Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,777,785 Members 46,798 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] No Audio at All on Custom KitKat ROMs, Ideas?

Tip us?
 
MeatyFingers
Old
(Last edited by MeatyFingers; 19th April 2014 at 04:00 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2014
Question [Q] No Audio at All on Custom KitKat ROMs, Ideas?

I have now tried both CM11 and Slimkat 4.4, both ROMs, after flashing leave the device with no audio output at all. No ringtone, music, headphone output, call audio, nothing. Device is ATT S3 i747. Flashed back to stock JB 4.3 and audio issue is fixed every time. I really would like to run a custom ROM on my phone, but this issue makes it impossible. Does anyone know what could be causing the issue. Does it sound like a kernel or bootloader issue?
 
audit13
Old
#2  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 373
Posts: 2,300
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Try this:

1) wipe cache, Dalvik, data, and system before installing the ROM;
2) install ROM and, before rebooting, wipe cache and Dalvik again;
3) boot into the rom.
 
MeatyFingers
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Try this:

1) wipe cache, Dalvik, data, and system before installing the ROM;
2) install ROM and, before rebooting, wipe cache and Dalvik again;
3) boot into the rom.
Definitely followed that process to a T just now. Still no audio on anything. grrr.
 
UnXKnown0
Old
#4  
UnXKnown0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 119
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeatyFingers View Post
Definitely followed that process to a T just now. Still no audio on anything. grrr.
Just to be certain, what is your recovery. I would recommend twrp 2.7.0.0. Maybe you have an old recovery that's messing with flashing ROMs. Idk just a guess.
 
MeatyFingers
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnXKnown0 View Post
Just to be certain, what is your recovery. I would recommend twrp 2.7.0.0. Maybe you have an old recovery that's messing with flashing ROMs. Idk just a guess.

I am running Clockworkmod 6.0.4.7 touch version which I found on the clockworkmod website under ATT s3
 
audit13
Old
#6  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 373
Posts: 2,300
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeatyFingers View Post
I am running Clockworkmod 6.0.4.7 touch version which I found on the clockworkmod website under ATT s3
Try flashing Validus 13's ROM. I have that on my s3 and it works fine.
 
ahmedshazly
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: cairo
Default try this out !!

Personally i find philz touch recovry the best when it comes to flashing kitkar roms.. It might be wierd but basically i flashed the recovery from 'smart phone revolution-aroma bloat installer'

http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...-v7-0-t2541054

I then use the option of "yes I'm flashing a new rom" in factory reset..
Try it out !!

Hope it helps..

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add Bits and Pieces of Honami to Your Current ROM

In the last few months, we’ve talked about quite a few Sony Honami-related projects. … more

Always Enter the Correct Password with HideNoPasswords

If you’ve ever entered apassword on your mobile device, you’ve surely … more

Revert to Stock Recovery Effortless with Simple Recovery Switcher

Android updates released as OTA packages are very easy to apply,but they … more

Convert PNGs into RLEs Easily on Any OS with PNG2RLE

Unlike other operating systems, Android uses its own graphical image formats. Most of … more