Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,941 Members 38,537 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

what do i rename the rom name to flash in bootloader

Tip us?
 
sogone209
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 125
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Default what do i rename the rom name to flash in bootloader

for example htc rezound if you rename the rom name to PH98IMG you can reboot into bootloader and flash the rom automatically. how do I do that? asking because I don't have a rom on my phone (I wiped everything) now trying to get a rom loaded on it
 
Chilidog
Old
#2  
Chilidog's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 585
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by sogone209 View Post
for example htc rezound if you rename the rom name to PH98IMG you can reboot into bootloader and flash the rom automatically. how do I do that? asking because I don't have a rom on my phone (I wiped everything) now trying to get a rom loaded on it
Your Rom can be named whatever you want as long as you write the name the same in the command and Idk if there is an automatic way like that, I doubt it.
 
cmlusco
Old
#3  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 922
Posts: 3,138
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan City, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
This cant be done with roms, only with ruu's and firmware images. You would need a usb-otg cable, a fat32 formated flash drive, and the correct name would be PN07IMG.zip
Sent From My HTC One (M7WLV) S-OFF Rooted
Hboot: 1.56.0000 (Unlocked)
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.4
Baseband: 1.13.41.0109_2
Kernel: ElementalX 13.5
PRL: 15287
Rom: Stock OTA 3.11.605.1

VZW HTC One Files - VZW1FILES.DYNDNS.ORG

HTC Incredible Files - DINC.DOES-IT.NET
The Following User Says Thank You to cmlusco For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sogone209
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 125
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Eugene, Oregon
im so stuck now. the htc resound was so much easier.

im s-off but stuck with no rom at all to load.

I kno how to adb sideload a rom to my phone but non of them are installing.

how can I return to stock?
 
Chilidog
Old
#5  
Chilidog's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 585
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by sogone209 View Post
im so stuck now. the htc resound was so much easier.

im s-off but stuck with no rom at all to load.

I kno how to adb sideload a rom to my phone but non of them are installing.

how can I return to stock?
Ruu
The Following User Says Thank You to Chilidog For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sogone209
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 125
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilidog View Post
Ruu
more information would be nice. I cant not find a ruu zip or exe downloadwith vzw_001 thats my cid I believe.

so I will have to get that ruu and adb sidload it and then install from twrp? or fastboot oem rebootRUU install it that way?

detailed information would be greatly appreciated my hboot is the dreaded 1.56 I am s-off tho unlocked.
 
cmlusco
Old
(Last edited by cmlusco; 22nd April 2014 at 07:50 PM.)
#7  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 922
Posts: 3,138
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan City, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
You can get the ruu's at the bottom of this post http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=46506621

You can direct flash thru hboot as i explained earlier, or use
Code:
fastboot oem rebootRUU
Code:
fastboot flash zip nameoffile.zip
You do not sideload the zip to the phone, but put it on your pc in the same folder as fastboot.exe.
Sent From My HTC One (M7WLV) S-OFF Rooted
Hboot: 1.56.0000 (Unlocked)
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.4
Baseband: 1.13.41.0109_2
Kernel: ElementalX 13.5
PRL: 15287
Rom: Stock OTA 3.11.605.1

VZW HTC One Files - VZW1FILES.DYNDNS.ORG

HTC Incredible Files - DINC.DOES-IT.NET
 
sogone209
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 125
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmlusco View Post
You can get the ruu's at the bottom of this post http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=46506621

You can direct flash thru hboot as i explained earlier, or use
Code:
fastboot oem rebootRUU
Code:
fastboot flash zip nameoffile.zip
You do not sideload the zip to the phone, but put it on your pc in the same folder as fastboot.exe.
hmm thank you so much. and for some reason encrypted ruu doesn't work? but isn't that like how stock comes from the factory? I would like it to be factory stock to the max. then im gunna just debloat it.
 
cmlusco
Old
#9  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 922
Posts: 3,138
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan City, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
For encrypted to work you must relock your bootloader. Either way you are getting the exact same thing. Encrypted / decrypted refer to the flashable file it self, not the files it contains or how they are put on the phone. Once you do the ruu and take the ota, you will be compleet stock other than being unlocked and s-off.
Sent From My HTC One (M7WLV) S-OFF Rooted
Hboot: 1.56.0000 (Unlocked)
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.4
Baseband: 1.13.41.0109_2
Kernel: ElementalX 13.5
PRL: 15287
Rom: Stock OTA 3.11.605.1

VZW HTC One Files - VZW1FILES.DYNDNS.ORG

HTC Incredible Files - DINC.DOES-IT.NET

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Old but Gold Internet Browser is a Blast from the Past

A Web browser is one of these applications that we can’t live without. We useit … more

Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more

Android L Will Have Data Encryption Turned On by Default

Android L, once it is eventually released, will featuredata encryption turned on by … more

Lock Apps and Functions Easily with Droid Protector

Access and security are some of the key issues facingmobile technology. Whether … more