Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,761 Members 41,654 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Galaxy S5 USB3 - or not!

Tip us?
 
markymarkis
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 88
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default Galaxy S5 USB3 - or not!

Hi,
I've tried using a USB3.0 cable but my system still says its only running at high speed (usb 2) not super speed (usb3)
same results with mac os and windows 8.1

windows: using usbview on windows as documented here :
http://blogs.msdn.com/b/usbcoreblog/...uperspeed.aspx

mac: using system information.

is this a firmware limitation or is it happening with every unit?
 
altimax98
Old
#2  
altimax98's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 444
Posts: 1,698
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mulberry, Florida
There should be a setting in the storage area to enable USB 3.0. By default it will always initially connect at 2.0 unless that toggle is flipped

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk
Phones:
  • Motorola Q, Motorola Q9C, Samsung Omnia, Motorola Droid,
  • HTC Incredible, HTC Thunderbolt, Droid RAZR, Toro, Maguro, HTC One, Note 3
  • Nexus 5, Galaxy S5, HTC One (M8)
Tablets/Other:
  • B&N Nook Color, HP Touchpad, iPad(2012),Nexus7 (12 & 13), Nexus 10, Toshiba Chromebook
 
markymarkis
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 88
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by altimax98 View Post
There should be a setting in the storage area to enable USB 3.0. By default it will always initially connect at 2.0 unless that toggle is flipped

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk
does anyone know where to find that toggle?
 
altimax98
Old
#4  
altimax98's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 444
Posts: 1,698
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mulberry, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by markymarkis View Post
does anyone know where to find that toggle?
Itll be on the USB PC connection screen. Plug your S5 into the PC and tap the notification that should say Connected as MTP. Itll bring you to the screen with the selection. Itll have to be enabled each time you connect the cable from what I know
Phones:
  • Motorola Q, Motorola Q9C, Samsung Omnia, Motorola Droid,
  • HTC Incredible, HTC Thunderbolt, Droid RAZR, Toro, Maguro, HTC One, Note 3
  • Nexus 5, Galaxy S5, HTC One (M8)
Tablets/Other:
  • B&N Nook Color, HP Touchpad, iPad(2012),Nexus7 (12 & 13), Nexus 10, Toshiba Chromebook
 
markymarkis
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 88
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by altimax98 View Post
Itll be on the USB PC connection screen. Plug your S5 into the PC and tap the notification that should say Connected as MTP. Itll bring you to the screen with the selection. Itll have to be enabled each time you connect the cable from what I know
I've never seen that option, if i plug in the usb cable then go to notifications and click "connected as a media device"
when i tap it i get the option to connect as a media device (mtp) or camera (ptp)
and nothing else.
no other option, no menu.
 
altimax98
Old
#6  
altimax98's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 444
Posts: 1,698
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mulberry, Florida
You are using a USB 3.0 cable and port with USB 3.0 drivers installed?

Especially the driver part

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Phones:
  • Motorola Q, Motorola Q9C, Samsung Omnia, Motorola Droid,
  • HTC Incredible, HTC Thunderbolt, Droid RAZR, Toro, Maguro, HTC One, Note 3
  • Nexus 5, Galaxy S5, HTC One (M8)
Tablets/Other:
  • B&N Nook Color, HP Touchpad, iPad(2012),Nexus7 (12 & 13), Nexus 10, Toshiba Chromebook
 
markymarkis
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 88
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by altimax98 View Post
You are using a USB 3.0 cable and port with USB 3.0 drivers installed?

Especially the driver part

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
of course.
 
markymarkis
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 88
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by markymarkis View Post
of course.
ok i have found the reason.
the Australian firmware (straight from samsung, not carrier related) is severely crippled.
it has usb 3 disabled completely.

i flashed the taiwanese firmware on my device and now under windows when i plug it in i get the usb3 option on the phone, when activated it works perfectly. mac osx doesn't work.

i can't believe how crippled the Australian firmware is, no auto rotate in gallery, not able to turn off shutter sound in camera, can't modify the dock. no camera on lock screen, no usb3 support, and probably more...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...