Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,761 Members 41,609 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] stuck on jb 4.1.2

Tip us?
 
dmnhntr184
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default [Q] stuck on jb 4.1.2

ill start off by saying, im a total nub to this. that said, a few months ago, i stock rooted my phone to scotts rom jb 4.3, ive been having issues with losing data connections recently, be it over at&ts network or wifi, didnt matter. so i decided to unroot my phone, lock the boot loader, and s-on. i tried using this ruu:

RUU_M7_UL_K44_SENSE55_MR_Cingular_US_4.18.502.7_R1 0_Radio_4T.24.3218.09_10.26.1718.01L_release_35656 5_signed_2

to go back to stock, but apparently the radios didnt match and i resorted to using the stock ruu which was:

RUU_M7_UL_JB_50_Cingular_US_1.26.502.12_Radio_4A.1 4.3250.13_10.33.1150.01_release_318450_signed_2

only problem with this is im now back to JB 4.1.2 and cant do an OTA update with AT&T. i have called their tech support to see if they could push the update, but they dont seem to know what theyre doing and said i should try "the htc website and download it from there". so anyway, my question is, can the rom be updated straight from jb 4.1.2 to kk 4.4 using an RUU? or do i have to do the updates sequentially? there was a later release with a slightly different radio which was:

RUU M7 UL JB 50 Cingular US 1.26.502.15 Radio 4A.17.3250.20 10.40.1150.04 Release 326691 Signed 2

so i dont know if i can just run that and then do the OTA for kk 4.4? or run that and then do the RUU for kk 4.4? im at a total loss.

cid: cws_001
mid: PN0712000
stock/s-on currently
 
GalaxyUser50
Old
#2  
GalaxyUser50's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 95
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmnhntr184 View Post
ill start off by saying, im a total nub to this. that said, a few months ago, i stock rooted my phone to scotts rom jb 4.3, ive been having issues with losing data connections recently, be it over at&ts network or wifi, didnt matter. so i decided to unroot my phone, lock the boot loader, and s-on. i tried using this ruu:

RUU_M7_UL_K44_SENSE55_MR_Cingular_US_4.18.502.7_R1 0_Radio_4T.24.3218.09_10.26.1718.01L_release_35656 5_signed_2

to go back to stock, but apparently the radios didnt match and i resorted to using the stock ruu which was:

RUU_M7_UL_JB_50_Cingular_US_1.26.502.12_Radio_4A.1 4.3250.13_10.33.1150.01_release_318450_signed_2

only problem with this is im now back to JB 4.1.2 and cant do an OTA update with AT&T. i have called their tech support to see if they could push the update, but they dont seem to know what theyre doing and said i should try "the htc website and download it from there". so anyway, my question is, can the rom be updated straight from jb 4.1.2 to kk 4.4 using an RUU? or do i have to do the updates sequentially? there was a later release with a slightly different radio which was:

RUU M7 UL JB 50 Cingular US 1.26.502.15 Radio 4A.17.3250.20 10.40.1150.04 Release 326691 Signed 2

so i dont know if i can just run that and then do the OTA for kk 4.4? or run that and then do the RUU for kk 4.4? im at a total loss.

cid: cws_001
mid: PN0712000
stock/s-on currently
I'm sorry so you can or can't take OTA's? If you can, you could always do that back to 4.4, only problem being at&t's wait 24hrs.The kit kat ruu should run as long as it's signed (since you are S-ON). Have you tried running it after you flashed that stock ruu?
 
dmnhntr184
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by GalaxyUser50 View Post
I'm sorry so you can or ca't take OTA's? If you can, you could always do that back to 4.4, only problem being at&t's wait 24hrs.The kit kat ruu should run as long as it's signed (since you are S-ON). Have you tried running it after you flashed that stock ruu?
I couldnt, but after talking to an HTC rep, they informed me that once the phone has been rooted You can't take ota updates. So I have to wait for the ruu to be released. According to them it isn't yet, so I resorted to rooting again and flashing gpe kk 4.4
 
mb_guy
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 334
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmnhntr184 View Post
I couldnt, but after talking to an HTC rep, they informed me that once the phone has been rooted You can't take ota updates. So I have to wait for the ruu to be released. According to them it isn't yet, so I resorted to rooting again and flashing gpe kk 4.4
See this thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2659374
Phone: HTC One- Rogers unlocked
Rom: 4.4.2 Stock Sense 6
Stock Kernel

Old Phone: HTC Sensation, HD2, Tilt
Rom: ARHD
kernel: stock
 
clsA
Old
#5  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 838
Posts: 3,115
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmnhntr184 View Post
I couldnt, but after talking to an HTC rep, they informed me that once the phone has been rooted You can't take ota updates. So I have to wait for the ruu to be released. According to them it isn't yet, so I resorted to rooting again and flashing gpe kk 4.4
The JB 4.3 RUU will take the OTA update no problem
get it from HTC here >> http://dl3.htc.com/application/RUU_M...5_signed_2.exe

you'll have to relock your bootloader if your not s-off

---------- Post added at 04:35 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:33 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by mb_guy View Post
thanks for the mention
HTC One 32 GB AT&T

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes