Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara: Modified Android L and Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and software enthusiasts. The … more
Post Reply

Sprint data throttling

14th March 2014, 12:10 AM   |  #11  
joeyhdownsouth's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Creole State
Thanks Meter: 173
 
804 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by meyerweb

Seems hard to believe Boost / Sprint doesn't keep track of data on their end, rather than on the phone.

I'm almost 100% sure their servers are programmed to throtttle data on any Boost acct. that reaches 2.5gbs, and to me, they kinda should. Why should I have to pay full Sprint price, where as Boost customers pay about half? Folks in that thread pretty much said that fix was useless.
Last edited by joeyhdownsouth; 14th March 2014 at 12:19 AM.
14th March 2014, 12:42 AM   |  #12  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim1450

I got a text today saying in May Boost will throttle to 2G instead of 3G, 2G is basically useless to me so I'll be switching to a new provider @ that point

I got that message today now

Sent from my GT-N5110 using xda app-developers app
14th March 2014, 01:22 PM   |  #13  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Garrett, IN
Thanks Meter: 27,709
 
15,256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
I just did a Google search, I'm not on Boost... Just trying to help you out

14th March 2014, 01:41 PM   |  #14  
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
for someone reason my gs3 used 2.5g in about a week boost not only throttled me but the speed is unusable i'm only getting between 7 and 30 k max thats not throttling the crippling data speeds
23rd April 2014, 07:12 AM   |  #15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberone3

for someone reason my gs3 used 2.5g in about a week boost not only throttled me but the speed is unusable i'm only getting between 7 and 30 k max thats not throttling the crippling data speeds

Yeah I thought boosts or sprints throttle was 256kbps but now I've realized its 30kbps on at&t it was 60kbps. Think the only other cheap option is metro PCs. 60$ gets you unlimited but who knows if its really unlimited.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes