Post Reply

[Q] Convert a Sense one to a Google Play edition one?

23rd April 2014, 12:03 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bay Area, California
Thanks Meter: 19
 
382 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Hey guys,

I am eligible for an upgrade with AT&T. I have the following questions:

Can I S-off my device?
Can I 'convert' it into a google play edition so it receives updates?

Thanks!
23rd April 2014, 12:08 AM   |  #2  
grentuu's Avatar
Senior Member
Just outside of Manchester UK
Thanks Meter: 152
 
524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by itismadhan

Hey guys,

I am eligible for an upgrade with AT&T. I have the following questions:

Can I S-off my device?
Can I 'convert' it into a google play edition so it receives updates?

Thanks!

Yes
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2708464

Yes

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2708589
The Following User Says Thank You to grentuu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2014, 12:09 AM   |  #3  
an0ther's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 197
 
589 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by itismadhan

Hey guys,

I am eligible for an upgrade with AT&T. I have the following questions:

Can I S-off my device?
Can I 'convert' it into a google play edition so it receives updates?

Thanks!

Yes, but you know rom's get updates too. Just saying, nice to be able to run sense and gpe.
The Following User Says Thank You to an0ther For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2014, 12:27 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Bay Area, California
Thanks Meter: 19
 
382 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by an0ther

Yes, but you know rom's get updates too. Just saying, nice to be able to run sense and gpe.

I don't know what you mean? You're saying you can dual boot GPE and Sense?
23rd April 2014, 08:17 AM   |  #5  
otariq's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 130
 
1,294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by itismadhan

I don't know what you mean? You're saying you can dual boot GPE and Sense?

If you do a full gpe conversion you can't just simply flash a sense ROM because they have different system partitions. Imo, It's better to just flash a gpe ROM that way you can quickly switch back and forth if you want.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to otariq For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2014, 08:28 AM   |  #6  
grentuu's Avatar
Senior Member
Just outside of Manchester UK
Thanks Meter: 152
 
524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
To go back to the original question. If you want full GPE conversion that can receive ota updates the link above will, providing you flash the stock recovery (a link to this is provided in the thread) What Otariq says is correct, it does actually convert your phone to a full GPE, partitions and all.

You can flash back to sense but there is a simple procedure you have to follow..

Depends what you prefer.

I am on the conversion and love it
The Following User Says Thank You to grentuu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in One (M8) Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank