Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,749 Members 51,021 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Downgrade from 4.4.2 to 4.3 using Mac OS.

Tip us?
 
pball52998
Old
#21  
pball52998's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 102
Posts: 457
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
you might want to reset your phone using a ruu before to make sure your issue is really related to an hardware defect.

This ruu.zip will reset your phone to stock 1.28.401.7 (android 4.1.2) and hboot 1.44.

Then if you see the phone still have the issue, remove the tampered flag and set the bootloader back to ''LOCKED'' using this tool. Then s-on and send for warranty repair/replacement. This procedure must be done before you take any ota that will update your phone to hboot 1.55 or the tampered flag will come back and you'll have to s-off again and redo the entire procedure.

---------- Post added at 05:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:10 PM ----------



Make sure the ruu.zip is in the same folder where adb and fastboot are.

Code:
./adb reboot bootloader
or manually reboot the phone in bootloader using power + vol down
Code:
./fastboot oem rebootRUU
make sure ''RUU'' are capital letters
Code:
./fastboot flash name_of_ruu.zip
First time it will output a failed message, do the same command again:
Code:
./fastboot flash name_of_ruu.zip
@alray ahhh good point I forgot the second time and with putting it in the adb/fastboot folder. But I've heard that you didn't need s-on to send it back as long as your just *LOCKED*. Eh may each individual phone differ from the other. Thanks for fixing my mistakes
Main Phone:
Verizon HTC One M8
Liquid Smooth 4.4.4 Nightlies and GPE With L S-OFF
Main MP3 Player and WiFi Device
HTC OG Droid Incredible S-OFF: Cyanogenmod 11
Current Tablet
iPad First Gen. iOS 5.1.1 Jailbroken with GreenPois0n
 
alray
Old
#22  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 913
Posts: 2,370
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by pball52998 View Post
@alrayBut I've heard that you didn't need s-on to send it back as long as your just *LOCKED*.
Yes in most places, they will not care about S-OFF but some members here reported that their local service center refused to honor the warranty because the phone was S-OFF. Personally, I wouldn't S-ON.
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
 
hzlx
Old
#23  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Milan
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
you might want to reset your phone using a ruu before to make sure your issue is really related to an hardware defect.

This ruu.zip will reset your phone to stock 1.28.401.7 (android 4.1.2) and hboot 1.44.

Then if you see the phone still have the issue, remove the tampered flag and set the bootloader back to ''LOCKED'' using this tool. Then s-on and send for warranty repair/replacement. This procedure must be done before you take any ota that will update your phone to hboot 1.55 or the tampered flag will come back and you'll have to s-off again and redo the entire procedure.

---------- Post added at 05:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:10 PM ----------



Make sure the ruu.zip is in the same folder where adb and fastboot are.

Code:
./adb reboot bootloader
or manually reboot the phone in bootloader using power + vol down
Code:
./fastboot oem rebootRUU
make sure ''RUU'' are capital letters
Code:
./fastboot flash name_of_ruu.zip
First time it will output a failed message, do the same command again:
Code:
./fastboot flash name_of_ruu.zip
So... i continued with the signal problems, with 4.3 ... so i came back to the forum to check these instructions... i've downloaded the ZIP file, and inserted the codes in terminal (just had to make these fixes:


Code:
./flashboot reboot-bootloader
or manually reboot the phone in bootloader using power + vol down (added a hyphen)
Code:
./fastboot oem rebootRUU
make sure ''RUU'' are capital letters (this one was ok)
Code:
./fastboot flash zip name_of_ruu.zip
added "zip" before the name of the file.
Code:
./fastboot flash zip name_of_ruu.zip
added "zip" before the name of the file.

now i'm trying with version 4.1 to see if problems persist.
 
alray
Old
(Last edited by alray; 22nd April 2014 at 03:26 AM.)
#24  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 913
Posts: 2,370
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by hzlx View Post
So... i continued with the signal problems, with 4.3 ... so i came back to the forum to check these instructions... i've downloaded the ZIP file, and inserted the codes in terminal (just had to make these fixes:


Code:
./flashboot reboot-bootloader
or manually reboot the phone in bootloader using power + vol down (added a hyphen)
Code:
./fastboot oem rebootRUU
make sure ''RUU'' are capital letters (this one was ok)
Code:
./fastboot flash zip name_of_ruu.zip
added "zip" before the name of the file.
Code:
./fastboot flash zip name_of_ruu.zip
added "zip" before the name of the file.

now i'm trying with version 4.1 to see if problems persist.
yes you are correct i forgot the ''zip'' in ''fastboot flash zip name_of_file.zip''

./flashboot reboot-bootloader is incorrect. its fastboot not flashboot.

use either adb reboot bootloader without a hyphen when phone is in OS or recovery or fastboot reboot-bootloader when phone is in bootloader. And btw if the phone is already in bootloader mode, you don't have to reboot it using fastboot reboot-bootloader before going in ruu mode.
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes