there was. The newest one would be the best for you but if not why not try them all then and find out which one works best for your phone. Here's the link to the newest one if you want http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2687690. Also searching really helps out.
Much appreciated. So I flashed the latest firmware from that link and when ViperOne loads back up it keeps showing "Unfortunately Setup has Stopped". Did I do something incorrectly?
 
slickrick54
Old
(Last edited by slickrick54; 21st April 2014 at 05:23 PM.)
#8  
slickrick54's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 114
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tampa
Quote:
Originally Posted by coctostan View Post
Much appreciated. So I flashed the latest firmware from that link and when ViperOne loads back up it keeps showing "Unfortunately Setup has Stopped". Did I do something incorrectly?
To be honest with you i would back up your apps and data with titanium backup from the playstore and then just do a full wipe in twrp meaning system and data as well. Just dont erase internal storage. Then reflash the rom zip and everything will be fresh and new. Then restore everything with titanium.

PS: just to let you know viper one has been updated to sense 6.0 if you check there link again.
 
coctostan
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2013
Unforunately, I can't seem to do that now. Neither TWRP or Philz will allow me to do anything. Did I overwrite the SuperSU app?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes