How to Disable Data Encryption on Nexus 6

In late September, Google decided to step on NSA’s toes and turn on encryption by default in … more

DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Review – XDA TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about gifts now? Youll be ahead … more

Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Need some help.

OP lemonoid

22nd April 2014, 08:54 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Boone, NC
Thanks Meter: 20
 
411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Man, I've been out of the Android loop like never before. Probably since right when kit-kat builds started hitting. Anyways, I've been running Venom for months, and just last night my phone started crashing like crazy. Every time it would turn on, just the smallest bit of interaction would make it restart. At some point I must have deleted the ROMs off my storage, because I finally got into TWRP and wiped my data. But couldn't find any ROMs, so LUCKILY I was able to flash through ADB Sideload. Thank god I set up the SDK on this new computer months ago. Anyways, I was able to flash an old SlimBean I had on my hard drive. The DNA is still having issues. Its not restarting every time I do something like last night, but close to it. Any time I get a phone call, I'm able to pick up and talk for 5 seconds, then it restarts. Can anyone help me out here? I thought about wiping internal storage but I'm not sure what problems that will cause. I'm still on JB with an old version of TWRP. The phone is not messing up while in recovery, so I was thinking about flashing new version of TWRP and installing a newer ROM. I don't know if that will help, anyone got any ideas?

ALSO, I no longer have insurance on my device and my screen is cracked. However, it has been less than 12 months since I purchased, so I may still have the one-year warranty, but unless I could get back to stock really easy, I doubt I could pass it off for a warranty replacement.
Last edited by lemonoid; 22nd April 2014 at 08:56 PM.
22nd April 2014, 09:22 PM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Flag Boone, NC
Thanks Meter: 20
 
411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Does anyone know how I can get fastboot to work? I don't mean in general, I have never had a problem really using fastboot, but when I get into fastboot and check with devices, I'm returning nothing, and I want to flash a new recovery. I know on some ROMs there is a way to turn fastboot on and off, but I'm not seeing anything in this ROM (slimbean-dlx)

Also, just now updating this, but adb won't return a device ID either. I'm not sure why. I believe in recovery it recognizes the device. it did last night. that's how I was able to flash a ROM
Last edited by lemonoid; 22nd April 2014 at 09:26 PM.
23rd April 2014, 12:24 AM   |  #3  
Jaggar345's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Amston
Thanks Meter: 155
 
1,090 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemonoid

Does anyone know how I can get fastboot to work? I don't mean in general, I have never had a problem really using fastboot, but when I get into fastboot and check with devices, I'm returning nothing, and I want to flash a new recovery. I know on some ROMs there is a way to turn fastboot on and off, but I'm not seeing anything in this ROM (slimbean-dlx)

Also, just now updating this, but adb won't return a device ID either. I'm not sure why. I believe in recovery it recognizes the device. it did last night. that's how I was able to flash a ROM

I would suggest ruu the device back to stock and then try. But I never get my device to show in fastboot and I send recoveries to it all the time. So just flash one at and if it goes you should be able to boot into it and then flash rom.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to Jaggar345 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th April 2014, 01:14 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Boone, NC
Thanks Meter: 20
 
411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
thanks I'll try it. Even though it wouldn't show my device in fastboot yesterday, i tried flashing the newest TWRP but it didn't do anything. However, the phone has become somewhat stable. It is still rebooting on phone calls, and the UI is REALLY weird. I've never seen it before, the entire UI is really small and zoomed out. Everything operates like normal, but EVERYTHING is about 1/10 the size its supposed to be. I've flashed two different old ROMs and re-flashed the one I am using now (Beanstalk)
24th April 2014, 01:31 AM   |  #5  
Jaggar345's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Amston
Thanks Meter: 155
 
1,090 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemonoid

thanks I'll try it. Even though it wouldn't show my device in fastboot yesterday, i tried flashing the newest TWRP but it didn't do anything. However, the phone has become somewhat stable. It is still rebooting on phone calls, and the UI is REALLY weird. I've never seen it before, the entire UI is really small and zoomed out. Everything operates like normal, but EVERYTHING is about 1/10 the size its supposed to be. I've flashed two different old ROMs and re-flashed the one I am using now (Beanstalk)

Hopefully performing the ruu will fix that. Sounds like a system file may have become corrupted.

Sent from my Droid DNA. If I have helped you in any way please press the thanks button.
24th April 2014, 02:07 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Boone, NC
Thanks Meter: 20
 
411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
I have never had to RUU before. The DNA was my first HTC since Eris, and I've never really messed up to the point of RUU'ing. Should I just download the most recent RUU and run that? Or would I need to flash anything else with it? such as hboot or recovery?? I have the 3.06 radio/recovery/hboot's downloaded. my brain still operates in samsung and moto modes. I have only managed to irreversibly brick one device out of at least 30 and I would not want that to be my daily driver
24th April 2014, 02:28 AM   |  #7  
orangechoochoo's Avatar
Senior Member
Beating up dumbbells
Thanks Meter: 608
 
1,973 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Maybe the cracked screen is messing with the digitizer and then causes ROM havoc?

---------- Post added at 05:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:26 PM ----------

What Windows version are you using?
24th April 2014, 02:32 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Boone, NC
Thanks Meter: 20
 
411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
maybe, I mean, the screen has been cracked for at least 8 months. I'm using 8.1. unfortunately. I didn't realize when I bought this computer how hard it would be for me to get back to Ubuntu which is my preferred. It is so much easier to do anything with Android on Ubuntu IMO.
24th April 2014, 02:51 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Boone, NC
Thanks Meter: 20
 
411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Am I correct in reading a comment somewhere that Fastboot drivers don't work on Windows 8.1??? Does this mean I can't RUU?
24th April 2014, 03:11 AM   |  #10  
orangechoochoo's Avatar
Senior Member
Beating up dumbbells
Thanks Meter: 608
 
1,973 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
I think there's some way to get it working on Windows 8, but you would have to search. Most people just find a W7 computer and get it done.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes