FORUMS

LG G4 XDA Forum Opened

LG’s latest & greatest is just a few hours away from launching, and with so many power users that are … more

Android Wear Close to Running on Samsung Gear 2

Android is an OS that can sometimes be ported to run on devices not designed to … more

The Curious Case Of The Flash Sale

What do the horses in the Xiaomi stable, notably the Mi 3, Mi 4, Redmi 1S, Redmi 2 & Redmi Note … more

3D Printable Mobile Microscope? Nexus 7 Discontinued – XDA TV

The Nexus 7 2013 has been discontinued on the Google Store! That and … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] No Audio at All on Custom KitKat ROMs, Ideas?

19th April 2014, 03:55 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I have now tried both CM11 and Slimkat 4.4, both ROMs, after flashing leave the device with no audio output at all. No ringtone, music, headphone output, call audio, nothing. Device is ATT S3 i747. Flashed back to stock JB 4.3 and audio issue is fixed every time. I really would like to run a custom ROM on my phone, but this issue makes it impossible. Does anyone know what could be causing the issue. Does it sound like a kernel or bootloader issue?
Last edited by MeatyFingers; 19th April 2014 at 04:00 AM.
 
 
19th April 2014, 02:56 PM |#2  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,733
 
More
Try this:

1) wipe cache, Dalvik, data, and system before installing the ROM;
2) install ROM and, before rebooting, wipe cache and Dalvik again;
3) boot into the rom.
21st April 2014, 12:03 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Try this:

1) wipe cache, Dalvik, data, and system before installing the ROM;
2) install ROM and, before rebooting, wipe cache and Dalvik again;
3) boot into the rom.

Definitely followed that process to a T just now. Still no audio on anything. grrr.
21st April 2014, 12:06 AM |#4  
UnXKnown0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 68
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeatyFingers

Definitely followed that process to a T just now. Still no audio on anything. grrr.

Just to be certain, what is your recovery. I would recommend twrp 2.7.0.0. Maybe you have an old recovery that's messing with flashing ROMs. Idk just a guess.
21st April 2014, 03:44 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnXKnown0

Just to be certain, what is your recovery. I would recommend twrp 2.7.0.0. Maybe you have an old recovery that's messing with flashing ROMs. Idk just a guess.


I am running Clockworkmod 6.0.4.7 touch version which I found on the clockworkmod website under ATT s3
21st April 2014, 04:16 PM |#6  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,733
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeatyFingers

I am running Clockworkmod 6.0.4.7 touch version which I found on the clockworkmod website under ATT s3

Try flashing Validus 13's ROM. I have that on my s3 and it works fine.
21st April 2014, 10:33 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Flag cairo
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
try this out !!
Personally i find philz touch recovry the best when it comes to flashing kitkar roms.. It might be wierd but basically i flashed the recovery from 'smart phone revolution-aroma bloat installer'

http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...-v7-0-t2541054

I then use the option of "yes I'm flashing a new rom" in factory reset..
Try it out !!

Hope it helps..
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank