Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] HELP!!! Rom Update Utility Error 155

OP TR3Y

21st April 2014, 11:13 PM   |  #31  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

a corrupt or incomplete download would certainly complicate things
MD5 check your downloads





Looks like I am good to go here
Last edited by TR3Y; 21st April 2014 at 11:30 PM.
21st April 2014, 11:25 PM   |  #32  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

Can't say, I only did a binary compare on the firmware from the 4.18.502.7 OTA and the supposedly 4.20.502.1 RUU... and everything was a match. Don't have the picture anymore, sorry.



Also can't help much there, only thing I can say, was trying the 4.19.401.9 RUU.EXE and encrypted ruu.zip (extracted from the temp folder) for more than a few times, with some really weird errors, until the guy changed PCs... though he tried a USB2 port on the same PC, etc. etc. etc. he finally got it working by using a different "cleaner" (not so many programs, antivirus, firewall).
PS: He was S-On.

---------- Post added at 12:09 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:08 AM ----------



check MD5





everything seems to be checking out correctly here.
Last edited by TR3Y; 21st April 2014 at 11:28 PM.
21st April 2014, 11:37 PM   |  #33  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,072
 
6,197 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TR3Y

everything seems to be checking out correctly here.

and you're running an EXE on mac? (sorry i'm not really following your thread, i apologize, but you're in very good hands with @cschmitt and @clsA)

the error the other guy was getting with 4.19.401.9 encrypted ruu.zip was:
Code:
C:\adb fastboot flash zip ruu_4.19.401.9.zip
invalid sparse file format at header magi
error: write_sparse_skip_chunk: don't care size 92833182 is not a multiple of the block size 4096
sending sparse 'zip' (1478684KB)...
error: write_sparse_skip_chunk: don't care size 92833182 is not a multiple of the block size 4096
I don't know if it would have gone through, but after the above i CTRL-C'd out.


after changing to a different PC, he used the RUU.EXE and all went through just fine.
it could have been anything from the language setup on his PC, the ports, antivirus, etc. etc.
(the RUU.EXE would just exist without any progress, and the ruu.zip gave the above error)

Good Luck
21st April 2014, 11:38 PM   |  #34  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

and you're running an EXE on mac? (sorry i'm not really following your thread, i apologize, but you're in very good hands with @cschmitt and @clsA)

the error the other guy was getting with 4.19.401.9 encrypted ruu.zip was:

Code:
C:\adb fastboot flash zip ruu_4.19.401.9.zip
invalid sparse file format at header magi
error: write_sparse_skip_chunk: don't care size 92833182 is not a multiple of the block size 4096
sending sparse 'zip' (1478684KB)...
error: write_sparse_skip_chunk: don't care size 92833182 is not a multiple of the block size 4096
I don't know if it would have gone through, but after the above i CTRL-C'd out.


after changing to a different PC, he used the RUU.EXE and all went through just fine.
it could have been anything from the language setup on his PC, the ports, antivirus, etc. etc.
(the RUU.EXE would just exist without any progress, and the ruu.zip gave the above error)

Good Luck

this is my work computer, sorry. i have a windows 7 laptop at home that I have been using for the RUU. I wouldn't use my mac for running RUU, that would be silly...
Also, interesting. everything seems to match up with the encrypted ruu.zip... I don't see how the error would happen.
Last edited by TR3Y; 21st April 2014 at 11:49 PM.
21st April 2014, 11:59 PM   |  #35  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,072
 
6,197 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TR3Y

Hello everyone,

I have an unlocked AT&T HTC One (M7) that I am using on T-Mobile.
I am not rooted (I do not wish to be rooted at this time), and I have managed to get up to version 4.3 by use of the HTC RUU, but when I try to get to android version 4.4, the RUU shows error 155. How would I fix this?

Help Please

-TR3Y

Quote:
Originally Posted by TR3Y

it doesn't appear to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TR3Y

this is my work computer, sorry. i have a windows 7 laptop at home that I have been using for the RUU. I wouldn't use my mac for running RUU, that would be silly...
Also, interesting. everything seems to match up with the encrypted ruu.zip... I don't see how the error would happen.

It wouldnt be silly, under the right circumstances I guess.


But, I've just quickly read through your thread, and say you have an unlocked phone (I assume you mean SIM-unlocked, not bootloader unlocked) due to above quotes..... then why can't you install the OTA (either manually or using update on your phone?)
I couldn't see the video you posted, says it's private so didnt see what the error was.
22nd April 2014, 04:57 AM   |  #36  
pauley's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
258 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
FWIW my One was s-off and still couldn't successfully run the RUU from androidruu mentioned in this thread either until after I did a manual flash of the OTA zip. It was stuck on 3.18.502.7 but not anymore
22nd April 2014, 08:22 PM   |  #37  
sharksfan7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 62
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
I've been running into similar issues trying to flash the decrypted 4.18.502.7 RUU on my One. I'm S-OFF & unlocked bootloader. Originally I tried flashing the ruu.zip after deleting the HBOOT & recovery images. When that failed I tried flashing the full decrypted zip, but that failed also with the same error. I verified md5 before every flash.

O:\Android\HTC_One\RUU>fastboot flash zip ruu.zip
target reported max download size of 1526722560 bytes
Invalid sparse file format at header magi
sending sparse 'zip' (0 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.156s]
writing 'zip'...
(bootloader) zip header checking...
(bootloader) shift signature_size for header checking...
FAILED (remote: 32 header error)
finished. total time: 0.359s

Was planning on trying with the signed exe this weekend but after reading through this, I'm thinking that may not work either.

So if I were to run the 3.17.502.3 RUU then take the OTA, would that leave me with the exact same setup as the 4.18.502.7 RUU? Same ROM, same radio, same firmware?
22nd April 2014, 10:06 PM   |  #38  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

It wouldnt be silly, under the right circumstances I guess.


But, I've just quickly read through your thread, and say you have an unlocked phone (I assume you mean SIM-unlocked, not bootloader unlocked) due to above quotes..... then why can't you install the OTA (either manually or using update on your phone?)
I couldn't see the video you posted, says it's private so didnt see what the error was.

Yeah. I meant SIM unlocked. When the owner of the phone chooses to unlock the phone. The individual is no longer allowed to receive updates from the original carrier (in this case AT&T). It was the same way with my One X (which I did get 4.2.2 on because it was HTC official). I am hoping the next HTC update (Sense 6 KitKat) will make it to RUU format. Until then, I am happy with 4.3 Jelly Bean.

I edited my first post to avoid the confusion.

Hope that helps.
Last edited by TR3Y; 22nd April 2014 at 10:15 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes