Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,137 Members 50,443 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

No OS installed - but can boot to Safestrap

Tip us?
 
delfinparis
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 120
Join Date: May 2008
Default No OS installed - but can boot to Safestrap

I somehow screwed up a flash and now I have no OS installed but I can boot to Safestrap recovery. Any ideas on how to get the OS loaded? I'm going to see if I have an micro SD to SD converter so I can load the OS there and try to flash via external SD. Is there another way? Thanks!
 
theorioles33
Old
#2  
theorioles33's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 659
Posts: 773
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by delfinparis View Post
I somehow screwed up a flash and now I have no OS installed but I can boot to Safestrap recovery. Any ideas on how to get the OS loaded? I'm going to see if I have an micro SD to SD converter so I can load the OS there and try to flash via external SD. Is there another way? Thanks!
I think the way you mentioned is the best and only way. Good luck!

What ROM are you going to flash?
 
jim256
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 862
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by delfinparis View Post
I somehow screwed up a flash and now I have no OS installed but I can boot to Safestrap recovery. Any ideas on how to get the OS loaded? I'm going to see if I have an micro SD to SD converter so I can load the OS there and try to flash via external SD. Is there another way? Thanks!
I had the same issue, and tried flashing multiple times via the external SD. Unfortunately, given that I got to your current situation by wiping everything but the external SD, it still wouldn't work. I flashed multiple times, but it always just said that it couldn't mount /data and /system. I ended up doing the MJ5 Restore found here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2559715

Trouble is, now I can't seem to get back to KK for the life of me....good luck!
 
delfinparis
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 120
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim256 View Post
I had the same issue, and tried flashing multiple times via the external SD. Unfortunately, given that I got to your current situation by wiping everything but the external SD, it still wouldn't work. I flashed multiple times, but it always just said that it couldn't mount /data and /system. I ended up doing the MJ5 Restore found here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2559715

Trouble is, now I can't seem to get back to KK for the life of me....good luck!
Yep - I used the MJ5 Restore and all is right with the world again. Thanks guys!!!
 
jim256
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 862
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by delfinparis View Post
Yep - I used the MJ5 Restore and all is right with the world again. Thanks guys!!!
You going to stick with JB then or go KK?
 
delfinparis
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 120
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim256 View Post
You going to stick with JB then or go KK?
I went to KK - you're not able to?
 
jim256
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 862
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by delfinparis View Post
I went to KK - you're not able to?
Negative, was wondering if you might let me know precisely how you did it?
 
delfinparis
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 120
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim256 View Post
Negative, was wondering if you might let me know precisely how you did it?
Ha - I don't remember. Where are you getting stuck?
 
jim256
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 862
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by delfinparis View Post
Ha - I don't remember. Where are you getting stuck?
I'm going through this entire guide:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2712039

I don't seem to get stuck anywhere until the very end. After I've finished all steps, it just never boots past the Note 3 splash screen.
 
posersk8r
Old
#10  
posersk8r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 256
Posts: 299
Join Date: Feb 2014
You need to odin four files to boot into kk, look into mr tropazr's thread it's thorough and informative.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more

Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more

Paid Android App Developers Will Soon Have to Provide Physical Address

Google has now changed its policies regarding paid app developers. … more